We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Paris
Post
Inbox
Search

“Loved this restaurant!”
Review of Cedars

Cedars
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 2/20
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #540 of 21,629 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: La Villette
Description: Cedars is the largest Lebanese restaurant in the 19th arrondissement of Paris. It owes its success to the quality of its service and dishes, carefully prepared with fresh and seasonal products. Everything is homemade and in the recognition of Lebanon: the recipes come from traditional Lebanese cuisine. Cedars offers mezzés with traditional hummus, falafels, cheese rikakat and tabbouleh, as well some delicious wood-fired grills, Chawarma Chicken, and many other specialties. Even the desserts are a unique experience to taste: you have the choice between a Baklawa and a Lebanese mouhallabie flan flavored with orange blossom.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent Libanese food! Really enjoyed my evening there with my friends! Friendly waiters and good wine !

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Polinapoilane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 200 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2019

Like most people, we trawled the review sites to try and find a decent authentic Lebanese restaurant. We were so excited to eat some authentic middle eastern fare at Cedars but our excitement pretty quickly turned to horror not long after we placed our order. To our utter astonishment, the (stale and dry) Lebanese bread that was brought to our table had been cut into quarters and placed into sandwich bags before being served to us in a basket. We'd never seen anything like this and, in this age of moving away from plastic, couldn't understand why the bread was served this way. We can only assume for convenience of the servers.
Stale, plastic-wrapped bread aside... the meal itself was very mediocre with a tasteless tabbouleh salad, bitter hummus and bland falafel.
Perhaps the only saving grace was the super-fresh, beautifully crisp and tasty baklava - definitely worth the visit but didn't quite erase the memory of the meal.
On the upside, restaurant was very clean and the staff were extremely friendly.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravellingCloudberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar C, Gérant at Cedars, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2019

Dear TravellingCloudberry,

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed feedback, which we have read and taken into consideration. We endeavor to make the client experience as best as possible every time. All of our plates and services are homemade and we make every effort to maintain the highest quality and freshness of our ingredients. For your full background, the plastic wrapped bread is a hygiene measure to ensure the lebanese pita bread maintains the best flavor and freshness from the time it is baked daily early in the morning till the time we have the honor of serving it to you at noon or in the evening the same day.
The environment is at the heart of our preoccupations, and we are continuously searching for environment-friendly alternatives that would still allow us to provide you with the highest standards and quality. For example, we are proud to announce that all of our outdoors events, such as birthdays, weddings and even private parties now have the option of providing environment friendly cutlery that is 100% made of recycled materials and that is biodegradable.
We are also happy that you liked the baklava - it is our unique pleasure to reconfirm that it is entirely homemade and only includes the finest ingredients.
We surely and sincerely hope we get the honor of receiving you again at our restaurant, and we hope everything would be to your liking. Please don’t hesitate to let me know the next time you are around.
Best regards,
Cedars Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2019 via mobile

After taking a bath at the Baignade de Villette, our family of five visited Cedars, which is conveniently located right next to Laumiére Metro station. We were greeted by a very friendly and attentive young hostess and given a table.

The interior is simple, rather naked and diner-ish, with some half-finished details here and there, and take-away customers will sit down to wait for their food. Both these elements contributes to a less than optimal ambiance, but this should absolutely not be taken as a weighty argument against the restaurant as a whole.

We ordered some different grill foods for some of the party and meze for some. The food arrived quickly, it was very tasty and the servings were generous. The meats were juicy and tasty, and the falafel was perfect. The hummus and baba ganoush also deserve special mention. Meze bread is rarely fantastic, but although we appreciate that the reason for serving it in plastic wrapping is to keep it from losing moisture too quickly, it was rather unappealing. On a positive note, drinks were very reasonably priced, at 2€ for 33cl of soda and 4.5€ for Lebanese beer. The food was also very good value for money.

To sum up, I can warmly recommend this restaurant for lunch or an informal dinner. It's family friendly, and the staff is very friendly. You'll leave happy and full.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank 276benjamine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar C, Gérant at Cedars, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2019

Dear Benjamine,

Thank you for taking the time to draft your detailed and precious response. We are thrilled that you have overall enjoyed your experience at our modest restaurant and are very happy that you have concluded that you left « Happy and Full » :)
The full staff takes into account your feedback and pretty much look forward to welcoming you again to our establishment.
Best regards,
Cedars Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

Stopped here for dinner. It was delicious. Good service. Reasonable price. I would come back here soon.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank samuel8248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
793ramit, Gérant at Cedars, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2019

Thank you Samuel!
Hope to see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

They have Euro 10 usually chicken based lunch specials. The veg mezze special is great too. You even get a coffee and baklava.

Super quick and friendly service.

Went back several times in my four days in the 19th arrondissement.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Poleinahole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
793ramit, Gérant at Cedars, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2019

Thank you!!
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing