We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clever deco but not central”
Review of Mama Shelter Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mama Shelter Paris
Ranked #379 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clever deco but not central”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Really special place, pretty cheap, modern and really special with regard to deco. Pizzas til late (sadly no salads) - not very central but not far off - highly recommend, would go again. Also, nice selection of free movies - all sorts of movies ... Very friendly staff - very nice vibe, young and busy every days

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    692
    179
    76
    51
See reviews for
142
656
106
368
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed Thursday to Monday at this very trendy hotel and loved it. Having seen the main central tourist sights previously, my wife and I decided to stay out of the centre. We not only saved some money on the hotel but spent a lot more time with French people. We'd really recommend it and it only takes 20 mins by metro to the centre anyway.

The hotel reminded me of The Hoxton in London, Shoreditch. Very friendly staff, great customer service, all in all a fun experience. We did not eat in the restaurant but would do if we stay again. The bar was very busy every night, with good music and nice drinks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and had an amazing time. It is located about 1/2 mile from the Metro #2 or #3(in the opposite direction) in Paris so if you are okay with a nice walk for the metro you won't even notice it. The neighborhood is relatively quiet but there are numerous grocery stores, bakeries, restaurants, cafes, and even a post office very nearby! The rooms are very modern, lots of technology-based amenities like a computer/TV with lots of entertainment. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. There was a microwave in our room which we did use once or twice. The price of the room was reasonable. The wi-fi worked really well and I had seamless connections to work (when I unfortunately had to face reality). The breakfast is pricey, we did not take it, but it looked amazing. Very extravagant and it seemed most guests enjoyed it, we were happy with a walk to our favorite bakery. I did enjoy coffee in the morning and it was actually reasonably priced compared to local Paris cafes. We did eat dinner at the Pizzeria one night and it was delicious, a tiny bit pricey but well worth it as we were happy to eat in that night. The bar and restaurant are really busy every night and looked like "the" place to be! The guests ranged in age and nationality which I also really liked, it was very diverse. I could envision any type of traveler finding a reason to enjoy Mama Shelter!

Room Tip: We chose a double bed but realized that being on an upper floor was highly desirable. Our friends w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginabtheot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

What a cool hotel this is indeed!
Very funky + trendy, which can be seen from the restaurant, to the rooms as well as the staff.
Celebrated my b'day in style with a package that included a bottle of champagne in the room and a little b'day message on the mirror.
Very modern amenities, where we could take "selfies" on the TV and email them straight away.
Breakfast was good and overall this is a true Philip Stark style hotel, which we would love to return to and will certainly recommend and possibly seek out other Mama Shelters around the globe!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1970worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Not too expensive though a bit far from the heart of the city but it's a good opportunity to discover the famous Père Lachaise cemetery. Nice decoration (thank you again Starck ;-).
Nice personnel. Small but clean and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeromeNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The location matches the profile of clients for whom this property would be a good fit. Close to Montmartre, some smaller restaurants... not a commercial area, to be frank, not an area of Paris with much interest, unless you want to show respect to Jim Morrison at the Pere-Lachaise cemetery. The rooms are small... mine was and I was told it was a large room.
So then why ? Because it is fun, cool bar, fun concept, nice personable staff (Not always the case in a trendy place) and it has a lot of smaller amenities or creative details.
Parking on site, if you are masochist enough to drive in Paris.
To summarize, a short stay, for the fun to talk about it when you get home, at a price you cannot beat in Paris unless you would be ready to risk your life in a less than desirable neighborhood !
I did not try the restaurant but was told it was very good and great people watching.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Overseasintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed here after a quick trip to Paris from London for a friend's 30th. My room was fairly small, but all I needed was a place to rest my head when I got in at 6am! My room was lovely and clean, and the hotel itself was nicely decorated, with lovely food. The only thing that isn't great about it is that it's not too central.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenMoyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
COQ Hotel Paris
COQ Hotel Paris
#151 of 1,802 in Paris
280 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#238 of 1,802 in Paris
923 reviews
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#161 of 1,802 in Paris
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Nadaud Hotel
Nadaud Hotel
#565 of 1,802 in Paris
264 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#114 of 1,802 in Paris
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Shelter Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Shelter Paris

Property: Mama Shelter Paris
Address: 109 rue de Bagnolet, 75020 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#126 Business Hotel in Paris
#128 Family Hotel in Paris
#175 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#359 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Shelter Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic Saint Blaise neighborhood located in the heart of authentic Paris with its flowerlined cafe terraces, its gardens and its air rebellion, Mama Shelter welcomes you. Sensual and elegant the 172 rooms are equipped with Apple iMacs 27", video on demand (free) and 5 Star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets). They offer you a serene retreat after a long day in the city and an evening across the street at the mythic Parisian temple of international live music, La Fleche d'Or. Easy access to the Mama Shelter: in the heart of the 20th district, it is conveniently located 16 miles from Charles de Gaulle Airport and 12.5 Miles from Orly Airport. Otherwise, direct connection to the A3 Highway, or next to metro stations. Take a break in Mama Shelter and enjoy: Live Concerts, Cabaret Shows, DJs, Table Soccer, Boutique of Offbeat Products... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mama Shelter Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Shelter Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing