We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a second trip”

Bakery & deli-cafe bread and roses
Ranked #94 of 272 Bakeries in Paris
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a second trip”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Great restaurant for foodies. Wonderful meals and yes, definitely expensive but sharing is a good way to go as the portions are generous. Our first visit was for brunch on a Saturday and my daughter had a number of salads and I had the mushroom quiche (the crust was to die for). It was crowded but service was prompt and pleasant. We went back a few days later for lunch and shared the salads.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paristraveler202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    36
    14
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SUPER RESTAURANT! AMAZING FOOD, GREAT SERVICE!”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Bread & Roses at Rue Boissy d'Anglais is one of my favorite restaurants in Paris!!! I LOVE EVERYTHING about this restaurant!

See my whole review with pictures here! http://www.mylucky9.com/taste/restaurant-bread-roses-in-paris

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“The bread was very good and the quiche was one of the best I've ever had”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The two main cons are that the sit down space is small and the restaurant is pricey for the volume of food that is served.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Saginaw94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ridiculously pricy!”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I paid 33 euro for a cheese burger....on top of that the burger was close to "tartare". I believe I should have been asked if Iwanted it medium or rare.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank irz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
112 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just not nice people, again”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My daughter and I stopped by the Madeleine restaurant for a break from shopping, just before noon. They were setting up the tables for lunch and the place was about half empty. Despite this they refused to sit us at a table and directed us to the bar. This may have been fine were it not for the fact that my daughter is obviously handicapped and would not fare well teetering on a bar stool. France's attitude towards the handicapped strikes again. Can't say what the food is like but would discourage you from going. Just not nice. (Ironically, this place shares the name with a wonderful organization that cares for fragile and isolated people).

  • Visited November 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pedralbes74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakery & deli-cafe bread and roses also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Bakery & deli-cafe bread and roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing