We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Great Staff and Rooms - but Poor Air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe Hotel
Ranked #168 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location, Great Staff and Rooms - but Poor Air conditioning”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

First, let me say the staff was wonderful. Everyone was very helpful and did everything they could for us. The internet is fast, 15 Mbps on the download. The restaurant is great for breakfast. The bathroom is large and the rooms are not European sized.

There is only one problem, we were there during 84-94 F temps. The air conditioning in our room could not keep up with the heat. My guess is the rooms were 75-77 degrees with the air conditioner running as hard as it could nonstop. We just could not get comfortable after walking miles per day and going out for a nice dinner with wine.

So, I would definitely give it 5 stars if the air conditioning met up with the rest of the hotel. I would enjoy staying here September - May.

Room Tip: be a Gold or above Marriott Rewards Member for free wifi and breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griftsno1capper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    380
    89
    26
    23
See reviews for
456
659
51
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This property is not even close to a 5 star. It is more like a 3 star property. Rooms are small, service is mediocre, and the concierge clearly tried to steer us towards restaurants that were tourist traps where they were getting kick backs. Definitely not worth the money. Stay somewhere else

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

So it was one of those trips where everything seemed to go wrong. I was traveling to Paris for a few days and had forgotten my credit card. All I had was a cash card that allowed me to takeaway a small amount of Euro per day. The staff at the Renaissance went above and beyond their duty to help me with my situation. They called American Express on my behalf numerous times and helped me navigate the subway (the most reasonable way to see the city) as well as recommending a restaurant that was not only exceptionally delicious, but also offered a 3 course meal for 25 euro! Bravo to Cedric, the concierge! I will be back again and recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineL1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife, 10 year old son, and myself stayed at this location for a week. We found the location outstanding (right down the stree from the Arce de Triomphe) and close to a metro-line. The hotel itself was a great place to stay -- hotel staff was friendly, helpful. The "navigator" desk was helpful with accommodations to events, directions, etc. The restaurant was good for breakfast (we are gold status for Marriott rewards -- so we ate free) and lunch. We did not try the dinner menu, as there are too many great options in Paris for night dining.

The rooms were comfortable -- roomy -- no complaints.

We couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sej1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro nc
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location is convenient to public transportation and the rooms are quite nice. Beds are Marriott-comfortable, bathrooms needed better lighting, breakfast buffet was outstanding and free for Platinum members. We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning and never tired of the choices because there were so many options. We did not get an upgrade for either of our rooms, or early check-in, but were pleased with the rooms and our experience. Staff was extremely helpful and most spoke excellent English. The fitness center was sufficient and had good natural light. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The room is big and clean with comfortable bed. Front desk staff are nice and can provide prompt assistance.

There are some rooms for disable person in the hotel. A normal person may find inconvenience if stay in this kind of room as no glass door for the bath areas which may make the whole toilet wet easily. Since we stayed 6 nights in the hotel, we requested for a change. The front desk staff is prompt to action.

The breakfast is good but they don't have any change on food every day. We took the same food for 6-day stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roches
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We cannot say enough about the quality of our stay at the Marriott Arc Triomphe. All of the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Our rooms were well appointed, exceptionally quiet and served our needs. We are most appreciative of the help that the concierge provided us on seeing sites and booking restaurants. The staff were very prompt in getting our car and our bags. Breakfast was plentiful and we enjoyed a late lunch at their restaurant as well. Thank you for helping make this a memorable 3 days for our family and parents.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#97 of 1,801 in Paris
321 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Trocadero
Renaissance Paris Le Parc Trocadero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Paris Marriott Champs Elysees Hotel
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Renaissance Paris Republique Hotel
Champs-Elysees
Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel
Champs Elysees Plaza Hotel
#90 of 1,801 in Paris
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe Hotel

Property: Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe Hotel
Address: 39 avenue de Wagram, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe designed by Christian de Portzamparc, is just a few steps away from the famous landmark and Champs-Elysées Avenue. A breathtaking contemporary design, this Arc de Triomphe, Paris hotel's upscale guest rooms and suites are spacious and tastefully decorated and boast the latest in-room technology, including wireless Internet. After a long day of meetings or sightseeing, rejuvenate with a workout in the fitness center. Outstanding among hotels in Arc de Triomphe, Paris, guests can indulge in delightful dining at the Makassar Lounge Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing