We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice stay, no thrills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Staycity Aparthotels Gare de l'Est

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Gare de l'Est
Ranked #2 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Herent, Belgium
Level Contributor
163 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice stay, no thrills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

While visiting Paris, finding a good affordable hotel is something you have to do in advance. We did and found the Staycity. A double room and... car parking (not a bad thing in Paris).
The hotel was OK and no more then that. It serves its purpose and that is what you expect and what you pay for. Not very cheap but then again... it's centre Paris.
Metro is in range and best it to go to Republique where you get the Metro to most interesting sites. Nothing beats the Metro

Room Tip: No food (breakfast etc) but some supermarkets in walking distance... Streets can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-M0M0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    219
    51
    25
    20
See reviews for
129
156
26
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This apt is located near Gare de l'est Train and metro stations, and some good funky resteraunts, and near Gare Du Nord for the Eurostar and other high speed trains, but the street and surrounding area are very sketchy, to say the least! The desk people were very helpful and pleasant, and the building is in good condition, and they keep nice flowers outside to try to keep the outside as good as they can.
Our room had no A/C, and the window was small, so it was stuffy, and the little fan (that didn't oscillate) tried to keep it not so bad. I would not recommend this place in the middle of summer.
The hallway carpets appeared very dirty, so they need a good cleaning, or replacing.
I was pick-pocketed on our first morning either at the metro train, or in the station going through the turnstiles. WARNING, they have a serious problem with kid gangs and gypsies doing the pick pocketing, so be aware and hold onto your phones and wallets!

Room Tip: Room with bigger window or door. Get the office to ask the workers to smoke away from the front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryKelowna_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayCity_com, Responsable commercial at Staycity Aparthotels Gare de l'Est, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on the Tripadvisor site.

We sincerely apologize for thief problems that you happened.

Indeed, we are not equipped for the moment A / C, only a few days in the year it is very hot in Paris.

Anyway we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you during your next stay in Paris.

Best Regards,

Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed in this hotel during a recent visit to Paris. We were treated very professionaly and helpfully by the front desk staff. The rooms were somewhat small and cramped. Overall it was a good experience to stay here. It is located very centrally.

Room Tip: Look for a room on the ground floor as they may be quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayCity_com, Responsable commercial at Staycity Aparthotels Gare de l'Est, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. Usually in Paris the rooms are quiet small. Despite this inconvenience we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

a convenience location which just walking distance away from the train and metro station with plenty of bars and restaurant.
Staff are friendly with english language command.
Room is clean as well
However, the bathroom is terribly small with no ventilation.
Worst of all, there is no aircond in the room and just a "petit" little fan. Lucky, it was raining for the past few days when we check in during summer. I was sweating on the bed in the afternoon with two fans turn on and all windows opened

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwintcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayCity_com, Responsable commercial at Staycity Aparthotels Gare de l'Est, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guests,

Any team Staycity Paris Gare de l'Est thank you for your visit and your comment on our property on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with your stay.
We sincerely regret you have suffered from lack of air conditioning despite the fresh temperatures of Paris.

Hoping to welcome you again in Staycity during your next stay in Paris

Best regards,

Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The staff is friendly and the area is very nice and close to the canal, but the rooms badly need redecorating, most of the cupboards in our room was falling apart. It's fairly cheap for Paris and in walking distance from Gare de L'Est and Gare du Nord even with a roller suite case, which is nice as the train from the airport stops at Gare du Nord.
This place is good if have been to Paris before and don't need to stay close to all the downtown sites. This is more about relaxing, a nice bakery and a lot of cafés and wine bars in the same street. Sitting by the canal, grabbing a Velib bike and drive to the market on the canal.
And having you own kitchen and going to the bakery in the morning is a luxury most tourists never experience in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Went to Paris for the first time and stayed in this Service Apartment for several days. The place definitely has that french atmosphere, which although not modern is quaint which goes well with the neighborhood (Passage Dubail). The rooms are big for 2 adults and 2 kids with 2 double beds and the staff were helpful and communicative. Also its location near Gare de L'Est means taking the train to the heart of Paris is very convenient.

We did not have any problems with the wifi service and it had a fast internet connection

I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family whenever they have plans for a London visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayCity_com, Responsable commercial at Staycity Aparthotels Gare de l'Est, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice feedback. All the staff hope to have the pleasure to welcome you for your future stay in Paris.

Best regards,

Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Just back from a few days in Paris and needed to stay somewhere on a budget. The location is very convenient, being just a 10 min walk from Gare du Nord, which is the Eurostar terminal, and Gare de l'Est metro station is just five minutes' walk. The apartments are on the edge of an up and coming area around Canal St Martin where there are some great shops and restaurants. However, they are also on the edge of an adjoining 'dodgy' area surrounding the stations and west of Boulevard Magenta. We found the walk to and from the metro station was never without incident and we were personally harassed on a couple of occasions by men who seemingly had mental health problems. We also witnessed a violent attack on somebody else. All of this took place in broad daylight and so we decided not to use the metro station at Gare de l'Est after about 8pm. I wouldn't let this put you off, but definitely be vigilant about personal safety when walking through this area.

On the plus side, the apartments are very clean and convenient for getting to all the major sights. The staff speak excellent English and are exceptionally nice and helpful. This is very rare in a city not renowned for its good customer service! (Be prepared for fairly disinterested or even rude staff in most places you visit in Paris)

If you are wandering around the Canal St Martin area and looking for a home cooked vegetarian lunch and a bit of English/Aussie speaking company, then pop into 'Tuck Shop' on Rue Lucian Sampaix. Their homemade oaty biscuits are awesome!

Room Tip: Why does TripAdvisor do this when you don't get to choose your room location if you book on line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pengting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayCity_com, Responsable commercial at Staycity Aparthotels Gare de l'Est, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your lovely feedback and the comments about our friendly staff. The team do their best to welcome our Guests. The area is indeed very convenient for public transport and unfortunately since the Gare de l’Est is a major station some undesirables may hang around. The stations are policed but as with any capital city, tourists do need to be aware. As you point out the lovely Canal area is also closeby which is a great area to explore. We hope to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#15 of 1,811 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#7 of 1,811 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel
Generator Hostel
#3 of 141 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#1 of 141 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Gare de l'Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Gare de l'Est

Property: Staycity Aparthotels Gare de l'Est
Address: 5 Passage Dubail, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Staycity Aparthotels Gare de l'Est 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 40 studio apartments and 10 one-bedroom apartments offer budget accommodation and convenient locations for sightseeing and enjoying all the attractions Paris has to offer. The property is perfectly located in the 10th District near Gare de l'Est, in the very centre of Paris. The self catering studio apartments and apartments provide a genuine home from home as they're furnished with TVs, kitchenettes (microwave, fridge, hob), dining areas, bedrooms and more. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi available. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure we have a superb selection of studio apartments and apartments to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Gare de l'Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Martin Apartments By Stayparis Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing