We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Bookshop (and Bar)”
Review of La Belle Hortense

La Belle Hortense
Ranked #4,397 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming Bookshop (and Bar)”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you're looking for a more unique, less touristy, café experience in Paris this is an excellent place to come. Set in the heart of the Marais, on the lively Rue Vieille du Temple and around the corner from the historical and chic Rue des Rosiers, this little bookshop includes several couches to enjoy a bottle of wine or coffee and good conversation with friends (some food can be ordered from the restaurant Les Philosophes across the street). The place is cozy and the atmosphere is great. The servers are friendly and bring you your drinks right away. The music is fun and the art on the walls provoking. Pick up a book on your way out or chat up your neighbors sitting next to you. Rest a while before setting out to wander around the Marais. A bottle of wine ranges from 18 to 25 euros.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natty879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paris bar as you once imagined it”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

La Belle Hortense combines bookshop and tiny bar with a lively yet comfortable atmosphere on the 4th's ever happening rue Vieille du Temple. If the Paris of your adolescent imaginings contained books and wine (or if you've just watched Woody Allen's 'Midnight in Paris') walk right in, don't be intimidated, order a drink and grab a seat at the tiny bar (or stand on the footpath if there isn't one to be had). This place looks the part and with glass in hand so will you. Watch the evening pass by. Wander across the road later to le petit fer au cheval for dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank DrFoxNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A wonderful bar / bookshop for trendy intellectuals or real writers”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Not quite a restaurant but bar food can be ordered from their sister restaurants across the road. Most guests eat at their restaurants, Le Petit fer au cheval and La Philesophe and drink at this bar before and after. Here you will meet real French novelists, artists and film-makers. The place is open until 2am and hosts some of the best wines at very reasonable prices. Mostly Parisian regulars and tourists in--the-know go there. wonderful atmosphere, and very welcoming / safe for single women. people are intelligent, well travelled and all mix freely in French or English. Only opens after 2pm. Sundays are good nights for going as the area, the Marais, is very vibrant on Sundays day and night.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wolfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

It was my dream come true to spend the week of my 40th birthday in Paris with my husband and two children. On the day we caught up with some old friends and had a picnic in Place Des Vosges. That evening my wish was to go back to one of my favourite places in Paris for a glass of Pommery - my favourite champagne. We walked from our little apartment in the 5ht behind Notre Dame through the Marais and arrived at La Belle Hortense. It combines three of my passions; champagne, books and food philosophy. Lined up against the wall as we filed in were brown paper bags and boxes filled with vegetables. The owner explained there was a change in France and people were losing their food culture. He was providing his customers with an organic food pick up service. I found it extraordinary and sad that this was needed in a city with wonderful food markets and legendary gastronomic heritage. The owner settled down at the bar and poured coups des champagnes for my husband, myself and petit coups for my sons. They were thrilled to be included. People came to pick up their veges as the owner explained how Paris is losing its pride in food, restaurants were taking short cuts and not serving freshly made food, fast food was invading the city. He was animated, passionate and very generous with his conversation.
Each time I have been to La Belle Hortense I have found myself engaged in conversation with other customers discussing politics, literature and food.... it is always hard to leave.
We didn't go far - across the road to Petit Fer a Cheval for a lovely dinner of confit duck.
Every time I have been in Paris La Belle Hortense has not disappointed to impress with its propriety, company and of course Pommery.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGracies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Hortense also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Belle Hortense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing