We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Sunday find”
Review of Bonhomie

Bonhomie
Reserve with
Bonhomie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,856 of 18,852 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $11 - $68
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Description: The word Bonhomie means cheerful friendliness and good spirits which sums up the atmosphere of the Mediterranean restaurant. You are welcome everyday from 10:30 am to 2 am for a specialty coffee, a lunch and dinner created by our chef Christopher Smith formed at the best tables, and cocktails made by creative and talented bartenders.
Reviewed October 17, 2017

We were staying locally and wanted somewhere to eat in the neighbourhood on a Sunday evening. My partner chose this restaurant for its uniqueness. We chose 5 Tapas dishes that were all interesting in their own and accompanied them with a cocktail each. The cocktails were different and not your usual pina colada, margarita but something especially French eg Suze, Ricard based.
Overall meal for two adults comprising 5 tapas dishes and 2 cocktails came to 86 Euro so not cheap.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 108 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2017

Had lunch on Friday. Beautiful restaurant - who was the decorator?
Between the lunch and a la carte menus there were only two vegetarian choices - beetroot salad (excellent) and a broccoli risotto. The broccoli risotto was more like rice swimming in a green sauce, not a success. A great cheese plate, deserts fine. Good bread. Wine list expensive (first bottles at €34) but good. No cocktails at lunchtime. Service friendly but not always efficient : two requests for pepper ignored until it was too late. Cuisine very similar to much of what is announced as 'Modern British' in London.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RNPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

Very nicely decorated little restaurant in a lively neighborhood!
Indoors with 2 big windows that they open so you feel like you are sitting outdoors.
It has a very classy yet casual feel to it.
Friendly staff.
Too bad we got there at a time when the kitchen was closed. We had coffee and cake, and it was good!
Would definitely go again to try the food or even to catch up with some friends over coffee!

Thank danielle_jaafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

What a super cool restaurant in a very up and coming neighborhood in Paris. The food is tapas style and excellent. The wine is very good as well. Service is very helpful with suggestions and getting you plenty to eat. This is a must go restaurant! Enjoy!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Vol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 22, 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words and encouragement! We are happy that you had a great evening with us - we will be sure to give the team a pat on the back!

Best regards,

Team Bonhomie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

I don't comment prices because it is Paris (but in my opinion they are not within the usual average of the city). We ordered two entrecote (the only one dish except for tapas) 38 euros each and we waited more than 1 hour and half; when we asked the reason of such a long waiting, they answered the meat was frozen so they need time to unfrozen it!! Totally unacceptable. Of course the entrocote were terrible and moreover of low quality.
Also the service is not as good as you can expect from a restaurant with high prices.
With this budget you could find better places in Paris
AVOID IT

2  Thank Fabrizio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 20, 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your last visit at Bonhomie.
We take into consideration all feedback and are sorry to hear you were left disappointed by your recent experience with us.

I apologise for the long wait to receive your entrecôte, however under absolutely no circumstances do we work with frozen produce. I understand your anger if you were under the impression that you were being served frozen meat (the only frozen produce we stock is our ice-cream, also homemade). The meat must be tempered after being removed from the fridge before searing.
We pride ourselves on the quality of our produce and work closely with a range of highly regarded producers. Our meat comes a reputed supplier Txogitxu from Saint Sebastian and is cut in house by our head chef. I am sorry to hear you didn't appreciate this product.

I would like to understand better how this situation came about. If you would be so kind as to call the restaurant directly, I would appreciate the chance to speak further about this matter.

Best regards,

Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonhomie also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Bonhomie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing