We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of elegance, professional service, and authentic French haute cuisine in the 10th Arrondissement of Paris”
Review of Restaurant eels

Restaurant eels
Reserve with
Restaurant eels is not available through our online partner for your requested time.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #174 of 20,546 Restaurants in Paris
Neighborhood: 10th Arr. - Entrepot
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: 10th Arr. - Entrepot
Reviewed December 19, 2018

We had an unbelievably elegant and tasty haute cuisine dinner in this really pretty spot on rue Hauteville in the 'happening' 10th arrondissement. The restaurant was recommended by friends who live on the street. What a find!

EELS is named after a signature dish of smoked eel (anguille fumée), and yet the menu is far more than that. We were privileged enough to try the anguille fumée, as well as the tartare de veau appetisers. Main courses of Saint-Jacques (fresh scallops) and duck with foie gras were simply awesome. Our wine selections, a Côtes du Rhône Chardonnay and a Crozes-Hermitage, were both perfect accompaniments to our dinner choices.

The service was professional and knowledgeable (not what one would write about the great majority of restaurants in Paris, let alone restaurants in general). We felt privileged to be allowed to meet the sous-chef (Galient, a true culinary genius) and take a look into the 22nd century kitchen of EELS.

What can one say other than strongly recommend this jewel of a restaurant while hoping it will not be overrun by TripAdvisor regulars?

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank EANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 173 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2018

The restaurant ticks off all the boxes; pitch perfect modern French cuisine, comfortable professional service, engaging decor and lighting, good wine program, all at a fair tariff. Traditional ingredients are given a modern innovative spin. The kitchen avoids the cliche of too many unrelated items on the plate; everything relates to and compliments the other. There are four offerings in each of the three courses, and we had six of them, and all were outstanding. One has to appreciate that level of consistency.

Service was superior; staff is clearly enthusiastic and supportive of the chef's vision. Good wine list, excellent bread. €207 for six dishes, five glasses of wine, coffee and dessert wine. Recommended, would definitely return.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Greenway1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2018

the whole experience is lovely, we when for the full tasting menu, the quality of the food and flavors and textures was amazing.

love the wines and cider paired with the different courses

the staff were spot on!

thank you,

we will be back!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank J6428UMdanield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

My wife and I took our children to Eels to celebrate our younger son's 21st birthday (and older son's 28th) - we had a wonderful evening from start to finish. The food was memorable in particular the eel with macha, pork sushi and razor clams in bisque o finish with I had d the jasmine panna cotta which w) it also has great imagination (pork sushi - another first). My wife is a veggie which in Paris until recently woudl have been an issue. ont at this restaurant - they provided a

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

Popular with international travellers, don’t arrive before opening time (7.30 pm) because the door will remain closed until the exact time.

Their service and preparation are equally precise. Highly recommended.

150 Euro with wine by the glass was good value.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant eels also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Restaurant eels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing