We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shhhht - a secret worth keeping quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison Saint Germain
Ranked #36 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shhhht - a secret worth keeping quiet”
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We stayed there for a week end and were greeted by friendly staff calling our names at street level....like a butler waiting for your arrival. The location is exceptional, in the heart of St Germain, yet totally private and secluded like your own place. The apartment was well appointed and roomy enough to accommodate our family of four. A small kitchenette had everything you need to have breakfast or a meal of your own should you wish to. We will stay there again for sure unless the word spreads too fast and we can't get in .....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    48
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
128
40
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The place is hard to notice when walking by in Boulevard Saint Germain. And you hardly notice Boulevard Saint Germain when you are in the nice appartment on the 2 floor, even though it is in a top location in the heart of Rive Gauche.
The one bedroom appartment we had rented (with free internet, TV, kitchen, shower and living room) was very comfortable and providing unusual room in Paris, even though it may still be small by standard of other cities. All amenities were included incl a bit of salt, pepper etc making the landing and first day easy. Also, there is a Carrefour grocery store 50 meters away, open until 11:00 pm. And being in the center of Quartier Latin, 100 meters away from Le café de Flore, Lipp, Les 2 Magots, it is fully surrounded by typical restaurant and bars.

Yet, it is very quiet, the bed is very comfy and the room was on a very quiet inside court.

There is no breakfeast place but you can ask for a breakfeast delivery the night before and there are plenty of bakeries around.

The hotel being very small, there is not much personnel but it is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMIBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonsaintgermain, Directeur général at La Maison Saint Germain, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
Thank you so much for your comment.

We hope to see you back very soon !

Front desk, La Maison Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

If you truly love the Left Bank (and we do), you will truly love La Maison. The perfect location in the 6th (at the intersection of Boulevard Saint Germain and Rue de Buci) is made even better by the hotel itself. Management was personal and gracious. For instance, when the TV cable box (required for English language channels) broke down, the hotel manager appeared on a Saturday to replace it herself. The daily cleaning was thorough and convenient. And the front office staff were in touch every day to make sure we had everything we needed.

The country French kitchen with upscale modern appliances made living here even better than expected.

If your kind of Paris is staying in a spacious, well-equipped, and well managed apartment, where every day starts with a living room view down the Boulevard and every evening ends with hot chocolate in your choice of terrific local cafes (Les Deux Magots is two blocks away), you'll love La Maison.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBBeebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonsaintgermain, Responsable réception at La Maison Saint Germain, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Thank you for your comment.

We are pleased that you had a great experience during your stay at la Maison Saint Germain.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Front desk, La maison Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

First I will note that the location was perfect. Bakery, supermarket and green grocer within a block; laundramat 2 blocks; many restaurants and cafes in area and good shopping; two metro lines within a block; walk to Louvre and other major museums.

This is an apartment/hotel. That is, these are not apartments owned by individuals that are rented out but rather an apartment building that does vacation rentals of all of the apartments. As a result, you have some of the services that you would have in a hotel, e.g. someone to get advice/ecommendations from; someone to arrange car pick up, etc. but you have none of the comforts of a home.

The apartment we stayed in was pretty minimalistic for the price we paid (equal to 4 star hotel). We stayed in a one bedroom on the 2nd floor. The bedroom, (which was quiet and in the back) had a bed, side tables and a large closet (no room for anything else so luggage stayed in the living room). The living room had a fold out couch, one side chair, a dining room table with 4 chairs and one dresser with drawers that were very difficult to open. The living room faced Blvd. St. Germain and was very loud. When windows were closed it was very quiet but we had warm days when you really needed to keep the windows open. All floors were tile. The kitchen and bath were fine for our needs (only two of us). This is advertised for 2 - 4 people; I can't imagine how 4 adults would share this apt unless they were VERY close.

Overall, I felt like they skimped. We got two bath and face towels per day, there were minimal supplies in the kitchen, e.g. one bowl, one pan for the oven, 1 wooden spoon,1 semi-sharp knife,, etc. no dishwashing detergent, no spices, etc.

In the end, i think the apartment was probably fine but it was expensive for what you get. Based on the people I saw shopping in the area, I got the impression that there were lots of other rental apts. available. I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank egliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed in this hotel with two children and it was perfect...very good location with the metro,supermarket and othrers near here.
We really recomend because the staff is kindly and very worryied about the guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fakianifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Arrived during a week of 90+ weather, hotel provided nice quiet fans each bedroom. Windows had to be closed in the front rooms because of street noise. Back bedrooms were quiet and had nice big windows. We were 11 in all, 6 kids, 5 adults. We took the top 3 apartments and felt at home and used the stairs and elevator to go between. Security was a non issue. Service was friendly and helpful. Great location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anlelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonsaintgermain, Responsable relations clients at La Maison Saint Germain, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Thank you very much for your stay, hope to welcome you again soon !

Front Desk, Maison Saint Germain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

After having booked and confirmed "the little house" which had 2 bedrooms. We were informed that we would be re-located into a one bedroom appartment due to water leakage. We were extremely dissappointed upon arrival to find that someone was already occupying "the little house" ! The appartment was small and cramped for our family of 4 and the floors were filthy ! Having experienced many appartment rentals in Paris prior to this experience, I know that we will definitely not go back. Great location is probably the only positive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parsichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Victoire & Germain
Hotel Victoire & Germain
#426 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#98 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#62 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#72 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Saint Germain

Property: La Maison Saint Germain
Address: 158 boulevard Saint Germain, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison Saint Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison Saint Germain is a luxurious and charming apartment hotel. Built in the 16th century, the building is located in Saint-Germain-des-Près, heart of the arty and literary Paris.It will provide you with a Parisian lifestyle instantly. Each accommodation is unique with his own decoration and offers a great view on the boulevard Saint Germain.Our apartment building offers four kinds of dwellings: The Studio (1 to 2 people) Several apartments (1 to 4 people) The Duplex with terrace (1 to 6 people) The Little Maison Saint Germain (1 to 4 people)Amenities: Lift Fully fitted kitchen Safe LCD television Ipod / Iphone alarm clock Free Internet Wifi Air condioning, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your La Maison Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Saint Germain Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing