We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquitoes took over my Parisian trip! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #5 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mosquitoes took over my Parisian trip! ”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This is not a walkable hostel to any of the sites. Location is decent, breakfast included is always good. I do notice that there are people coming off the street to enjoy a free breakie as well. Wifi is weak in areas of the hostel. Really loud at night as there is a club downstairs, they get really rowdy. Make sure you bring your own earplugs as the ones provided are not great.

Another thing, there is no air conditioning here and it gets really hot so you must open the windows. Since it is next to a canal, there are lots of mosquitoes! Avoid this place if you are the type that gets bitten all the time. Unfortunately I have 26+ bites at the moment. If you must stay here, opt for a thin flat sheet, that might help. I can confirm I'm not the only one with mosquito issues as there are a lot of mosquito blood stains on my bunk ceiling

Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for writing a review for us, we always love hearing feedback from our guests as it's what helps us continually develop our services to our guests. Whilst our location means you're not walking distance to the Eiffel Tower, we are of course located smack bang on the Canal l'Ourcq and are a few minutes walk from the Buttes Chaumont and Parc de la Villette, three of Paris's best summer hangouts. We're also a twenty minute metro ride from locations such as Notre Dame, the Louvre and Sacre Coeur, even less if you jump on a velib! Unfortunately, being right on the canal in summer does mean there are mosquitoes about, and we completely understand your frustration if you're prone to being bitten! We hope you found some mosquito repellent and managed to get a good sleep.

Kind Regards,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    485
    181
    54
    42
See reviews for
21
119
497
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Overall the hostel itself was no problem. The room was clean with a sink and a community bathroom. A basic breakfast was provided. You can take a short walk (5 -10 min) to the metro to get to the major sites. This was our first time in Paris so we wanted to see the major attractions, so overall the location was not ideal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xstina122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello,

Thank so much for the review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time in our bar and hostel. In regards to location, we have a wide array of transport options just minutes away to help you get to all the main sites in all four directions of the city, such as metro bus and velib which can get you into the very centre of the city in a matter of minutes. We always suggest the velib's in Paris, they're fast, fun, and a great way to see Paris!

Kind Regards,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Pros:
- Good standard. Pretty new rooms, curtains in front of the bed, socket and light for each bed, plus storage drawers under the bed that you could lock with your own lock.
- Day trips, I took the one to Versailles. REMEMBER if you take the trip: Pick up you ticket in the reception! I did not get info about that when I preordered online, so I had to buy a new ticket at Versailles and get it refunded at the hostel afterwards.
- Good wifi connection.
- Easy to meet people in the common areas (bar downstairs, and a computer/relax room).
- Quiet on the 1st floor, even though there's a bar downstairs.

Cons:
- Bit far from the city centre, around 500 m to the metro though.
- Would not cancel my order for 1 hot breakfast when I got there, even though I had sent a mail about it (they don't answer their mails) and the reason for my cancellation was because I had booked a trip to Versailles. Hot breakfast is NOT worth ordering in advance, you only get a fixed menu, but if you order it there, you get it cheaper and you can choose from a menu.
- I thought the bathroom (showers) was a bit dirty.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiccabom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We're glad you had such a great stay with us and will definitely pass on your suggestions. We hope to see you again in the future at St Christopher's.

Best Wishes,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Rooms get warmer than 30°C and so clammy it's impossible to sleep in. We were 10 people in the room, everyone having problems with it and most of the other people I talked to.

After two gruesome nights I just couldn't go to sleep on my third. Asked if there was anything reception could do.
NO!
No help finding other hotels, no refund, no relocation, no empathy, no understanding, no sense of guilt.

For a modern and slightly expensive hostel, I'd expect a lot more. Being able to sleep would be a start.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for all your great feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We're sorry you had problems with the room temperature, we normally don't have problems, however if we get a few days of scorching weather as expected the rooms definitely heat up. While there's not a lot we can do in these circumstances, we completely understand the frustration in not being able to have a good nights sleep when traveling, and fans are available from reception in these cases to help make your sleep a little more comfortable. We hope you enjoyed our other facilities regardless and had a great time in the city.

Kind Regards,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at St. Christopher's Inn and my experience of Paris was ruined by the location of this hostel. It isn't located in a very nice part of town and you have to take about a 30 minute metro to get to the central part of Paris. I didn't feel safe even walking to the metro. The hostel itself is very clean and the staff is fairly friendly, but it is an American hostel so you don't get much of a local atmosphere. I would not recommend staying here simple because it is so far away from everything.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, General Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the hostel and facilities despite not liking the location of the canal. We have many different transport options available within minutes of the hostel, including metro, bus and velib. Locations such as the Louvre, Chatelet and Notre Dame take around 20 minutes to reach via velib from the canal and between 20 and 30 minutes via metro depending on which route you take, not long at all considering the size of the city! We also hope you had a chance to explore area's such as Montmartre, La Villette and the Buttes Chaumont which are just minutes away.

We wish you all the best on your future travels and hope to see you at St Christopher's again in the future.

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is one of the best st. Christophers that I've stayed in. There're six floors so you can meet a lot of people. The rooms and the bathroom are all very clean. I stayed in a 10 bed bedroom and everyone was very friendly. The location is not the highlight, but its very close to the metro so you should be fine. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your review! We're glad you had a great time with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We recently stayed at st christophers canal in paris and were very disapointed. We were in a double private room. In the hallway outside our room there was water leaking from the roof and running down the walls. It was so excessive that there were puddles of water in several spots along the hallway. Furthermore, the main female bathroom on our floor had huge puddles of water on the floor for the entirety of our stay (4 nights), no one bothered to fix the toilet that was causing the leak. The water caused the toilet to have a horrible smell to it. The boys toilet on our floor was "out of order" the entire time we stayed there. We were on the 5th floor and the elevator wasn't working, again for the entirety of our stay, so we had to climb the stairs with all our luggage, each floor had 2 flights of stairs, so a total of 10 flights of stairs everytime we wanted to go to our room. Another issue was the area surrounding the hostel. It was a terribly run down area, very dirty, and several locals told us it was an unsafe area and not to venture outside at night. There was constant loud noise coming from the streets at night which didn't stop until after 11pm, it was very loud even though we were on the 5th floor. The only plus of this hostel was the bar downstairs which was good. I don't normally write reviews but I felt I should share my experience

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mcmahona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello,

Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and share your experiences with us. We always appreciate critical feedback as it's what helps us improve and make sure we provide people with the best possible service! We're sorry you had such an unfortunate experience with the water damage, unfortunately during the time of your stay it has been a large problem which we are in the process of fixing, but we completely understand your frustration with the problem! The issue with the lift has been resolved, but we always like to provide the best possible service and in such cases our lovely staff are normally there to help you get your bags up the stairs, so we'll be sure to pass that feedback along. We're glad you had a great time in our downstairs bar, and hope you enjoyed your time despite the maintenance issue's.

Kind Regards,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France Albion
Hotel France Albion
#271 of 1,802 in Paris
997 reviews
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#2 of 166 in Paris
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Property: St Christopher's Canal Paris
Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing