We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hideout in Paris with a lovely garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Madame

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Madame
Ranked #84 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great hideout in Paris with a lovely garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Villa Madame for 3 days 2 nights, and had the most pleasant experience. Our room was on the ground floor, right next to the garden. There was one other "room" on the same floor opposite the garden, but I think our "rooms" are more like little houses!

The room isn't large - I was surprised with that but I discovered that hotels in Paris are small, so I have no complains there. It may be uncomfortable for travellers used to the large rooms in USA, but for someone like me who is used to tiny rooms in Japan and Hong Kong, it's no big deal.

The Hermes amenities were fantastic; my only complaint is that on the second day the products were not replenished, and since I needed more shampoo I had to ask front desk.

Check-in/check-out was a breeze. Front desk was very helpful with booking a taxi for us upon our departure.

]Location is great - near plenty of restaurants and interesting shops. Pierre Herme was only 2 blocks away! However it is about a 30 min slow walk to the main attractions like the Louvre so if you want to be right in the thick of things, you may want to consider another hotel. Otherwise it is a perfect location to be away from the noise and over-the-top-touristy places. Villa Madame is located very close to the Luxumberg gardens, so that's a big plus too.

I think the best feature about the hotel is the garden. It truly is lovely - very well designed with exotic plants and flowers. There are wide "sofas" to sit on, and I even spent about an hour there one afternoon to rest from all the walking. The front desk was very thoughtful and brought out some mint tea for us. A very nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenflubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMadame, Directeur général at Villa Madame, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Greenflubber

Thank you for the nice review your wrote on the Villa Madame hotel. We really appreciate it.

You seem to have found your "hideout" in Paris, and I am very glad that you enjoyed the intimacy of this independant hotel.

I was surprised to read that you did not have shampoo refill though. Thank you for letting us know because it is not the hotel type of policy. I appologize for the inconvenience then.

The whole team look forward to seing you again in the future !

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    156
    28
    13
    6
See reviews for
80
385
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Villa Madame was the perfect hotel for us. We stayed in a room on the corner of the building that was a little bit bigger than a standard room, which was very nice. The room was spacious and there was plenty of space for our large suitcases. The bathroom was also very roomy, and there was enough counter space to spread out our cosmetics. We were quite happy with the breakfast- the pastries were delicious, there was fresh summer fruit, and it didn't feel at all like a traditional coffee/croissant continental breakfast. The hotel's location makes it very accessible to the Luxembourg Gardens, a pleasant place to walk and run. The staff were friendly and spoke good English, which was quite helpful for us! We were in Paris during a heat wave, and it was so nice to be able to return to our air-conditioned room in the evening. We had been considering staying somewhere without air conditioning, however we are very glad that we chose otherwise. The Villa Madame suited out family perfectly, and we were quite pleased with our stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicachica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMadame, Directeur général at Villa Madame, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Nicachica K

You took the time to express your impressions about our hotel and its services. I would like to thank you for that.

It was a real pleasure to have you and your family at the Villa Madame! We especially appreciated your kind mention to our breakfast. Indeed, particular intention is paid to the quality of the products offered to our guests and it is nice you pointed it out!

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future!

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We loved the Villa Madame - we had one night in Paris, booked last minute, to celebrate a very special anniversary. The Villa Madame was perfect. We were welcomed with smiles and a lovely surprise of a free upgrade to the 'romantic stay'. The room was huge and all top amenities, it didn't miss a thing. The location is great, an easy walk through the beautiful streets of the left bank, the art galleries and cafes. And we loved the breakfast - all fresh pastries and the eggs were fantastic. We are hoping to stay there again when we pass through next month!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMadame, Directeur général at Villa Madame, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Sara


Thank you so much for your kind review! We are very glad to read that you enjoyed our little surprise ;-)

Looking forward to welcoming you again on september!


Kindest regards from the whole team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We visit Paris every year and have done so for the past 30 years. Having lived there our expectations are realistic. Our room was a poor excuse for a room so tiny we were unable to bring our cases in and they had to be opened on the bed. The coffee machine in the room was broken and although we reported this on our first day it was never repaired, replaced or even removed. We booked three nights and they quoted $250 per night only to be charged $300 per night on our departure. When we pointed this out the staff & manager were rude & completely disinterested. This is not a friendly boutique hotel as advertised and I would never recommend this hotel nor stay there ever again.

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LSlorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMadame, Gérant at Villa Madame, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear LSlorne

We would like you to know how we feel sorry about the bad experience you had in our hotel.
We wish we could write you directly to express our regret but unfortunately, we do not manage to identify you.

Our complementary coffee machines in the rooms are fragile articles and far too often misused. Thus, we had a large stock of new ones. Easy to replace, we never hesitate to change them at the slightest remark from our guests.

Regarding the wrong quotation of your room rate, it is really hard to give you a definite answer given that we are lacking information. Do not hesitate to come back to us for any explanation or compensation if it should turn out that we made a mistake.

To conclude, I would not end this letter without informing you that I am at the hotel every day (except the weekend) from 8 am to 7pm, ready to listen to our guest.

With warmest greetings, please accept, , the assurances of my highest consideration.

Gilles Delfau

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were thrilled with our stay at Villas Madame, a beautifully-appointed, hip and stylish hotel on a quite street near the Luxembourg Gardens in the 6th. The staff members are helpful, very friendly and go out of their way to enhance your Paris visit. Plus, our poor French was no issue as their English is impeccable. There's a charming garden patio, just perfect for a pre-dinner glass of champagne or one of their delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marciainsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMadame, Directeur général at Villa Madame, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Marcia

First of all, thank you for your "exquisit" review on our hotel! The whole team is glad that you enjoyed your Parisian stay and we are happy for having contributing in a way.

It was a real pleasure to have you here, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again!


Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Convenient location! Just one block from the Luxembourg Gardens and a short walk to St Germain des Pres! Really enjoyed our stay at Villa Madame! The staff was very helpful providing maps of the neighborhood and the city as well as recommendations & directions! Nice public spaces with lovely decor and lots of orchids. Fantastic breakfast with fruit, juice, pastries, yogurt, and a delicious tomato and feta omelet! Our room was small, so I would definitely book a larger room next time. Rooms were cleaned well and lovely Hermes bath products. Enjoyed cocktails in pretty courtyard garden! Computer and printer readily available. Nice boulangerie just down the street! A chic small hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMadame, Directeur général at Villa Madame, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear MacM5


Thank you so much for your nice testimony about how you experienced the Villa Madame hotel. Maria, Kamal and Cindy was happy to read your special "dedication" to the breakfast and the feta-tomato omelette!

Looking forward to welcoming again soon!


Best regards from the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely hotel. Room was a good size for Paris, bathroom was very impressive. Greeted with a small bottle of champagne and macaroons as it was our honeymoon. A lovely touch by the staff.

The only issues were that the room was tidied but seemingly not cleaned thoroughly over the 5 nights. The bathroom could have been cleaned more efficiently in my opinion.

Also I managed to leave my keycard in the catacoombs during a day out. Obviously this was my fault and I should have given the key in at reception but when I got a new key I thought the member of staff was a bit patronising with his comments and he didn't need to go on about it about 2/3 times!

But these were minor issues. I'd definitely go back, I needed to use a printer at one stage and staff were very helpful, they brought an ironing board and an iron and champagne glasses very efficiently when I requested them and the whole hotel was neat, tidy and superbly decorated. Cool but classical.

Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel-Laura2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMadame, Directeur général at Villa Madame, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Daniel&Laura

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Villa Madame for your recent stay in Paris. Besides, thank you for having taking the time to share your experience with the globetrotters worldwide! We are glad to read that you spent a great time at the Villa Madame hotel even if I find it very regrettable that you experienced "slight issues". Please, accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

Your remarks provide us valuable feedbacks for improving some particular aspect of our service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again!


Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#81 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#38 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#67 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#39 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Madame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Madame

Property: Villa Madame
Address: 44 rue Madame, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#81 Family Hotel in Paris
#142 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#200 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Madame 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A confidential address, designed as an elegant private mansion, in the heart of Saint Germain des Prés, few step away from the Luxembourg Garden. Villa Madame owes its special atmosphere to the sure taste and creativity of interior designer Michel Jouannet. He is particularly attentive to identity and atmosphere. Villa Madame radiates the essence of Parisian elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Madame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Madame Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing