We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little duplex with Fantastic View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Maison Saint Germain
Ranked #26 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We are a family of four with a 9 and 11 year children. We stayed at this boutique hotel located on Boulevard Saint Germain the first week in July. The location is perfect - right on the Mabilion Metro station and close to St. Germain Metro. The duplex is good for a family of four (maybe 5 with one on the couch). The room was clean and the hotel staff was very attentive. The best attributes are (1) view of the Eiffel Tower; (2) central location; and (3) elevator - trust me on this - after climbing Notre Dame or the Arc de Triumph, you will appreciate this feature.

Room Tip: There is only one duplex with the balcony view - there are other rooms, but not the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMHfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 209 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

We visited Paris for 5 nights in June 2011. We were 4 adults and one 16 years old girl. We booked the duplex and we made the payment full in advance in march/april (we discussed directly with the hotel and they offered us acceptable rates). They arranged also the pick-up from/to the airport (90 euros for 5 persons).
We arrived in Paris by noon and the car was waiting for us at the airport; when we arrived at the hotel, the guy from the reception (sorry, I didn't ask his name!) was waiting for us near the elevator; he was very kind and he helped us to carry the luggage into our room. The check-in formalities were made almost instantly, in our apartment.
The apartment was great: great location, great views (two large balconies overlooking St. Germain Boulevard, St. Suplice and Eiffel Tower), nicely decorated, very clean, light and airy. The beds were very comfortable and the linen soft and clean. A minus for the towels. The kitchen was very well equipped. Free wifi internet, working very well (we received the password at arrival, during the check-in formalities).
The area is great: everything was close to us; in addition to the great coffee shops, there are also markets (Saint Germain Market, Rue de Buci Market), a Carrefour supermarket (rue de Seine, in the back of the hotel); it was a great pleasure for us to buy croissants and fresh fruits and vegetables each morning. We will remember for a long time "Paul", "Croissanteria" or "Gerard Mulot".
During the weekend, the streets behind the hotel are full of life: many street singers and dancers, making an unbelievable and unforgettable atmosphere.
Please note also that the hotel is very close to the Seine, Louvre, Musee d'Orsey, Notre Dame, St. Suplice, Jardin de Louxembourg, Latin Quarter, Pont Noeuf, ... everything! You need to walk only few minutes and enjoy the lovely small streets.
The weather was perfect, around 23 degree Celsius. But, one day, the temperature suddenly raised to 34 degree Celsius. While we were out, the cleaning lady (I guess) has been so kind to open the windows and close the shutters; at our arrival, the apartment was cool and airy. Small gesture but highly appreciated. Thank you, whoever you are!
Last, but not least I want to mention the staff of the hotel. Very kind and very discreet also. We have seen them rarely, but when we needed them they were there to help us.
We enjoyed each minute at La Maison Saint Germain and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The service was excellent and we had a great time at La Maison Saint Germain. Everyone was very kind and servicial, the appartments are fully equipped and plenty of space, it´s very comfortable and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gustavozk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We have just returned from a lovely 5 day stay at a 1 bedroom apartment here. The location in St Germain Du Pres was a stone's throw from Le Deux Magot and a short stroll to Notre Dame/the Seine. The area is buzzing and Parisian but not too noisy at night and felt very safe. Local eateries abound to suit all tastes and pockets and there's a metro style supermarket just round the corner for supplies. We have 3 children aged 8,9 and 12 and this was perfect for us but would equally suit four adults. The apartment was spacious, very clean and with a very well equipped kitchen (including a full sized oven/hob and dishwasher which gave us the option of eating in if we wanted, which also helped make the apartment cost effective).The sofa bed the lounge was good quality and comfortable. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. The apartment was decorated tastefully and made a nice change from some of the more generic hotels we have stayed in. We thought the price was very good value considering the standard of accommodation, the fact that we would have had to book 2 hotel rooms to get a similar central location and also in comparison to some of the other (admittedly high end) apartments we looked at on the internet. We would love to go back !

Room Tip: the central courtyard is very sweet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twoplusthree7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stayed in the appartment, which was lovely. The lounge looks out over Boulevard St Germain, the bedroom was at the back - so nice and quiet. Very comfortable bed. The area is perfect. We got a direct metro from eurostar at Gare Du Nord, the hotel is 2 mins from the metro station. Immediately outside are loads of nice bars and restaurants, street stalls and small contemporary art studios. There's also a small supermarket; useful if you want to use the appartment kitchen.
This is an apparthotel, so no reception as such, but I emailed our time of arrival and a nice guy was there to meet us with the key. Maids came round every day.
My view on value may be slightly swayed by the fact that we were upgraded from a studio to an appartment, however, we booked 2 months in advance with expedia which appeared to be a better rate than the hotel direct, but these things change, so check both.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BAF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We were a family of 4 and had a taken a small apt. The Hotel is perfectly situated. The apt was clean and convenient for our use. The staff was helpful and did their best. It is very functional but don't expect pampering. A bit over priced but all in all, would recommend and come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hyariv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

The best part of this hotel is that it is located in an amazing area in the heart of Paris. It is within walking distance to the Louvre, the D'Orsay, the St. Germain Church and many great cafes. We stayed in the "little" house. It had a very small kitchenette and sitting area on the first floor. The second floor had a bedroom and bath with a toilet and sink. The third floor had another bedroom and bath. This bath had a VERY small shower and a sink but no toilet. The stairs that lead up to the bedrooms are very narrow and steep which could be a problem for some people. Overall it was charming and felt very Parisian. We enjoyed the street around the corner which had a market, outdoor farmer's markets and many cute cafes. It was fun to walk and buy our food and there was a quaint patio outside the little house with a table and chairs to enjoy the evening. Overall the staff was very helpful and the room was clean. We had some problem with the internet and they fixed it so that it worked most of the time. I was a bit disappointed that there were not two full bathrooms but it worked for our family. If you were sharing with another couple it would be awkward. The room also felt very safe and secure. It was a bit noisy at night, but then again Paris is a busy city. I would say that the internet pictures of the hotel make it look a bit more fancy than it really is. I enjoyed my stay, and felt like I really got to experience the culture and old world charm of the beautiful city of Paris.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whaleCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#89 of 1,802 in Paris
790 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#113 of 1,802 in Paris
961 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#327 of 1,802 in Paris
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Residence & Spa Le Prince Regent
Champs-Elysees
Residence Alma Marceau
Residence Alma Marceau
#48 of 185 in Paris
54 reviews
Montmartre
Montmartre Residence
Montmartre Residence
#7 of 185 in Paris
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Saint Germain

Address: 158 Boulevard Saint Germain, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $223 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison Saint Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison Saint Germain is a luxurious and charming apartment hotel. Built in the 16th century, the building is located in Saint-Germain-des-Près, heart of the arty and literary Paris.It will provide you with a Parisian lifestyle instantly. Each accommodation is unique with his own decoration and offers a great view on the boulevard Saint Germain.Our apartment building offers four kinds of dwellings: The Studio (1 to 2 people) Several apartments (1 to 4 people) The Duplex with terrace (1 to 6 people) The Little Maison Saint Germain (1 to 4 people)Amenities: Lift Fully fitted kitchen Safe LCD television Ipod / Iphone alarm clock Free Internet Wifi Air condioning, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Maison Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Saint Germain Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing