We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Budget Hotel”
Review of Solar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Solar Hotel
Ranked #1,001 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We booked this hotel from Canada by e-mail on the advice of a friend of a friend. Our only complaint is that it took several e-mails before they responded. Things went smoothly after that.

We were traveling as a group of 4 (two adults and two kids) and asked for adjacent rooms, which were provided. We had a problem with the toilet in one of the rooms, and the staff moved us upstairs into two adjacent rooms. They reduced our bill because of the problem.

We thought this hotel was a reasonable price at €55 per night for one queen size bed. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. The best part of this hotel is its location. It is in a residential neighborhood in Montparnasse. It is just around the corner from the lively Rue Daguerre, with quite a few shops and good restaurants (try the creperie and patisserie, both excellent). It is two blocks to the Denfert-Rochereau Metro station (the Paris transit system is excellent). All in all, a very good place to stay if you want to see the real Paris.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lookingforadeal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 227 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2008

This is a dishonest hotel -- actually we didn't really stay in this hotel. We reserved a room online and received an email confirmation from the hotel. The day we went there we already had a terrible day at Pisa when our flight was cancelled, and when we finally arrived at this hotel at around 9:30pm the man there said the hotel was full! He refused to check his email (of course he wouldn't dare to! and too bad we didn't bring the email along -- but what's the use?) and kept saying that it must be a misunderstanding (even though we saw our names on the list and pointed it out to him he still said it was a MISUNDERSTANDING!), and then he called another (shabby) hotel for a room. We had no choice because it was already passed 9:30pm -- that shabby hotel's price was higher and took no credit card and this further upset our trip plan. Obviously Hotel des Voyageurs overbooked itself and then sent guests to other “conspired” hotels. We are not rich, it's difficult to get long holidays and had to travel for 10+ hours to Europe, and the experience totally destroyed our hard-earned vacation -- we are so angry that we don't think we would visit Paris again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
3  Thank peterhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
Thank carolineneveu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Charlotte J, Community manager at Solar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jean louis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Charlotte J, Community manager at Solar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marbarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Charlotte J, Community manager at Solar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Aurore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Charlotte J, Community manager at Solar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Charlotte J, Community manager at Solar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel du Lion
Hotel du Lion
#649 of 1,805 in Paris
471 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Sophie Germain
Hotel Sophie Germain
#543 of 1,805 in Paris
150 reviews
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Suites & Hotel Helzear Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
#439 of 1,805 in Paris
737 reviews
Montparnasse
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
#753 of 1,805 in Paris
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Hotel

Address: 22 rue Boulard | 14th Arr, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $95 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Solar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89€ for both single and double rooms Solar Hotel is the first low-cost urban ecological hotel. In this spirit we have a single price for all our rooms and it includes not only breakfast but also access to computers, internet, phones and bicycles. 89€ for either a single or a double room, with absolutely everything included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Solar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Voyageurs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing