We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Bervic Montmartre
Ranked #1,700 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Simple but good and clean hotel. Good value for the price! I would recommed it especially for young travellers and backpackers and people travelling on budget.

POSITIVES:
- room and bathroom very clean, room service every day - very much surprised
- breakfast simple but tasty
- located just next to a metro station
- close to Sacre Coer and Moulin Rouge
- friendly and helpful staff, speak basic English
- nice historical building, we had a rooms with a balcony
- a fastfood restaurant just next to the hotel
- towels provided

NEGATIVES:
- no door which would separate the bathroom from the rest of the room, which was quite strange!!!!!!
- a bit noisy area but we didn't mind
- in the evening there are strange people around the metro station trying to sell you something, the best is to ignore them

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petka49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Le Bervic Montmartre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 179 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 6, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

If you looking for a hotel for one night it is ok, or if you are backpacking who wants a cheap hotel and just a bed. The area is called Africa and people will trying to sell you something every time. Lots of foreigners, and I'm not sure what they doing. Not a good place

They got one point for the service of the personal of the hotel, was very kind and helpful to us.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neskri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I have no idea which one is worse, Bervic or HRS. HRS has respond my email/call at the very beginning , and then, my several email not answered, calls not returned. The worst, my money not returned for 3 months.

I booked Bervic this may, and finally canceled teh reservation 4 or 5 days ahead of the deadline through HRS, via which the hotel was booked as well.

When I back home from EURO by the end of May, i found 1 night was charged by Bervic hotel. The HRS email can help me to explain the rest of the story as below

From: (--)
To: choubb2001@yahoo.com
Sent: Monday, May 25, 2009 3:32:39 PM
Subject: HRS booking 1420616

Dear Mrs / Mr ,xxx

We are sorry for the inconvieniences concerning the improper creditcard
charge. The cancellation was sent properly from ourside.

We have contacted the Hotelmanagement concerning the charge and would like
to inform you that they will refund the amount back shortly.
Mr.Kaguci duty Manager - wants to apologize for the inconveniences.
Please check the transaction details on next Credit Card Statement and
contact us if there is no reflection of this refund in the statement.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and sincerely hope that you
will still allow us to be of service in the future.

Best regards and Greetings from Cologne

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed July 29, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Our hotel was in the part of paris that felt like a flea market mixed with a war zone..

Hundred of people would sell fake bags, cigarettes, drugs etc on streets nearby, other homeless people would sleep on window sills a street away.

It was also far from every site except sacre coer church (that was 5 mins walk)

Toilet had no seat, handle of shower was broken and room was small.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

I stayed at this hotel with two friends in mid November of 2008. It was a very last minute booking and so we were just relieved to find somewhere within our budget on such short notice. We paid on average €25 a night each which wasn't too bad, although there was no breakfast and no possibility of it either. But you do get what you pay for.

First of all the hotel is in one of the cheaper, seedier areas of Paris. As soon as you walk out of the metro station (Barbes Rochechouart) you will be presented with men trying to sell you items on street corners (mainly cigarettes – Marlboro Reds anyone?). They’re not very pushy - just ignore them and you'll be fine. Don't be surprised if you see many people jump the gate for the metro, that's the kind of place this is. The area is full of tacky bridal shops, gaudy jewellers and cheap electrical stores, if that gives you any kind of idea of who lives there.
The good thing is that there are plenty of cafés and restaurants in which to eat (there's a 'Quick' a cheaper French version of MacDonalds on the corner of Bervic street, if you feel really cheap) and there are two large supermarkets less than a minute away (Champion to the north and another at the south end of Rue de Clingacourt). There's also a bank (BNP Paribas) a couple of streets behind the hotel (where Rue de Sofia meets Boulevard Barbes) with ATMs inside so you don't have to worry about your credit card details being stolen. If you want to buy any French DVDs or CDs there’s a Virgin Megsatores part of the way up Boulevard Barbes. I found a very good bakery about 3 or 4 minutes away towards the Sacré Coeur (on the south end of Rue Ramey) which was great for getting a cheap but delicious breakfast. You are less than 5 minutes walk away from the front of the Sacré Coeur, but if you've been there before you can just climb up the steps that run down along the east of the building allowing you to skip past all the hordes of tourists (and various salesmen trying to make a quick buck off them) and avoid climbing all those steps.
Best of all the metro station is only a couple of street crosses away so it should never take more than about 30 minutes to get anywhere you like in Paris (taking the pink line #4 you can be in the city's absolute centre in about 10 minutes without having to change line). I had been warned by a French person not to use the blue line (#2) but I went on it (alone) a few times and had no problems. There’s always a risk on any Parisian metro line of getting pick pocketed (at rush hour times you will have to squeeze into the cars like tinned sardines, and that’s the time when you run the biggest risk of having something stolen) so just be aware of that and keep your valuables safely and securely tucked away but somewhere where you can keep an eye on them (i.e. not in a back pocket or in an outer pocket of a backpack, unless you hold it in front of you and watch it at all times). Just be careful at night, coming off the metro into the street – don’t delay in getting to the hotel because there is always a risk that someone will try to steal your wallet in the rather poorly lit streets. If you're very late (after the time that the metro stops – the last trains run from about 12:30 to 1am) chances are that the receptionist will be asleep so you'll have to knock on the window to be left in - just try to be quick because the street isn't the safest that late (although I found that it was fine during the daytime, if a little crowded).

The staff were very friendly and helpful, although we spoke to them in French so they hadn’t any need to speak another language (but as I took it the two that we saw during the daytime had at least basic English). Like in virtually all hotels there is a stand with various leaflets advertising tourist sites and attractions, and some of the information came in handy. They had no problem looking after our bags for us the afternoon after we had checked out.

The room was cleaned every day (that included a Sunday and a French National Holiday) – the beds were made, towels changed, and bin emptied although I doubt that there was any sweeping or dusting during our stay, as the crumbs that we left on the table in the corner of the room the first morning stayed there for the whole 5 days. Items were moved in the room (to make cleaning easier) but nothing was stolen (although we left nothing valuable in the room save our passports).

The room itself was basic. We stayed in a 3 person room, which I take it was one of the larger rooms – pacing the narrow corridor some of the other rooms seemed very small indeed. It came with a bathroom (toilet, sink and shower) which was shabby but sufficiently clean. We never lacked hot water although we only seemed to shower at very unconventional times of the day. The only major problem with the bathroom was that there was no door separating it from the rest of the bedroom and that the window was nailed shut (although there was a vent on the window which allowed for air circulation). If you don’t have a bathroom there’s a communal toilet on every floor, and there’s only about 6 rooms per floor anyway. The rest of the room was adequately sized with a double and a single bed, a wardrobe a small desk area and a chair.
The full length window looked out unto a small sort of balcony area. This was more of a nuisance than a perk – if you’re sensitive to noise then you will not sleep well here. You could, perhaps, ask if you could have a room that looks unto the dingy courtyard at the back of the hotel – not a pretty view but you’d probably hear a lot less noise. The blue metro line actually runs outside (not underground) for that particular portion of the line so you will hear it (although it stops before 1am). That is not the main problem, though. Police drive by every now and then, and there are occasional people shouting outside. Our window did not close properly, nor did the old metal shutters outside it – we had to try and tie them together with string, but any gush of wind would send them flying open again, leaving light and noise from the street pour in (there were no curtains).
Another potential problem, also, was the cold. There was one ancient radiator next to the door (far away from the draughty window) which was little use at heating up the room. Perhaps it would be warmer in one of the small single rooms, though. Not a problem in the summer, I imagine, when one would be delighted for some fresh air and a cooling breeze from outside, but we were relatively lucky that it wasn’t a very cold week when we stayed in mid November –because it must be freezing there in the heart of winter.
Surprisingly there was a decently sized flat screen television on the wall so it was nice to look at that if we were very bored (although we hardly used it). The television was plugged into one of only 2 available plugs in the room (which is a bit of a nuisance if there are 3 of you), though, and the only decent one at that, so we had to unplug it if we wanted to recharge anything. So it would be a good idea to bring some sort of multiple adapter plug with you. The second plug was crudely attached to the end of the over-sink light in the bathroom which was awkward.
Also the room had been newly repainted meaning that it had nice, bright white walls, but that the paint fumes hadn’t yet left the room which really annoyed one of my roommates (meaning that we had to sleep with the window open making it even colder). But at least the wood effect linoleum floor was something cleanable and not a germ-ridden carpet. Also, there are 5 storeys in the hotel with no elevator (obviously) so it’s quite a climb up that spiral staircase if you’re near the top.

Overall this hotel was not that bad – in a seedy but in many ways convenient location (particularly for transport). The room wasn’t great but we slept in it at least. Paris is a city where you should be out and about discovering things, not wasting piles of money on a hotel room (when you could be spending that money on an excursion or some shopping), and so in that respect this hotel, being very affordable and conveniently next to a metro station servicing 2 lines, fit the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ciunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,529 of 1,804 in Paris
75 reviews
Montmartre
Plug-Inn Hostel
Plug-Inn Hostel
#927 of 1,804 in Paris
453 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,520 of 1,804 in Paris
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Ermitage
Hotel Ermitage
#1,408 of 1,804 in Paris
143 reviews
Ibis Budget Paris Nord 18eme
#1,487 of 1,804 in Paris
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bervic Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bervic Montmartre

Address: 4 rue Bervic, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,700 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $47 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Le Bervic Montmartre 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Bervic Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bervic Montmartre Paris
Le Bervic Montmartre Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing