We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job.”
Review of Bastille Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bastille Hostel
Ranked #123 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

So, I booked a private room in a youth hostel for a one night stay in Paris for a trip where the accommodation was not to be the star attraction, and quite frankly I just wanted to lay down my head and have a shower. And it did the job. For £40 a night it was fine. Single bed, private shower, shared toilet. All basic, but clean. Staff were friendly, and there is a free left luggage service. Also, there was a safe in the room which was brilliant! Just don't expect luxury- you're paying for a conveniently located youth hostel in Paris - and that is exactly what it was!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newstigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Bastille Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 216 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

It wasn't necessarily terrible, just not great.
Firstly, we had to change rooms every single night. I couldn't figure out if they didn't have a system or were just too lazy to try and keep people in the same rooms. In any case, we had to pack up all our stuff and haul it to the damp cellar.

The included "breakfast" is actually a bucket of rolls with butter and some coffee from the machine. We've had much better in even smaller and cheaper places.

The rooms were clean and pretty spacious, but they kick you out from 11-3. No luck if you're sick or just need a day of rest.
There is only one plug in the room for four people, so be prepared for awkward charger battles.

Like I said, it wasn't terrible, but we found a hotel two metro stops down that was the same price per night for each of us with a private room, plugs, private bathroom, and no lock out. You're better off trying the hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaS1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The staff were quite friendly and helpful but we had to move rooms every night which was a huge inconvenience. We had to pack up our luggage every night and put it in the luggage room. You are not allowed to be in the hostel from 11-3 at all. Despite it being about 28 degrees out there was no air in the hostel and the only access to the Internet was in the lobby. This would be fine if it wasn't extremely hot and crowded and if the Internet was on in the morning- they don't turn it on until 12:30 pm for some reason. There isn't much difference in the rooms with showers and those without except for the cost. I'd recommend splitting a hotel room instead of this hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I didn't like to stay there. It's poor, terrible staff (they are so rude, and they don't helpif you need an information or anything), and the breakfast it's not good.
The location is fine, but you can find a better place to stay and a better location. I wouldn't go back there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viviannlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Only positive thing about this place is its location. Rooms look like budget hotels in Asia. There are no powerplace in the room, so all the guest have to charge their phones in the lobby. And there is not enough places chairwise or behind the table for everyone. there is no kitchen. They have micro but no dishes at all.

So you do much better in some other place.

We DON'T recomend Bastille hostel at all!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristiina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

For sightseeing and soaking in the city of Paris, accommodation shouldn't be too much of a priority. If you're on a budget, this place is good value for money.
The hostel is very clean, and so was our room. No great views from the room, but it wasn't really important. The bathroom was small, but not uncomfortable. The place has a drinks vending machine, and all sorts of cafes are around the area, with various cuisines. Theres also an excellent patisserie nearby. A little walking is required to get to the nearest metro station, (the metro system more than excellently covers the city) but getting to attractions would take an average of 20 minutes (the Louvre museum takes 15; Eiffel Tower takes around 25). The receptionist spoke a good amount of English, which made it very convenient.
We stayed in a private double room, which had bunk beds.
Also a nice place to meet mostly young people from all over the world, and watch some great football on television in the common room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJDMello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Close to metro, breakfast included (even if it is only a baguette). Its typically a basic Parisian hostel, but the staff are helpful and friendly and the rooms are suitable.
They could be a little more flexible with their cleaning hours (the room closed from 11am -3pm) but otherwise ok.
I would recommend it if you were in Paris for a busy sight seeing weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeniNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Auberge Internationale des Jeunes
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Gobelins
Oops! Hostel
Oops! Hostel
#24 of 177 in Paris
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Young & Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hostel
#35 of 177 in Paris
523 reviews
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#13 of 177 in Paris
661 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Woodstock Hostel
Woodstock Hostel
#62 of 177 in Paris
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastille Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastille Hostel

Address: 6 rue Trousseau, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , République
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $34 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Bastille Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastille Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing