We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff, noisy room”
Review of Hotel Bellan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bellan
Ranked #1,393 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude staff, noisy room”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. We found the staff to be most unfriendly. You have to turn your key in at reception each time you leave and collect it when you return. We were not told this so when we left for the first time after checking in the man behind the desk started yelling and clicking at us to give him our key. Another time we went out and no one was behind the front desk so we took our key with us for the day. When we returned to the hotel later on that evening we got told off by the man behind the desk. We were woken up both mornings before 8 am by construction workers. This hotel is noisy, smelly and we did not feel safe here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    33
    3
    17
See reviews for
15
36
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Way too expensive, tiny rooms. 100+ USD A NIGHT for an extremely cramped space. You have to turn in your key every time you leave the hotel, making it awkward and difficult to come back late. The night staff sleeps and are obviously annoyed by late returns to the hotel. We arrived at 2 AM after a long and tiring journey, after already paying a large deposit, and our third guest was denied a spot on the floor, even after offering to pay. He told us "It is not possible for three, the room is for two," even though the guest was more than willing to pay and sleep on the floor. We were forced to wander the streets of Paris in the early hours of the morning searching for another room, after pleading and begging for sympathy. Our blankets were removed after the first day, leaving only stiff and starchy sheets. No clean linens or towels were exchanged. Every single noise in the vicinity of the hotel can be heard throughout the night (other guests in the bathroom, #1 and # 2, toilets flushing, guests speaking in other rooms). HOTEL PRICES, CHEAP HOSTEL QUALITY. I regret our stay in this hotel and wished we would have chosen a cheaper and most likely higher quality hostel. What a disappointment! I wish this place matches the charm and excitement of the city. Come on Hotel Bellan, you are serving us (for a large price), we are not serving you!

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregs9201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Hotel Bellan is what it is. Simple, basic, small rooms, tiny bathroom, no elevator - or to say it in marketing terms, rustic.
But location is perfect. You're in the heart of Paris just off Rue Montorguell in 3rd Arr. and rooms are cheap for that location.

AND our room was clean, beds were fine, the room had both TV, closet and safe. And staff was friendly.
So you can live with the size and simplicity because you just exit the hotel and enter Paris.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yetanothervacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Hotel Bellan is a charming, cozy and safe European-style hotel with a welcoming staff and a warm atmosphere. It's tucked away in the 2nd arrondissement, centrally located to metro stops and blocks away from Parisian cafe culture, boutiques and museums. True travelers will enjoy their stay at Hotel Bellan.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sn0wkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Originally booked for 4 nights, left after one. Tried to get refunded for at least part of our reservation; the owner told us it was our fault we were unsatisfied with the hotel. The sheets were stained, no emergency exit, exposed wires caused by construction, very unfriendly and unhelpful staff. Please do not stay here; the website is inaccurate, we felt uncomfortable and unsafe, and the owner refused any compensation for our troubles.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbellan, Propriétaire at Hotel Bellan, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
We are very sorry for all these unpleasantness. We have now another manager who is trying his best to satisfy our guests. If you come back to Paris we'll be glad to offert you one night free.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Zora
Hotel Zora
#1,191 of 1,801 in Paris
18 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Bachaumont
Hotel Bachaumont
#186 of 1,801 in Paris
306 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Appi Hotel
Appi Hotel
#1,626 of 1,801 in Paris
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel du Cygne
Hotel du Cygne
#1,070 of 1,801 in Paris
189 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Timhotel Palais Royal Louvre
Timhotel Palais Royal Louvre
#849 of 1,801 in Paris
432 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia
Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia
#188 of 1,801 in Paris
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellan

Property: Hotel Bellan
Address: 20 rue Leopold Bellan | 02 Arr., 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,393 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bellan 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing