We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect, if pricey, patisserie”

Bakery & deli-cafe bread and roses
Ranked #96 of 288 Bakeries in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Cafe, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect, if pricey, patisserie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stopped off here to warm up on a grey afternoon in Paris. Some of the pastries were very expensive (e.g. raspberry macarons at €6.50 to take out or €8.50 to eat in) but we enjoyed far more reasonably priced pain au chocolat (€2.90) with our coffee. The service was discreet but friendly, the atmosphere was lovely, and the pain au chocolat were an absolutely perfect balance of flakey outside and soft inside, extremely fresh. It would be very bad for my waistline to live near this place!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelcotterill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    36
    14
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pricey but perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

It's a tiny but airy cafe / deli, serving simple but tasty breakfasts and lunches that were artworks.

It wasn't somewhere to go every day though - a cafe latte cost 6 euros! Happily, everything was beautiful and delicious, especially the croissant served with gorgeous organic jam.

It also has a lovely ambience - the sweet, chirpy and charmingly polite girl serving us along with banter from the other staff and the boss in a spotless pale pink shirt made it feel like a scene from the film Amelie!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly_M_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a second trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Great restaurant for foodies. Wonderful meals and yes, definitely expensive but sharing is a good way to go as the portions are generous. Our first visit was for brunch on a Saturday and my daughter had a number of salads and I had the mushroom quiche (the crust was to die for). It was crowded but service was prompt and pleasant. We went back a few days later for lunch and shared the salads.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paristraveler202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SUPER RESTAURANT! AMAZING FOOD, GREAT SERVICE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Bread & Roses at Rue Boissy d'Anglais is one of my favorite restaurants in Paris!!! I LOVE EVERYTHING about this restaurant!

See my whole review with pictures here! http://www.mylucky9.com/taste/restaurant-bread-roses-in-paris

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“The bread was very good and the quiche was one of the best I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

The two main cons are that the sit down space is small and the restaurant is pricey for the volume of food that is served.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Saginaw94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakery & deli-cafe bread and roses also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Bakery & deli-cafe bread and roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing