We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #5 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2008

I stayed here in March 2008 with my sister for 4 days and we had an incredible time. We paid 24 Euros per person per night for the room. This trip with her was my first time staying in a hostel and I was a little bit nervous, but it was a wonderful experience! The hostel is brand new and very very clean and safe. There are card swipes to get into the rooms and they also have girls only floors, for those of us who only want to travel and don't want to deal with the men :) The beds were clean and comfortable with a curtain that pulled across both the top and bottom bunks for privacy. Each bed had its own electrical socket (great for charging your phone while you sleep) and reading light. There are 2 lockers under each bed so you can lock your stuff up when you're not there.

Breakfast was pretty basic...bread, cornflakes, coffee but there are plenty of bakeries in Paris if you want something else. The location was great...just a few minutes walk from the Metro. The bar downstairs was also nice...you got 10% off everything if you were staying there so it was a great and inexpensive option for food and drink. I brought ear plugs with me so I don't know if the bar got too loud for anyone else to sleep but I had no problems sleeping with my earplugs in!

The bathrooms were clean and reminded me of the dorms in college with several shower stalls and toilets and many sinks. Electrical sockets were scarce so drying your hair can be interesting...bring a small mirror and you can dry your hair in your bunk. There was a hot water problem one day we were there but it seemed to have resolved itself and wasn't really that much of an issue.

Overall, it was way better than I expected. I've stayed at another St. Christopher's in Greenwich London since my Paris trip and, while it was a good experience, it definitely wasn't as nice as their Paris location. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Mandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2008

Of my entire Eurotrip experience, this was the cleanest and best hostel I've stayed at, hands down. Despite one rude staff member at reception, everything was great. The rooms and showers were incredibly clean, drink specials down at Belushi's were so cheap, the bar/restaurant was perfect for those looking to drink nearby and then be able to stumble up to their rooms, the nightly Jager Train was awesome, breakfast was good, the Free Tour was fantastic (George is the best!), internet was cheap, meeting people was so easy and fun, lockers in the rooms were big and spacious, security made me feel safe... I would definitely stay here again. Only problem is the location... if you want to party around town past 12:30am, consider finding an alternative way home since the Metro stops running around then. Also, the location can be a bit shady at night-time, mainly during the weekdays. Otherwise, I absolutely LOVED the hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cxj198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

I just stayed at St. Christopher's Hostel in Paris (19th District area) this month (June). The hostel opened in January and is defintetly very modern and aimed at young people. It's more like a hotel, sans amenities, than a hostel. It has a bar below it, Belushi's, which is great for when you are tired and want to come home but still want to unwind with a nightcap. They have a movie every night in the TV Lounge and free tours that leave from the hostel. The included breakfast isn't too fantastic but it's free (cereal and a baguette). It's a little out of the way of most touristy attractions (if Paris was Manhattan, St. Christopher's is Queens) but everything was accessible via the Metro. I stayed in a private room and it even had a balcony. I would definitely recommend this place - they are trying hard to be hip and doing a good job of it :-)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LadyBugTraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Je déconseille les chambres à extrémité .. car elles sont trop loin des sanitaires
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chouchouk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: elevador vive quebrado, solicite um andar baixo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephanie_Janssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team B, Responsable réception at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#6 of 192 in Paris
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $31 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing