We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parisian Pleasant”
Review of Hotel Banke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Banke
Ranked #295 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Parisian Pleasant”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Recommended by friends this place was a good stay overall, though there is room for improvement. Comfy bed is a superior room (might opt for executive next time) it was stylish and well designed. Technical problems were attended to immediately by the front of house staff and anything we needed was there in minutes (extra towels, adapters etc.) Good: the bed, the amenities and the cleanliness. Not so ideal: heater in bathroom was erratic, water spilled out from shower onto floor meaning we had to mop it up. Room at top of house needed a lot of heat. The fitness room was rubbish. Little details were also erratic..two days we got chocolates, one day none, then another day just two. Felt like Mummy was punishing us for not tidying our room properly. All that said, we'll come back again. Great location and fair value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertha_Venation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Banke, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment.

You have to kno that "Mummy deserves sweets every day;-)" So tne nex time come please let me know and i will take care of you : eperello@derbyhotels.com

All my best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    396
    128
    50
    21
See reviews for
130
577
76
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I was very happy with the central location of this hotel(close to the department stores/Opera house) and the comfortable and clean rooms. We had a great big window with a street view that was delightful in the morning. We had an executive room with a beautiful new bathroom and large bed with sitting area. The lobby was nice and the staff friendly and helpful.

The cons I would say was the very overpriced breakfast(29 euros!), heat regulation was off so no matter what it always felt really hot in the room, and poor, very poor WIFI. If you are a person traveling on business this is a definite negative. The cleaning lady did a great job cleaning but always moved our things to where she wanted not where We did. My toothbrush and razor is not yours to touch!

Overall we would return if they really worked on the WIFI, if not we would stay elsewhere on our next visit.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zap81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Banke, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your comment.

We have a good news, we find out a way to fix the WIFI.

So This is with pleasure, that you can come back and we will can ensured you it is operating accuratly

I would be please to welcome you, feel free to contact me : eperello@derbyhotels.com

All my best,

All my best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Well located (next to the Opera and to the Galleries Lafayette) very charming hotel in a builduing which used to be a bank - guess that that is the reason for the name. Hotel belongs to a Spanish chain (Derby). The hall is impressive, the staff is very polite and friendly. Our executive room was good value for the money in a city where most good hotels are much too expensive and rooms tend to be tiny. Room 402 was in fact big enough, with a WC separate from the (lovely) bathroom.
Wifi is free but not very quick and broke down several times during our stay. Breakfast (€ 29/person) and minibar (Coke is € 8,50!) are very expensive - we did not use neither nor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Banke, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback.

I m glad that you had a good stay.

I m looking forward to hearing from you...

All my Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level Contributor
488 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

After reading mixed reviews(especially in french),I thought I'd try this hotel.
On arrival the service was prompt,friendly and efficient.I was kindly upgraded which was a pleasant surprise.I found the lobby great .Baroque,Rococco style.The room was on the 4th floor.
Again I loved the decoration.It was a good size with a sofa.Bed was comfy.Bathroom was excellent.Big and well kept.Fluffy towels and bathrooms.
I enjoyed having a late night coffee at the bar listening to relaxing music.Paris was cold during my stay but the hotel was warm and well heated.Very cozy.
I didn't have breakfast since I'm a coffee and toast man and didn't want to waste euros 29.-.
The check-out was again quick and well done.Transport to airport was well organised.
In my opinion a couple of things could be added to make the stay even better.The room has no writing table so can't really work.I would have appreciated a tea or coffee maker.At the very least a bottle of complimentary water should be provided.Gym is sub-standard.
The hotel promotes re-using towels etc etc..which is great but why provide 6 pillows for one person?
Anyway if you want a friendly,stylish,efficient hotel try out the Banke.In my opinion it is better value than the 5 stars nearby and return I will.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the lift............
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelo65Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Banke, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really apprciate your comment.
We also take note of yours ideas.
Thank you so myuch for your post

All my Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this hotel. Location is great (75 yards from Galeries Lafayette, Starbucks 60 yards away, a little Epicerie across the street and Metro entrance around 80 yards).
Hotel entrance is very nice and room was spacious, clean, and very quiet (deluxe room). The cons are: expensive breakfast (29 euros), but we went to Jean across the street and had delicious croissants, coffee, yogurt, and fresh squeezed OJ. Other BIG con is the lack of a door for the bathroom. I know some couples are ok with that, but I like the door closed when doing my "business." The front desk said that deluxe rooms do not have a door and the "mgmt" is aware. For this reason, I would not return. If they add doors, I'd probably come back! I scored it a 3 on the rooms because of the door issue, otherwise it would have been a solid 4.
Other weird thing, especially for France, no wash clothes.

Room Tip: Ask if you have a bathroom door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snemrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Banke and had a wonderful experience. The rooms were large by European standards and well appointed. The hotel offered great customer service and the staff were delightful. The location is great--close to great shopping, restaurants and the sites.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Banke, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear guest,

We really appreciate your feedback.

Thank you for your comment.

I will be delighted to take care of you during your next stay.
feel free to contact me : eperello@derbyhotels.com

All my best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, Uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely ambience & decor in the reception, staff were helpful. Sweets are reception were tasty & quirky touch.
Room was quite small looking out into the middle of the hotel, which was slightly strange. Had to keep curtains closed at all times. Bathroom was nice very big & nice & clean. Breakfast was very nice, omelette was tasty.
Bit pricey but good choice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlywarly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel De Nell
Hotel De Nell
#60 of 1,802 in Paris
614 reviews
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#358 of 1,802 in Paris
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banke

Property: Hotel Banke
Address: 20 Rue Lafayette, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in Paris
#128 Business Hotel in Paris
#175 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#192 Family Hotel in Paris
#196 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Banke 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in the centre of Paris, ideal for your stay whether you are on a business trip or vacationing with your partner, with friends or with your family.This superior four-star hotel is located in the Opera district, in the very heart of Paris and a stone's throw from Boulevard Haussmann and the Galeries Lafayette. Hotel Banke occupies a building from the beginning of the 20th century designed by architects Paul Friesse and Cassien Bernard, and the stately building sits at the junction of Rue La Fayette and Rue Pillet Will.Services:94 guest rooms in Paris: 15 single rooms, 40 superior rooms, 13 executive rooms, 9 deluxe rooms and 17 suitesJosefin RestaurantLolaBarBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and related spaces: Eiffel room, La Fayette room, Alcove 1 room, Alcove 2 room, Banke RestaurantBanke Restaurant for events and conventions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Banke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banke Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing