We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”

L'Atelier du Marche
Reserve with
L'Atelier du Marche is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,157 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $24 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Batignolles-Monceau
Description: The French cuisine we like! Nothing fancy, a selection of fresh products, a warm and cosy 'bistrot' ambiance, where regular guests love to come and have a drink (or two!!). Here we only serve what we like, and the wine list is wide!
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a lovely meal here while visiting Paris in early April 2013.
The place was very busy, with locals and tourists alike.
The did have an english menu, which they give you when you come in. However, there are french menus on the wall which list items not outlined on the english menu. I speak a little french and so was able to translate the bulk of what was available, and when we asked the server helped us with the rest.
There were some minor delays in service, and the fact that they gave us the english menu without letting us know there were other items available (again, I only knew this because I could read the menus displayed on the walls) made us feel a little bit out of place as "foreigners."
However, the wine and food were nice, the ambiance was good, and the price was very reasonable. (You could order a starter and main, or a main and dessert, or have the 3 courses for a set price.)
It was quite noisy when we were there and the tables are close together; I'd recommend it as a great place to go with a group of friends or family, to kick back, have some great wine and a hearty meal.
Don't skip dessert... It was delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelsinheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    71
    18
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Traditional unpretentious food and relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Small place, reasonable menu (yes you have to read the French one, but it's not that hard and the waiter is happy to explain that "souris d'agneau" is actually entirely mouse-free). Friendly proprietress, prompt service. I had the salade aux endives (delicious) and the said souris d'agneau (very tasty); my colleague tried the cassoulet which looked reasonable if a bit small. We both indulged in the "pain perdu facon grandmere" for dessert, which was real nursery comfort food. Choice of house wines a bit limited. Reasonably priced, if you don't drink too much.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlonsoTheMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
719 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Recommended by our concierge, but a little disappointed”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We asked our concierge for a recommendation for a classically French bistro and this is where he recommended. It is a small bistro but not so classically French. I did get the Duck Confit which was good but most of the dishes were not typical. The service was good and the decor is interesting but was not quite up to our expectations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krandy21784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yummy comfort food”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Wonderful food, ambiance, and service! We took in a late meal (9ish) on a Monday night and no problem getting a table for two outside. Reading the other reviews on TA we asked for the French menu which was placed in front of us written out on a chalkboard, there were items on the board not listed on the English menu. Wife started with the ravioli which tasted like heaven, was not what she was expecting, more like a layered pasta in a shallow dish that was baked...very good. I had the beef Carpaccio that almost melted in your mouth. Following the 1st course was the veal chop with mushrooms sauce w/ baked potato and steak w/ béarnaise. For desert, can't remember what it was called but it was a huge piece of vanilla cake with whipped cream, they brought out the whole bottle Saint James rum and another with bottle vanilla syrup and a bowl or crushed nuts as a garnish. We actually forgot our camera there and went back after they closed. They were so nice to leave a post-it-note on the window saying "we have your camera" and we were able to pick up the next day, classy move....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stadiaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
509 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

You can't ask for any better place that this. We just loved this place. It's not that big so you must get there before 8 PM. The night we ate here people were lined up to get a table when we left. The food is very good and the service excellent. They have separate menus in english but the menu in french has other items not included on the english menu. This has to do with how often the english menus are printed. So you could miss out on some really yummy choices. Of course look at the specials board up on the wall, they are in french but our waiter was very willing to translate for us. We had a wonderful meal and thoroughly enjoyed our evening here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vsattui123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atelier du Marche also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Atelier du Marche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing