We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step outside hotels, enter the Mama Shelter”
Review of Mama Shelter Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mama Shelter Paris
Ranked #368 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This place is just not a hotel.

The front desk is semi open, the team is in denim trousers and T shirts with funky aprons. There is a huge wooden table with four chairs as an Internet counter.

My room was small, dark with Superman and Batman facemasks smiling at me (as bedside lamps). The bed was very good. I slept like an angel.

The idea of free everything (videos, internet, etc) is just centuries ahead of upscale (5*) hotels where you are charged for every thing.

The bathroom was very small too, but efficient. I only regret the absence of soap as such, replaced by a shower gel (not my personal preferrence).

The restaurant (pizzeria) and bar looked great (thanks to Philippe Stark), a long high wooden table in the restaurant, a snooker in the bar, wooden tables every where, and a light above the snooker to be discovered (really hip).

The food for breakfast was fresh and tasty with funky individual butter portions.

I did not really feel at any moment in a hotel, more at a holiday club house or kind of. And that was refreshing especially in Paris.

Room Tip: Do not expect there what you expect in standard hotels.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spikyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,807)
There are newer reviews for Mama Shelter Paris
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Mama Shelter has gone for the cool crowd and pulls it off with a few reservations. The suite we'd booked was very cool, quirky and imaginative if not quite luxurious. The decor and furnishings of our room and the reception, bar and dining area were impressive and well considered, but I guess we were target audience and I could imagine others would feel it pretentious or spartan. Definitely an acquired taste. More Dazed and Confused than Conde Nast.

The roof terrace would've truly come into it's own had we been there in summer rather than November and unfortunately, given the location, the view could've been Slough rather than Paris.

The location is not ideal. It's a slog to the nearest Metro, felt more so after a day walking round the city centre and a trek on the underground system is followed by a ten minute walk that;s something of a killer if you are going back and forth to the hotel over the course of the day. Another grip is the lack of a laundry service - I wanted a shirt ironed and while there was something resembling a cupboard on the fifth floor to do it myself the iron and ironing board were archaic and I gave up.

Overall very good, glad we stayed, but not mind blowing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NormanMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Since my last visit to MS I’ve raved to people about it. Book ahead and the prices are friendly (although the booking conditions aren’t). On my last visit I saw this as the hotel of the future – what do I think now?

The hotel is doing well and both the Pizza and Restaurant are busy. The hotel also seems to have encouraged a few other places to thrive, including the bar across the road.

Check-in was friendly enough, but noticeably in the hotel how you get treated is based on how hip you are. As I’m old, and potentially not hip so perhaps I didn’t do so well! One night for example I saw my pizza slowly cooling as the blonde waitress was chatted up at great length by someone far, far more hip than me. No doubt he will write a better review!

Inside the rooms are unchanged and that might be a problem. The MAC screen on the wall now looks a little dated, and the interface is perhaps limited. Perhaps that’s going to be the problem for MS. To be cutting edge – certainly from a technology point of view - needs constant refreshing. That isn’t a problem at the moment but in another year I’d suggest it’s all going to look a little less cool. When the wifi works it’s not bad, but it does stutter from time to time.

The area also hasn’t improved greatly. Here you get a little vision of the social impact of Europe's financial issues. There’s plenty of petty crime going on around, in particular in the metro station (just count the turnstile hopper) . On another night I saw knives drawn on the metro and on another a very loud and difficult drunk who was bothering people. So I’d suggest a little more care than usual. There isn’t anywhere compelling to eat in the area either.

At night the bar is buzzing, enough that there’s security on the door. Again, being hip helps, otherwise like me you’ll just need to wave your hotel door key!

MS is clearly successful and there was a TV crew filming when I was there. Sometimes though it’s style over function. For example the rooms are dark, and the opportunity for a little more light might help. Packing in the early morning in a dark room with a black carpet was interesting.

I’m not sure I will return (and the hotel will do just fine) and the main reason is the area. It has an edge to it and the Metro is a ten minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhileasFoggontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Love the design of the hotel...very chic. The room is large than usual Paris hotels, and the designs are sooo good. Loved the designs on the carpets, the writings on the lifts and on mirrors. Even the lamps are so cool. Didn't get to try the restaurant though, there're always lots of people. A bit of walk from the metro station . Oh, and i loved the iMac on the room...with free movies! i almost didn't wanna leave the hotel. :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanzzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here on a surprise trip to Paris, and was struck by it's great vibe the minute we arrived at the hotel. The lobby was full of trendy band types and was extremely atmospheric, we were already excited by the buzz in the bar and restaurant even early in the day. The staff were welcoming, even though we were arriving extremely early just to stow our bags, and showed us around the hotel before we were sent up to our funky room. Loved the little details like the Kiehls bodywash and the dark walls! This is not a typical hotel and perfect if you like to explore those less obvious hotels when travelling. We loved our stay here and will definitely go back. Hot tip is to buy a 10 pack of bus tickets and use the route directly outside the hotel to get around Paris, it sends you straight to the Louvre and is a much better way to get to/from Gare du Nord for airport connections. Oh and get some pizza!

The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that we got a frosty reception when leaving the hotel slightly later one morning (after we got engaged in Paris!) and were asked did we want our room serviced by the person on duty, who clearly wasn't impressed when we said yes. Made us feel a little uncomfortable, but is not a dealbreaker by any stretch!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firesuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A part from the fact that the three next metro stations are a bit of a walk, this is really a wonderful place to stay. Cool, funny, cozy, stylish design by Philippe Starck....rooms make you feel very much at home, nice linen, free Blockbusters to watch on the Mac on the wall, friendly receptionists and a very trendy restaurant/bar on the ground floor. But be sure to make a reservation for a table in case you would like to enjoy their great food in the evening. When we were there a cool DJ was on the turn table and it was packed. An amazing place and totally different! P.S. And our room was sooooo quiet - that was wonderful...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva_Maria_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel was a very swanky place. The inside is so different than any other hotel I have been in. The hotel staff are very friendly and extremely helpful in anything you might need. The hotel came with breakfast, which we never went to only because we slept in too late (we were there for a music festival) but the breakfast hours were very good: 7am-11am. The hotel restaurant looks very nice as well. The rooms are very dark, which can be a bit frustrating but it's part of what makes this hotel so unique. The bathroom is a bit small but both room and bathroom are very clean and comfortable. The TV in the room is great and comes with a large assortment of free movies. Although the hotel is a bit far from the center of town, it is walking distance from 2 Metro stops which get you where you need to go. There is also a great bar across the street, that is always crowded with people. This is a fun place to stay when travelling with friends and if you are with a young crowd.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
COQ Hotel Paris
COQ Hotel Paris
#139 of 1,803 in Paris
339 reviews
Hotel Henriette
#80 of 1,803 in Paris
617 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Nadaud Hotel
Nadaud Hotel
#595 of 1,803 in Paris
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#110 of 1,803 in Paris
627 reviews
Hotel Comete Paris
#41 of 1,803 in Paris
167 reviews
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#179 of 1,803 in Paris
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Shelter Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Shelter Paris

Address: 109 rue de Bagnolet, 75020 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#126 Business Hotel in Paris
#128 Family Hotel in Paris
#359 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $118 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Shelter Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic Saint Blaise neighborhood located in the heart of authentic Paris with its flowerlined cafe terraces, its gardens and its air rebellion, Mama Shelter welcomes you. Sensual and elegant the 172 rooms are equipped with Apple iMacs 27", video on demand (free) and 5 Star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets). They offer you a serene retreat after a long day in the city and an evening across the street at the mythic Parisian temple of international live music, La Fleche d'Or. Easy access to the Mama Shelter: in the heart of the 20th district, it is conveniently located 16 miles from Charles de Gaulle Airport and 12.5 Miles from Orly Airport. Otherwise, direct connection to the A3 Highway, or next to metro stations. Take a break in Mama Shelter and enjoy: Live Concerts, Cabaret Shows, DJs, Table Soccer, Boutique of Offbeat Products... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mama Shelter Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Shelter Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing