We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of far but met a lot of interesting people at this hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #6 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kind of far but met a lot of interesting people at this hostel”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

It is a little far from the popular tourist destination but the facility is good and looked clean. There were a lot of people there so it was easy to mingle.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    489
    183
    56
    43
See reviews for
21
118
506
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We chose this hostel to stay in Paris because of its absolutely high ratings and glowing reviews, and we weren't disappointed at all.

The place had superb lively ambience, youthful guests and staff, ample space and clean bathrooms. Its a good place to unwind and at the same time meet interesting people. Location was good and metro station was a 2 minutes walk. There was a bar where a live band played late into the night.

All in all it was a delightful experience. Would go there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R_A86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This is my second time I stayed in a hostel. DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 502(the room next to the handy cap bathroom) -it was mοldy. The staff was incredible helpful, the price was kinda expensive. A lot of young people everywhere. Near a station, breackfast not so bad. cereal,coffee,tea,milk,,baggettes,butter and jam.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anastasia_ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The best part about this hostel is the design of the rooms. The bunk beds each have a curtain to provide privacy which is a pretty rare thing in a hostel. Each bed has its own light, power outlet and under the bed there is a cage for storing your luggage. But beware only really large padlocks can be used on the cages to secure your belongings. They have female dorms which is great and the bathrooms are clean and well designed with hooks and a small bench for your belongings inside each cubicle. The breakfast is included which is good but the food is quite basic, cereal and baguettes. There is a bar downstairs but you don't hear much noise from the bedrooms above. The wifi is hit and miss particularly during during busy periods. The hostel location is abit out of town but the closest metro stop is just at the end of the street. All in all a very modern, well designed hostel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

After reading reviews of this place on Trip Advisor, I thought we had found a gem. After staying there for 5 nights, we were definitely wrong. The hostel is kind of a hike from anywhere interesting in the city (about 20 min walk to the Nord/Est stations). The lockers in the rooms are underneath the bunks and have metal springs/hinges so that whenever someone else needs to get to their bag, it's practically guaranteed to wake up everyone else in the room. Staff and facilities were a disappointment. They made us check out after the first night and then check back in on the second day because of a computer glitch, which they acknowledged. In our second room, a fuse had blown so no one could use their power outlets, i.e. charge any of their cameras. The bathrooms were clean if you got there after the cleaning ladies arrived, but if you went late at night, they were pretty bad.

And all this for a pretty high price. I know it's Paris, but if you're travelling with at least 1 other person, I'm sure you're better off just getting a hotel room in the city. As we walked the streets, the hotels had their prices posted in the windows and it was clear to me that we overpaid to stay at St. Christopher's.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve15182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The hostel is a great place with lots of people enjoying their time at the bar/lobby/library/etc. The room is great and the curtains at the bed really helped us to have some privacy. Room is only accessible to card holders, which is good. The bathroom is well designed, modern look but some floor scrubbing is probably needed.

The luggage keeping room was a mess. Visitor's bags were all over the place. No one actually watch over your luggage. We've lost one of our bags there and the staff did little to help nor did he show any concern. That's about the only downside of our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahmanhashim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I love this place, this was my second trip and I loved it just as much.
The only slight negative was that unlike the last time I was there where I had a stand up locker in the room, I had one where it was a cage under the bed.
It was awkward to get in and out of and my luggage lock wasnt big enough so I had to hire one of the lockers downstairs for my valuables. Most people didn't bother though, its a pretty safe place.
All in all another fab time at St Christophers!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubahel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France Albion
Hotel France Albion
#258 of 1,800 in Paris
1,025 reviews
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 173 in Paris
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Property: St Christopher's Canal Paris
Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing