We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay.”
Review of Hotel Villa Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Boheme
Ranked #725 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were in the dark when we booked our stay, but it turned out to be a nice 3 star hotel. The room is small but is clean. It provides you with all that you need while in Paris. Remember you are in Paris to explore not to spend your stay in a hotel room. The staff is very nice, friendly and helpful and they all speak english so no problem if you don't know french. It's located close to a metro station, an easy and enjoyable walk. Restaurants and café's all around. The hotel offers a breakfast for an additional amount and my wife and I found it to be quite satisfying and it gets you going for the day. We would recommend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managervangogh, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Villa Boheme, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Jeffrey,

Thanks a lot for your comment ! It is a real pleasure to hear you had a good stay with us and that you recommend our hotel to other customers of TripAdvisor.

We hope you enjoyed Paris and look forward to maybe welcome you again during your next visit in this city,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Boheme
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 240 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Off to a bad start when receptionist ignored us on arrival being more intent on doing his paperwork. Then seemed unable to find our booking! Finally found it but wanted credit card even though entire stay paid for in UK before departure. I refused as it's like leaving a blank cheque. I suspect this is why we ended up in a back room with only view being an external shaft between buildings. Room itself ok; clean,warm but shower room small. On the upside breakfast very good. Lo and behold they wanted us to pay more money on departure...I managed to contain myself and refused and left. Adieu not au revoir! I know parisians can be brusque but they went too far. They probably won't get it either if they read this. Never mind.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managervangogh, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Villa Boheme, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for having chosen the Villa Bohème for your stay in Paris. We are affraid to hear you left us with that bad feeling.

Refering the credit card we asked you at check-in, it is only for the garantee. Please, note that it is one procedure used by all hotels in the world.
Furthermore, we infom you that the room you had was a "Confort Room", the one you booked for your stay. We also have "Superior Rooms" but they are more expensive than the one you took.
At last, we didn't try to charge you something more : every guest has to pay the "Occupancy Tax" (taxe de séjour in French). Has you can read in the terms of sale : it is 1 euro per day and per person. Anyway, we offered the tax this time ...

We hope you had a good stay in Paris,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Charming little no-frills hotel in the perfect location . Very helpful staff and nice atmosphere. The showers are tiny but the beds are the most comfortable I have slept in.
I would recommend this hotel although some websites offer it at a very high price so shop around.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallymac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managervangogh, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Villa Boheme, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Sallymac,

Thank you for sharing such a good comment about your stay at the Villa Bohème. It is a real pleasure to hear you loved our mattress !

We hope you had a pleasant stay in Paris and look forward to welcome you back soon,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed from March 22nd till the 25th, the room and accomodations were nice, most of the staff was nice, specially the blond girl at the front desk, however, we did not feel happy with some actions conducted by the manager. Since there were no privacy signs in the rooms, we informed the first day at the desk that we did not want housekeeping service during our stay (because we really don't need it) but apparently the manager thought we had something to hide and he went into our room when we left the hotel the next day. When we came back from breakfast we heard him talking about our room and the clerk told him we were the guests staying there and he had no choice but to tell us he went into the room to fix something (eventhough there was nothing broken). The next day when we arrived to our room the room was freezing because someone went in and opened the window-doors, and because of this I had to, the following day, leave a note asking not to open the window -and guess what? They turned on the heater and the room was SUPER HOT. Why would they insist on going into our room when we even do our beds every morning before we left? We would never go back eventhough the prices are good and most of the staff was accomodating.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelindustryworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managervangogh, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Villa Boheme, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear guest,

We are affraid to hear you had such a feeling when you stayed in our hotel.
When clients ask us not to clean their room, we immediatly transmit the information to our chambermaids. Sometimes, it happen that they change the towels and the carbage, maybe they have opened the window by the way.

Reffering what you said about the manager, please keep in mind that we respect the privacy of our guests. That's an entire part of our job. If you ask us not to clean the room, we respect that. But, we still have to ensure the proper functioning of our rooms. That's why the maintenance man came into our room to check if everything was working. At this time he observed that one wet towel was hanging on the television, then he called the manager to remark it. After that you had a conversation with him.
Furthermore, please note that the heating is automatically set to the outside temperature. So, we didn't try to hide we came into your room.

We can understand that you weren't fully satisfied of our service but we were honest with you when we told you we entered into your room and ask you not to dry the towel on the tv again.

Kindly accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you,
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

After reading previous review room problem -arrived at hotel only to be told we would have to spend the first night at a sister hotel Royal Formentin extremely annoyed but had no choice but to go we were told we would be upgraded to a superior room for our remaining two nights ( we had booked a superior room to start with) apparently five other couples had to be put in alternative accomodation one couple at same hotel has us who arrived back at villa boheme after us but were given a room straight away while we had to wait. Royal Formentin was a very dated dark room could smell cigarette smoke from room next door. Villa boheme was clean and bright room very narrow twin beds not very comfortable even although I asked for double. Within walking distance from Pigalle metro

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Christina1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managervangogh, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Villa Boheme, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear guest,

We apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay. All your observations were shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to prevent those occurrences in the future.
If some day you come back to Paris, we would be very pleased to have the opportunity to show you that our guest satisfaction is our deepest concern.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity of changing the bad impression with which you have left our Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Villa Bohème.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I arrived at this hotel and we were told that there was a problem with our room and would have to stay at their sister hotel, Hotel Opera. We weren't happy about this, but there was no alternative, so off we went, after one night we insisted that we went back to the hotel I had researched. Luckily the room was now available,(I will be reviewing Hotel Opera) and what a difference. This hotel was clean and very comfortable. The room had a comfortable bed, plenty of pillows. There were tea and coffee facilities as well as a well stocked mini bar-which we didn't use, but there was room in the chiller for our own drinks! We were impressed that there was a safe in the room that we did not have to pay for. The shower was hot and powerful, although a shelf in there would have been helpful. It was a very quiet hotel. The lift was tiny,but we never had to wait for it. Breakfast was included in the price and was good. The hotel was only a few minutes walk from Pigalle and St George's. We would certainly stay here again, good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managervangogh, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Villa Boheme, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for this good comment and for your understanding about the first night. It is a real pleasure for us to read that you had a good stay with us at the Villa Bohème.

We hope you've enjoyed your stay in Paris,
and look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

TIP: We booked with Expedia, my advice would be don't. Instead book direct with the hotel via their website. When we arrived Expedia had only send one of our bookings through, fortunately I had brought the booking details with is and the reception staff, after 10 minutes, found us a second room. Also, even more annoyingly, I found out after booking with Expedia that it had cost us 15 euros per night, per room, more than it would have booking direct and did not even include breakfast!!

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a weekend break to Paris. The location for us was excellent, easy to find, 20 minutes or so from Gare du Nord on the Metro, then a 5 minute walk.

The bed was good, the room was clean and had all the facilities you needed. The shower had good pressure and kept a good temperature. The rooms looked quite newly decorated but one of the walls in our room looked like it had a problem as the paint was peeling badly.

We were on the 5th floor and had a small balcony with was lovely to sit out on in the morning and late afternoon in between sightseeing trips.

The free Wifi worked well for us and was fast too.

I would stay here again and would recommend. But book direct!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managervangogh, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Villa Boheme, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Jimmyt7,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Villa Bohème.

We hope you've enjoyed visiting Paris and that you will come again soon,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Villa La Parisienne
Villa La Parisienne
#1,062 of 1,804 in Paris
136 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Eden Hotel Opera
Eden Hotel Opera
#514 of 1,804 in Paris
327 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel des 3 Poussins
Hotel des 3 Poussins
#312 of 1,804 in Paris
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Libertel Montmartre Opera
Libertel Montmartre Opera
#427 of 1,804 in Paris
624 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Timhotel Opera Grands Magasins
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Trinite Haussmann
Hotel Trinite Haussmann
#818 of 1,804 in Paris
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Boheme

Address: 2 B Cite Pigalle, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #725 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $103 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Boheme 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Opera, the department stores of boulevard Hausmann, Sacre Cœoeur and Montmartre, in the newly trendy neighbourhood of South Pigalle, Villa Boheme is a former mansion with three stars which has 24 modern and colourful rooms including an apartment known as “Bo studio” and a Bohemian Suite. Our location in a very calm private street, elegant design decor featuring a nomadic style, our particularly warm hospitality, as well as quality amenities such as air-conditioning, satellite TV and free wireless internet access give our hotel that special stamp and provide guests with the opportunity to have a one-of-a kind experience in the heart of the French capital. Villa Boheme is your new address in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Van Gogh Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing