We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mama Love”
Review of Mama Shelter Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mama Shelter Paris
Ranked #368 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels in Paris and this is my favourite. Generally I am here for work and although you have a short walk to the hotel I quite enjoy this. The area is safe at night and you walk along busy roads. Also if you have time there is the famous cemetery nearby Pere Lachaise, go look up Jim Morrison or Oscar Wilde.
Myself I love the hotel decor and as I am working I love the fact that when I get back to the hotel at night and I want to have a bit of fun I can just go downstairs to the bar/restaurant. Some nights it turns into a club with dj and of course you don't have the hassle of trying to find a cab to get home, just stagger upstairs ! And great cocktails too.
For what you get the hotel is very reasonable, ( book well in advance for best prices ) stylish decor, apple TV with free films and Kiehls shampoo and coriander body wash, what more could a girl want. Oh and a black arum lily in your phillipe starck bathroom ! and if you get bored you could always read the carpet. My only complaint was I needed to do a bit of work in the room one night and the lighting was a problem. The option of an overhead light would have been most welcome. Also final piece of advice, open the curtains in the morning to check for your black underwear on the black carpet, I nearly left mine there !

Room Tip: try book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,874 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2011

OUI! The decor, styling, uber-smiley and ultra-professional staff, fantastic food, tasty (and strong!) cocktails, internet access in every room, cleanliness, location, size, the enormous plush double bed, the power shower - even the complimentary olive oil shower gel was way better than anything else you'd find.

I find it very hard to agree with previous reviews about the inherent problems of it not being near a metro stop - come on people, there's nothing wrong with walking now and again; work off some of that privileged living and enjoy the sights and sounds of Bagnolet while you stroll!

Yes, the hotel is dark - but that's the whole point. Too many hotels are clinically lit, with all the ambience of an operating theatre. Not Mama though - beautiful surroundings in every way. If you don't like avant-garde interior design which stimulates the senses and challenges what you think you know, stay somewhere else. On the other hand, if you're looking for something truly unique, book in with Mama and drink it in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UpFlatDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This was an interesting hotel, with good and bad. The obvious difficulty if you are planning to go sight seeing is the location. It is at least a 15 minute walk from the metro - even unencumbered by luggage and assuming you head off in the right direction. Coming from the Alexandre Dumas metro is easily enough navigated - you come up onto Rue de Bagnolet. From Gambetta can be trickier unless you are familiar with the area because you come up into a square with roads going everywhere...

The youthful exuberance of the staff is great and they do try to make you feel welcome. My room was not ready when I arrived a little early, but it did become a nuisance when it was still not ready 45 minutes after check in time. I wanted to get out and about so left my bags.

As others have said the rooms are dark. I didn't mind, but with the lighting there is it was annoying to have to ind individual switches to turn them off!

I found the room spacious enough and the showers and facilities were excellent. The entertainment set up is great with free extras - including free recent release movies (note:including some naughty ones). The restaurant was excellent for dinner...it is a popular place and the crowd were all enjoying themselves thoroughly. Mama serves a great breakfast, the largest selection I've seen in a hotel in this price range, and again, the enthusiasm of the staff is noteworthy.

Overall I enjoyed my stay. I probably will not return but will find somewhere closer to a metro stop.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is my second review of this hotel, in the 20th arrondisement of Paris (east). I have stayed at this establishment three times while working, and once with my wife for her birthday.

This hotel is run spectacularly. Amel, Bruno, Sabine, and the rest of the team are incredibly professional, friendly, and on top of things. The staff go out of their way to make everyone feel comfortable, welcome, and at home ... despite being a large hotel, it is serene and quiet in the rooms (affording a great opportunity to work if needed). My wife commented on this last trip how she felt that everyone working at the hotel was young and vibrant, while still being very courteous and professional - I totally agree. Guests feel relaxed and at ease.

The rooms continue to be fantastic - small, clean, great internet/tv/movies, a large and bright bathroom with nice products. There is a laundry if needed, taxis can be called at a moment's notice, and for those of us who love to ride, there is a Velib station directly across from the hotel. Although lacking a gym, there is a Club Med Gym two blocks away where one can purchase a day pass.

One of the other fantastic benefits of this hotel is the restaurant and bar. A delicious and fresh menu prevails, with a great wine and beverage selection. When working I customarily sit at the bar and have a quick, late dinner - the service is always attentive and fun and SUPER quick if need be - while the food is always delicious and beautifully presented.

We salute the Mama team for all that they do - I always feel like a special guest at this hotel, which feels distinctly 'un-Parisian', yet offers the very best that Paris can be! Bravo -

Harley

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Design-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We are a young couple who stayed in one of the cheaper rooms on a recent trip to Paris. Mama Shelter is pretty well priced - for a boutique hotel in Paris it is comparatively cheap - but what you save in accomodation price you lose in time travelling. Mama Shelter is really too far out of the city centre to make it in any way convenient. The bus system is okay and the metro is nearby but really you are looking at at least 30 minutes travel time to get to central sites. We signed up to the Velib bike scheme which was great and there are terminals near the hotel. Besides from the location Mama Shelter is a pretty cool spot. The pizzeria and restaurant downstairs are gorgeous and serve the most incredible food. The rooms are quite dark (a design feature) which makes it difficult to get ready for a night out but the beds are incredibly comfortable, the tvs are great and the movie selection is really good - not to mention the power showers. All in all it's a lovely hotel that is quite difficult to leave for so many reasons. I'm glad I stayed there just to see Phillippe Starck's work of art, but I would not recommend it to a friend. There are definitely better places to stay in Paris. The airport shuttle seems like a good deal though, especially for bigger groups.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DarkRomeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

From the minute you walk in, this place is in one word, cool. I found the size of the room to be pretty nice and the styling was so different but also calming. The black walls were very calming and gave the room an urban vibe. The bathroom was a good size. Everything was clean and the design was modern. The elevators had cool facts to read as you went up to your floor. The hotel is a bit out of the way of the things to do in Paris but it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the Metro which was good. I would absolutely stay here again for the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goodmorningirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

yes, it is dark and yes, the rooms are small but it's a perfect spot for open minded people who like it little different. the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quiet and clean and at a good price for Paris.
We have not been to the restaurant but we really enjoyed the pizzeria. pretty good for not italian! there is a bus station right in front of the hotel so you can leave the car in the hotel garage and hop on the bus that brings you straight to Louvre via hotel de ville. What more you want for a sightseeing trip?
if I got it right from the Paris people I know the concept of the hotel is: building a stylish place in an arrondissement which is still affordable. So it is the 20th. But you have everything around like bars, brasseries and stores if you need anything around.
our kids liked it as well. Philippe Starck is fun for kids and extras like the mac with TV, radio, heaps of DVDs & internet makes a trip round. We can recommend. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank samiweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
COQ Hotel Paris
COQ Hotel Paris
#153 of 1,804 in Paris
380 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Paris Gambetta
Hotel Paris Gambetta
#1,341 of 1,804 in Paris
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Henriette
#79 of 1,804 in Paris
677 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#128 of 1,804 in Paris
644 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Les Plumes Hotel
Les Plumes Hotel
#203 of 1,804 in Paris
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Shelter Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Shelter Paris

Address: 109 rue de Bagnolet, 75020 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#125 Business Hotel in Paris
#128 Family Hotel in Paris
#358 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $115 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Shelter Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic Saint Blaise neighborhood located in the heart of authentic Paris with its flowerlined cafe terraces, its gardens and its air rebellion, Mama Shelter welcomes you. Sensual and elegant the 172 rooms are equipped with Apple iMacs 27", video on demand (free) and 5 Star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets). They offer you a serene retreat after a long day in the city and an evening across the street at the mythic Parisian temple of international live music, La Fleche d'Or. Easy access to the Mama Shelter: in the heart of the 20th district, it is conveniently located 16 miles from Charles de Gaulle Airport and 12.5 Miles from Orly Airport. Otherwise, direct connection to the A3 Highway, or next to metro stations. Take a break in Mama Shelter and enjoy: Live Concerts, Cabaret Shows, DJs, Table Soccer, Boutique of Offbeat Products... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mama Shelter Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Shelter Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing