We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sushi In A Most Unlikley Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wada

Wada
Ranked #8,638 of 16,870 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Champs-Elysees
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Sushi In A Most Unlikley Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife had seen reviews of Wada before we headed to Paris. Sushi is not something we associate with Paris, or even France, but Wada received such rave reviews we decided to see if it was worth the hype and really comparable to what we take for granted (i.e., great sushi) in LA.
We were in for a shock, and then the delight. First, Wada is hard to find. Tucked among nondescript building facades across from a hotel -- at first we thought it must have closed. We had the address, so we kept searching, but the byzantine and often errant numbering system in Paris almost stymied us. But then we found it, ventured inside to find it empty -- or so we thought. Moving further into the tiny dining room we spied a lone figure in a back room, who turned out to be the proprietor, chef and waiter all in one. No other diners were present, which seemed odd at 9 pm on a Friday night, but on the strength of prior TripAdvisor reviews we stayed, and oh are we happy we did. We selected a combination of sushi, sashimi and some starters, the specifics of which would be selected by the chef -- that is, the "trust me" tradition of sushi the world over. We were delighted and amazed by the quality, variety and excellence of what we were served. What a delightful evening. When we left a small gratuity in addition to the unusually reasonable price of the meal (indeed, remarkably reasonable for both Paris and for sushi) we were greeted by prolific thank yous and bows, making us feel like departing royalty. By the way, other diners joined us after a while, which we took to mean that dinner in Paris is even later on weekend. evenings. If you need a break from French fare, or just a sushi fix far away from home, definitely make the effort to find Wada. What a delight it is.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    0
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zuienkerke, Belgium
Level Contributor
174 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A very nice experience, real japanes style.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We did visit this restaurant thanks to tripadvisor...again. It's not so easy to find, ant the first impression is : a very basic and tiny restaurant. The waiter (indeed no japanese but with japanes clothes and style). But the service...really superb ! We made the choice to have 1 menu for 2 and to decide after that what we need more...no problem. So after the menu we ordered a nice plate of sushis to continue. And everything was so fresh, nice and very tasty !! Just know you can have tea or water or beer and very good sake (all kinds) ... but don't expect a nice wine. No wine here.... But all the words from tripadvisor were correct. A very nice evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gee_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I walked into Wada very late on a Friday evening to find the restaurant still quite packed. We only just arrived in Paris and was looking for a nice place and not too far from the hotel. Wada was actually right across the street. We both ordered the sushi platter that comes with 2 starters and miso soup. Both the starters were simply divine! Radish salad and Sashimi seabream with homemade Wada miso sauce. The waiter was an American living in Paris who spoke perfect French, English and Japanese! He was very lovely and accommodating and seemed to know all the customers dining there. We were also given complimentary Umeshu at the end of our meal. Highly recommend if you love fresh Japanese food!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chusana_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very carefully prepared and super fresh, but not cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Wada is an excellent Japanese fried fish and sushi place, well over average in terms of quality and freshness. The beautifully prepared food reveals a loving touch. Choices are limited but everything on the menu is delicious, including the organic matcha. This would easily be one of my favourite places if the prices were a bit lower. Set lunches priced over 40 EUR and not terribly abundant make this more of a special occasion place. If your budget permits it, though, go there and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank avramgoldmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Really a very nice Japanese restaurant. Fishes are so good!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

Really a very nice Japanese restaurant.
Fishes are so good!!!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wada also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Wada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing