We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of Eric Kayser

Eric Kayser
Ranked #20 of 271 Bakeries in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Quartier Latin
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This review is for the bakery. I don't know whether they're the BEST breads and pastries in Paris, but they're certainly at least among the very best. The texture of his baguettes is the perfect combination of moist and crunchy, and they're totally covered with tasty seeds. The line moves quickly and requires fast decisions, like most Paris bakeries, but the staff is friendly and accommodating; they also speak English.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doniji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    131
    40
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic bakery in Paris”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Eric Kayser is wonderful. When I am looking for an apartment for a Paris visit - one of the deciding factors is it's proximity to an Eric Kayser! I think they make one of the best croissants in Paris. Everything offered in this bakery is exceptional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ShawnW885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious bread!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Tempting as it was, I didn't try any of the pastries, although they did look delicious. The bread however was worth the walk over. Baguette was perfect, chewy crust and soft insde, with great flavor. Also had a small fig roll, which was so good with some smoked ham I bought from a little deli shop. Yummy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Door211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“De...lish!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stopped in here a few times for my breakfast pastry during a recent visit. Each time the shop was busy which is always a good sign. The object(s) of my desire were Croissant Amandes (Almond Croissant) and Eclair au chocolat (Chocolate Eclair) and they were to die for...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kavo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“WOnderful Boulangerie”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This branch is much bigger/more modern than that at No 8. There was a long queue when we arrived but there were 5 people serving, so we didn't have to wait long. The service is a hit and miss here; the old staff was a bit snuffy and did not want (actually refused) to give me the warm Kayser Bread, so I waited for the young staff and explained to her that I needed to transport the bread back to London and I would like to have the warm one and she was happy to oblige. The 1.8kg loaf cost only €7.80 which was a bargain! The dough was fermented long & properly and the inside is chewy, spongy and tangy - sure signs of exellent bread. As soon as I arrived home, I sliced them and put them in the freezer, so I don't have to crave for the proper bread for a while. You just cannot beat it served with unsalted fermented butter. Pure Heaven!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CM K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eric Kayser also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Eric Kayser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing