We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very trendy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama Shelter Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mama Shelter Paris
Ranked #360 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A very trendy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

A part from the fact that the three next metro stations are a bit of a walk, this is really a wonderful place to stay. Cool, funny, cozy, stylish design by Philippe Starck....rooms make you feel very much at home, nice linen, free Blockbusters to watch on the Mac on the wall, friendly receptionists and a very trendy restaurant/bar on the ground floor. But be sure to make a reservation for a table in case you would like to enjoy their great food in the evening. When we were there a cool DJ was on the turn table and it was packed. An amazing place and totally different! P.S. And our room was sooooo quiet - that was wonderful...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva_Maria_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    671
    175
    76
    48
See reviews for
134
643
102
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ranelagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel was a very swanky place. The inside is so different than any other hotel I have been in. The hotel staff are very friendly and extremely helpful in anything you might need. The hotel came with breakfast, which we never went to only because we slept in too late (we were there for a music festival) but the breakfast hours were very good: 7am-11am. The hotel restaurant looks very nice as well. The rooms are very dark, which can be a bit frustrating but it's part of what makes this hotel so unique. The bathroom is a bit small but both room and bathroom are very clean and comfortable. The TV in the room is great and comes with a large assortment of free movies. Although the hotel is a bit far from the center of town, it is walking distance from 2 Metro stops which get you where you need to go. There is also a great bar across the street, that is always crowded with people. This is a fun place to stay when travelling with friends and if you are with a young crowd.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Design is quite cool. Well thought, this building was a parking building before, building is adopted in very stylish way. Rooms are small, ceiling is really low. Bathroom could be bigger also. Instead of TV there are MAC computers and they are pretty loud on stand-by mode, cool thing is that when you turn it on it says your name loudly ;) Staff was ok.

What is really worth mentioning is absolutely great breakfast, one of the best I’ve ever had in a hotel. Restaurant menu is very limited, but pizzas there are absolutely great.
It is approx. 10 min walk to subway, there are 2 bars nearby (if you're unlucky they dysturb your sleep).

So, generally interesting hotel, worth considering if you like stylish, innovative design, but a bit pricy and not in the center of Paris.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olliemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and loved every minute of it. The decor is so stylish and fun, the rooms are clean and equipped with all the best stuff (Mac TV, Kiehl's toiletries). The breakfast is great and the restaurant serves really great rich Parisian food.

The location is perhaps off the beaten track, but it's close to a number of sights like Père Lachaise Cemetery (which is definitely worth a visit) and a short walk to a number of underground stations, so everything is easily accessible. The staff were very helpful and made our stay very comfortable. I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola1989UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Mama Shelter. The staff was friendly and helpful and our room was clean. I would strongly recommend to have breakfast or diner at their restaurant as well because the food and drinks were fantastic (and not very expensive for Paris standards) and it is also a wonderfully decorated place.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I think that 'Coolness' is this hotels main feature. The design, the location, the guests and staff - all cool. And you are paying for the coolness but for the most part it's worth it. The neighborhood is up and coming and cool but out there. Figure a 5-8min walk uphill to the nearest metro. So I wouldn't recommend this hotel to somebody visiting Paris for the 1st time. This is a 3rd-4th time, see the 'other' Paris kind of hotel. The rooms are a bit small but comfortable. They're kind of skimpy though on the towels and soaps. The WiFi is free but bit unreliable at times. Most of the hotel's attention & efforts goes on the cool lobby, bar and restaurant. At nights, the place is bumping with moneyed hipsters and people in the 'creative fields'. The bar is fun and makes good cocktails. The restaurant has really good food and you probably have to get on the metro to find anything that even comes close. Sunday Brunch is a must at this place! Trust me. The negative is the service - which is super friendly but medium to very inefficient at times (and this is by Paris standards!). A thing that annoyed me, was that they charged 5€ to call you a cab! Just to make the call. This is unacceptable for a hotel with such a location. I feel they should change this ASAP. This place is good but for the price and location needs to get through some growing pains. Still, it has strong positives. You honestly don’t have to go out to have a night out! I can recommend it especially for the more traveled and Philippe Starck fans out there.

Room Tip: There is a bar accross the street so maybe avoid a room towrds Rue De Bagnolet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSAASSHHAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Sure, as others have mentioned, this is a cool and trendy place alright. The bar and restaurant area is a great place to hang out, and I quite enjoyed the modern arty feel of it all. Still, I don't think that this makes up for the location (which really is kind of off). Staff was great though, and the deal we got was not bad.

Room size pretty average for Paris, with decent standard. I have no idea about the cleanliness - the room was simply too dark to tell. All in all, not bad, but I'm afraid I don't think I'll come back (to stay that is, the bar might be worth another visit).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Nadaud Hotel
Nadaud Hotel
#564 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Gobelins
COQ Hotel Paris
COQ Hotel Paris
#156 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#233 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Hotel Comete Paris
#146 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
#269 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Shelter Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Shelter Paris

Property: Mama Shelter Paris
Address: 109 rue de Bagnolet, 75020 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#126 Business Hotel in Paris
#129 Family Hotel in Paris
#172 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#360 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Shelter Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic Saint Blaise neighborhood located in the heart of authentic Paris with its flowerlined cafe terraces, its gardens and its air rebellion, Mama Shelter welcomes you. Sensual and elegant the 172 rooms are equipped with Apple iMacs 27", video on demand (free) and 5 Star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets). They offer you a serene retreat after a long day in the city and an evening across the street at the mythic Parisian temple of international live music, La Fleche d'Or. Easy access to the Mama Shelter: in the heart of the 20th district, it is conveniently located 16 miles from Charles de Gaulle Airport and 12.5 Miles from Orly Airport. Otherwise, direct connection to the A3 Highway, or next to metro stations. Take a break in Mama Shelter and enjoy: Live Concerts, Cabaret Shows, DJs, Table Soccer, Boutique of Offbeat Products... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mama Shelter Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Shelter Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing