We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location; Great Staff; Great Rooms”
Review of Hotel Banke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Banke
Ranked #296 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location; Great Staff; Great Rooms”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for the first time for business. It's a great hotel in a great location. The staff really makes this place. The rooms are comfortable, but not ideal for business. The décor is pleasing. The location cannot be beat. The staff went out of their way to help a colleague who was pickpocketed on the Metro. They took them to the police station and filled out all the forms for her. Amazing. There are only two downsides: the Metro runs underneath, so you can feel trains during the day, but not at night. Get a room on the 2nd floor or above. Second, they burn a lot of incense at night. It's part of the ambience, so if you like that sort of thing it's fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drgregbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Banke, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
I m glad to see that you enjoyed our service. We are always at the disposal of our guest. You can count on us!

Don t hesitate to contact me if you want to come back : eperello@derbyhotels.com I will be delighted to welcome you.

All my Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    396
    128
    50
    21
See reviews for
130
577
76
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

It is not a 5 star hotel but neither are its prices.
It is a very good and stylish 4 star hotel.
Great public areas, although I am not to keen on the incense in the lobby, and friendly staff.
Breakfast buffet, with hot orders of eggs available, is first rate.
I have been several times and always opt for a bigger room which are very nicely decorated and have lots of room. it is of course more expensive but a fraction of what the same room would cost in a 5 star.
I have been several times and expect to continue to return when I visit Paris.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenultimateLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

If you are searching for that hotel filled with 40- and 50-somethings trying to pretend they are still in their beautiful 20s and 30s, this is your place. We stayed at Hotel Banke a couple years ago, and marveled at the transformation of this formidable structure from a turn-of-the-century bank to a chic-chic hotel in what must be the rightest part of the Right Bank. Picking up on it after a great NY Times suggestion, we found it amazing. The lobby is striking and the décor of the public areas is truly something to behold. But a few years on, the thin veneer of what must have been a very substantial investment has started to wear away. The hotel staff, with the exception of one outstanding bellman, was anemic. The doors had punctured holes in the walls where the stoppers had fallen away. The "hamam," really just a sauna with a couple showers outside of it, had a tattered "out-of-order" taped to its door: evidence the sign had been there for a while. Clearly, the prices that exclude the youthful kids from bringing to life such a swank piece of real estate allow only those who wish they were still that young and hip. It makes for interesting people watching at breakfast. Like all hotels in this special category, the rooms pale in comparison to the public spaces. Each room apparently has only one very cool chair in it, with another chair being a 2-hour effort at deft negotiation with some uninterested front desk staff. Still, to be fair, Hotel Banke can't be beat for location - as convenient as they come and just steps from so many great parts of Paris. And the structure itself is to be envied. If breakfast is your thing, choose this hotel - the buffet breakfast is really, really good. I'd stay here if the price seems reasonable to you for a higher-end, but not 5 star, hotel. I think you'll find that this fine property is just to the right side of prime though, like so many of its guest.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade of some sort - the baseline rooms are smaller than your bathroom at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Its location is very good, staff is super friendly, just try not to book a room on the internal court as its close to the elevater so its noisy.
Every floor have a theme.
Very close to la fayette and close to opera , louvre , hard rock, and metro station.
You can even de tax and refund in lafayette!
Been in banke 4 times till now, its my favourite hotel
Cheers!

Helpful?
Thank Ttimos
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Banke, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We really appreciate it.
You are a part of our family after 4 times at the hotel!

Please fell free to contact me if you need it : eperelloàderbyhotels.com, i am at your disposal.

All my Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels
Level Contributor
143 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is an ideal hotel for a stay in Paris, may it be for business or with family. I became quite a regular, and every single time everything is perfect: the rooms, the restaurant, the sumptuous breakfast and above all everybody working there! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calinnn2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Banke, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
It s always a pleasure to got you at the hotel. This is like your Home!

Don t hesitate to contact me : eperello@derbyhotels.com.

All my Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

First of all, the atmosphere of this hotel is very nice. That is stylish and cool. The staff are excellent. Actually, I had some trouble, but the staff dealt with it politely. Furthermore, this hotel is located very well for tourist. bus the stop from airport, the entrance of subway, and the biggest department store is near the hotel. So, I do recommend this hotel wiht confidence.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haruo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Banke, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking some time to share your experience.
We are very pleased to know that we are your favorite place.

You are also very dear to us.

I am at your disposal : eperello@derbyhotels.com

All my Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I was weary after reading others reviews, advising that they heard the metro go past everytime... do you have super human hearing?! I couldn't hear a thing!

The hotel is located is a brilliant area, quiet with the closest Metro only a very short walk away, with a fabulous little patisserie half way.

Hotel Banke wowed me from the start, from the moment you walk in you feel that you are the only person that matters to the staff. The interior of the hotel (lobby and hallways) are chic with colours of chocolate and plum with accents of gold and almost an 'African' feel.

The rooms themselves are very decent sizes for European standards and I do not think I have ever slept so well in my life. Every effort is made on the hotel behalf to make you feel welcome and appreciated.

I will definitely be returning and I always recommend my clients to stay here also, and I still have not heard one bad thing from them either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anji J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Banke, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Customer,

You can t imagine how your comment make us very proud to do our best for making you stay unforgettable.

Thank you so much for your comment.

We are all at your disposal if you need us : eperello@derbyhotels.com

All my Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel De Nell
Hotel De Nell
#58 of 1,802 in Paris
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#363 of 1,802 in Paris
960 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banke

Property: Hotel Banke
Address: 20 Rue Lafayette, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in Paris
#128 Business Hotel in Paris
#175 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#192 Family Hotel in Paris
#193 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Banke 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in the centre of Paris, ideal for your stay whether you are on a business trip or vacationing with your partner, with friends or with your family.This superior four-star hotel is located in the Opera district, in the very heart of Paris and a stone's throw from Boulevard Haussmann and the Galeries Lafayette. Hotel Banke occupies a building from the beginning of the 20th century designed by architects Paul Friesse and Cassien Bernard, and the stately building sits at the junction of Rue La Fayette and Rue Pillet Will.Services:94 guest rooms in Paris: 15 single rooms, 40 superior rooms, 13 executive rooms, 9 deluxe rooms and 17 suitesJosefin RestaurantLolaBarBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and related spaces: Eiffel room, La Fayette room, Alcove 1 room, Alcove 2 room, Banke RestaurantBanke Restaurant for events and conventions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Banke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banke Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing