We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,244 results
Traveler rating
432
509
197
61
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
509
197
61
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivacy curtainseach bunkbed female dormfree breakfastbar downstairs isreading lightsbaguettemetro stationenjoyed my staychecking inthe ground floormain attractionslate at nightgare du nordyogurteiffel towerhostel
Filter
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 1,244 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I recently stayed at St. Christopher's Inn and my experience of Paris was ruined by the location of this hostel. It isn't located in a very nice part of town and you have to take about a 30 minute metro to get to the central part of Paris. I didn't feel safe even walking to the metro. The hostel itself is very clean and the staff is fairly friendly, but it is an American hostel so you don't get much of a local atmosphere. I would not recommend staying here simple because it is so far away from everything.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, General Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the hostel and facilities despite not liking the location of the canal. We have many different transport options available within minutes of the hostel, including metro, bus and velib. Locations such as the Louvre, Chatelet and Notre Dame take around 20 minutes to reach via velib from the canal and between 20 and 30 minutes via metro depending on which route you take, not long at all considering the size of the city! We also hope you had a chance to explore area's such as Montmartre, La Villette and the Buttes Chaumont which are just minutes away.

We wish you all the best on your future travels and hope to see you at St Christopher's again in the future.

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is one of the best st. Christophers that I've stayed in. There're six floors so you can meet a lot of people. The rooms and the bathroom are all very clean. I stayed in a 10 bed bedroom and everyone was very friendly. The location is not the highlight, but its very close to the metro so you should be fine. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for your review! We're glad you had a great time with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We recently stayed at st christophers canal in paris and were very disapointed. We were in a double private room. In the hallway outside our room there was water leaking from the roof and running down the walls. It was so excessive that there were puddles of water in several spots along the hallway. Furthermore, the main female bathroom on our floor had huge puddles of water on the floor for the entirety of our stay (4 nights), no one bothered to fix the toilet that was causing the leak. The water caused the toilet to have a horrible smell to it. The boys toilet on our floor was "out of order" the entire time we stayed there. We were on the 5th floor and the elevator wasn't working, again for the entirety of our stay, so we had to climb the stairs with all our luggage, each floor had 2 flights of stairs, so a total of 10 flights of stairs everytime we wanted to go to our room. Another issue was the area surrounding the hostel. It was a terribly run down area, very dirty, and several locals told us it was an unsafe area and not to venture outside at night. There was constant loud noise coming from the streets at night which didn't stop until after 11pm, it was very loud even though we were on the 5th floor. The only plus of this hostel was the bar downstairs which was good. I don't normally write reviews but I felt I should share my experience

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mcmahona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Hello,

Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and share your experiences with us. We always appreciate critical feedback as it's what helps us improve and make sure we provide people with the best possible service! We're sorry you had such an unfortunate experience with the water damage, unfortunately during the time of your stay it has been a large problem which we are in the process of fixing, but we completely understand your frustration with the problem! The issue with the lift has been resolved, but we always like to provide the best possible service and in such cases our lovely staff are normally there to help you get your bags up the stairs, so we'll be sure to pass that feedback along. We're glad you had a great time in our downstairs bar, and hope you enjoyed your time despite the maintenance issue's.

Kind Regards,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was the best hostel we stayed at in Europe. I loved that the beds had curtains in front of them. When you checked into the hostel you got a free drink and shot at the bar and 25% off the food. Considering how expensive Paris is, this really came in handy! The food was amazing which I was not expecting from hostel a restaurant. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. The hostel provided a free walking tour which I highly recommend to get to know the city. Everyone in our room was very social and we got to talk to people from all over the world. The location was the only down side to this hostel. It far away from the center of the city and the train station. This was a bit of an issue when trying to catch a train at 6 AM and having to figure out how to take the metro there. Otherwise this was a great hostel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Hi Carrie,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us! We're glad you had a great stay with us and we really hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great hostel, large and clean. Very friendly staff with a great bar/restaurant. Close to major metro stations, easy to get to and from. Our room was a private and was clean. Met a bunch of awesome people. Was definitely am experience I won't forget.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank tbaum16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us, we always love receiving such positive feedback and sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again in the future!

Kind Regards,

The Team at St Christopher's, Paris Canal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews