We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed & dishonest experience”
Review of Villa Madame

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Madame
Ranked #115 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed & dishonest experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We visit Paris every year and have done so for the past 30 years. Having lived there our expectations are realistic. Our room was a poor excuse for a room so tiny we were unable to bring our cases in and they had to be opened on the bed. The coffee machine in the room was broken and although we reported this on our first day it was never repaired, replaced or even removed. We booked three nights and they quoted $250 per night only to be charged $300 per night on our departure. When we pointed this out the staff & manager were rude & completely disinterested. This is not a friendly boutique hotel as advertised and I would never recommend this hotel nor stay there ever again.

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LSlorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMadame, Gérant at Villa Madame, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear LSlorne

We would like you to know how we feel sorry about the bad experience you had in our hotel.
We wish we could write you directly to express our regret but unfortunately, we do not manage to identify you.

Our complementary coffee machines in the rooms are fragile articles and far too often misused. Thus, we had a large stock of new ones. Easy to replace, we never hesitate to change them at the slightest remark from our guests.

Regarding the wrong quotation of your room rate, it is really hard to give you a definite answer given that we are lacking information. Do not hesitate to come back to us for any explanation or compensation if it should turn out that we made a mistake.

To conclude, I would not end this letter without informing you that I am at the hotel every day (except the weekend) from 8 am to 7pm, ready to listen to our guest.

With warmest greetings, please accept, , the assurances of my highest consideration.

Gilles Delfau

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    159
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
82
389
30
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were thrilled with our stay at Villas Madame, a beautifully-appointed, hip and stylish hotel on a quite street near the Luxembourg Gardens in the 6th. The staff members are helpful, very friendly and go out of their way to enhance your Paris visit. Plus, our poor French was no issue as their English is impeccable. There's a charming garden patio, just perfect for a pre-dinner glass of champagne or one of their delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marciainsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMadame, Directeur général at Villa Madame, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Marcia

First of all, thank you for your "exquisit" review on our hotel! The whole team is glad that you enjoyed your Parisian stay and we are happy for having contributing in a way.

It was a real pleasure to have you here, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again!


Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Convenient location! Just one block from the Luxembourg Gardens and a short walk to St Germain des Pres! Really enjoyed our stay at Villa Madame! The staff was very helpful providing maps of the neighborhood and the city as well as recommendations & directions! Nice public spaces with lovely decor and lots of orchids. Fantastic breakfast with fruit, juice, pastries, yogurt, and a delicious tomato and feta omelet! Our room was small, so I would definitely book a larger room next time. Rooms were cleaned well and lovely Hermes bath products. Enjoyed cocktails in pretty courtyard garden! Computer and printer readily available. Nice boulangerie just down the street! A chic small hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMadame, Directeur général at Villa Madame, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear MacM5


Thank you so much for your nice testimony about how you experienced the Villa Madame hotel. Maria, Kamal and Cindy was happy to read your special "dedication" to the breakfast and the feta-tomato omelette!

Looking forward to welcoming again soon!


Best regards from the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely hotel. Room was a good size for Paris, bathroom was very impressive. Greeted with a small bottle of champagne and macaroons as it was our honeymoon. A lovely touch by the staff.

The only issues were that the room was tidied but seemingly not cleaned thoroughly over the 5 nights. The bathroom could have been cleaned more efficiently in my opinion.

Also I managed to leave my keycard in the catacoombs during a day out. Obviously this was my fault and I should have given the key in at reception but when I got a new key I thought the member of staff was a bit patronising with his comments and he didn't need to go on about it about 2/3 times!

But these were minor issues. I'd definitely go back, I needed to use a printer at one stage and staff were very helpful, they brought an ironing board and an iron and champagne glasses very efficiently when I requested them and the whole hotel was neat, tidy and superbly decorated. Cool but classical.

Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel-Laura2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMadame, Directeur général at Villa Madame, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Daniel&Laura

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Villa Madame for your recent stay in Paris. Besides, thank you for having taking the time to share your experience with the globetrotters worldwide! We are glad to read that you spent a great time at the Villa Madame hotel even if I find it very regrettable that you experienced "slight issues". Please, accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

Your remarks provide us valuable feedbacks for improving some particular aspect of our service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again!


Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

There was nothing "one off" about my last perfect stay as this one was just as good. Perhaps even better as I was able to enjoy the beautiful, peaceful garden in the warm weather. And so I will be back again for certain to this lovely hotel on a quiet street in a great neighbourhood.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anthea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMadame, Directeur général at Villa Madame, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Anthea,

It is such a great pleasure to have guests like you!

We warmly thank you for your second review ! We were glad to read that one year later the Villa Madame still meet your expectations!

Looking forward to seeing you next year!


Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel find. The location is safe and close to everything. The hotel staff was excellent and booked restaurants for us each night. They gave us great directions with maps for everywhere we went. The rooms are clean and surprisingly large. The courtyard is delightful and the breakfast is delicious and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013Lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMadame, Directeur général at Villa Madame, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear 2013Lauren

We are really happy to read that your first stay at the Villa Madame hotel met your expectations on location, comfort and services.
Thank you for having sharing your thoughts about Madame!! We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having stayed in a wide range of Parisien hotels over the years, I think that with Villa Madame, I may have found the perfect place to stay on the Rive Gauche. This small hotel is well located on a quiet street very close to the Luxembourg gardens and many other Left bank attractions. The design interiors are stylish and understated with a modern Oriental influence to the lounge, bar and courtyard areas. We stayed in room 22 on the 2nd floor overlooking the street. This Executive room had everything we needed; a comfortable super king size bed, a bath and walk in shower in the bathroom with Hermes toiletries, separate seating area and a coffee machine. There were some nice extra touches I would usually associate with 5* like providing an umbrella in the room. The lighting was particularly attractive making this a welcome space to relax in at the end of a days' sightseeing.
We had an excellent breakfast at the hotel both days.
Friendly staff and overall good service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buenasvacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMadame, Directeur général at Villa Madame, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Madame

First of all, thank you for your great review on the hotel. We are truly grateful. Madame loves the idea to become your perfect place to stay on the Paris Rive Gauche! Oui oui oui!
Moreover, we were very moved to read your reference to 5-star-hotel details in the room. Thank you for your appreciation.

We are looking forward to being your "home away from home" again soon!

Best Parisian regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#101 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#35 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#61 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#38 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Madame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Madame

Property: Villa Madame
Address: 44 rue Madame, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in Paris
#88 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#142 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#200 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Madame 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A confidential address, designed as an elegant private mansion, in the heart of Saint Germain des Prés, few step away from the Luxembourg Garden. Villa Madame owes its special atmosphere to the sure taste and creativity of interior designer Michel Jouannet. He is particularly attentive to identity and atmosphere. Villa Madame radiates the essence of Parisian elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Madame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Madame Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing