We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #5 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed with 2 friend in a 6 bed dorm. The room itself was excellent, super clean and very nicely decorated for a Hostel. We could only access the floor we were on (with the room key) either using the elevator or stairs so we felt quite safe. The hostel is in a short distance from 2 different metro stations which came in quite handy. Staff were kind and helpful.
Breakfast is obviously not a feast but we were quite impressed considering it's a Hostel, we definitely expected less.. it's served in a sort of cafeteria which turns into a very cool bar/restaurant at night. We ate there one evening with the discount vouchers (we got given some when checking in), definitely good value for money.
The only downside is the bathroom! It is shared, which is not a problem for me, except there was only 1 on our floor (each floor has at least 10 dorms, 1 is not enough!!) As if that wasn't bad enough, it had 3 showers (in stalls) and only 2 drains. On our second day the drains got completely clogged from the amount of water running through and the bathroom kind of flooded, so it was very messy and unpleasant.
Anyways, the bad experience with the bathroom was overshadowed by the awesomeness of the rest of it.. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galmads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayou A, Responsable relations clients at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hi,

Thanks a lot for your feedback. We can learn a lot from your experiences so we really appreciate you took the time to reply. We are really happy to see you had a great time with us,despite the obviously bathroom bad experience which by the way was fixed by our maintenance staff and we deeply sorry it was done after your departure.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Your St Christopher’s Team Paris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I (both 25 y.o. Backpackers) enjoyed our stay at St. Christopher's Canal. The access to the city was great as the metro stop was only about 1 block away, and we found the metro's really easy to get around. The breakfast and evenings in Belishi's were also great. A few cons: - everyone else seemed to have power outlets and lights in their bed areas except us. They would have been super useful. - the top of the lockers opened all the way onto the bottom bunk above. My boyfriend had the bottom bunk, so it wasn't a big deal. Had I not known the person on the bottom bunk this could have been a bit awkward. - the line for breakfast was super long one morning, but considering its a free breakfast I won't complain ;)

Make sure you go to the game night with Lochlan (sorry if that spelling is way off). It is really fun and a great way to meet your neighbors :). Make sure to insist on playing Gaucho Ball!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kala B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayou A, Responsable relations publiques at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hi,

Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us.
We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed the friendly and efficient service of our staff as we always do our best to make everybody's stay as fun and comfortable as possible.
We are sorry you could not benefit from the reading light and power outlet since some rooms were upgraded with more beds that was the reason why they still lack lights and outlets and right now we are looking how we can fixed that.

We really want to be the best hostel we can be and are always looking to improve,and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Your St Christopher’s Team Paris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

This is my 5 th time at the Canal hostel and it was as usual great. Great food .music. rooms staff especially Giles rory . lettica.sam.melissa.ingrid and all the Australian boys. (ur mums wud be proud) we had a twin room and Giles changed the bed for us ss it was too low. catch the no 54 bus from gare du nord to crimee its easier than the metro. Great shop near by supermarket metro not far. pateserie nearby. and French version of pub. u can do laundry. On line check in. women only floor. very safe. u can party all u want or wear ear plugs. luggage storage.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank noelle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayou A, Responsable relations clients at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hi,

Thanks a lot for your feedback. We can learn a lot from your experiences so we really appreciate you took the time to reply. We are really happy to see you had a great time with us. We will make sure that everyone of the staff knows about your feedback specially Gille the hostel manager. We can't wait to host you again in our hostel.
If you do have any ideas of what we could do to make things even better we would love to know.

We really want to be the best hostel we can be and are always looking to improve, so we genuinely will look forward to hearing your reply.

Kind Regards,
Your St Christopher’s Team Paris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was a very positive experience.
The staff were all very friendly, helpful and informative!
It is quite cheap to stay here and is definitely worth it!
-Discounted drinks and food at the bar downstairs in the main area.
- the room is very clean
- excellent location as it is a short walking distance to the metro
The only negative factor is the Internet signal is quite low and the connection is very slow!
All in all it is a great hostel and we would definitely recommend it to everyone!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EatPrayLove92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayou A, Responsable relations clients at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hi,

Thank so much for taking the time to get back to us. We're always looking for ways to improve the experience we provide for our guests and which is why your feedback is so important to us.
We are really happy to see you had a great time with us as well as we were also very glad to hear that you enjoyed the friendly and efficient service of our staff.
We are sorry about the internet connection speed which by the way we are actually in the process of upgrading it to a 100 megabytes fibre optic connection and we should have it available by about two weeks.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Your St Christopher’s Team Paris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hostel was very nice, I stayed there with a big group of people in a dorm but since we were on an organized trip it wasn't a problem. Metro was a 5 minutes walk from the hostel but the area itself was beautiful, especially near the river. Apparently it wasn't the safest one but it also wasn't dangerous, especially if you walked with a group of people. Downstairs in the hostel there was a bar and a club so it was always possible to drink / party there.
The breakfast was included but rather average and there were always big queues due to the constant lack of cutlery and plates.
Wifi was working only downstairs and its quality wasn't always the best.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayou A, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hi,

Thanks a lot for your feedback. We can learn a lot from your experiences so we really appreciate you took the time to reply. We are really happy to see you had a great time with us,despite the some issues with the queue at the breakfast and the internet speed connection.
When we are fully booked we can sometime be overwhelmed because most of our dear guest are coming all at the same time either to beat the breakfast closing time or being out to see sight in order to avoid the queue there. As for the internet we are actually in the process of updating it to a 100 megabytes speed fibre optic.

We really want to be the best hostel we can be and are always looking to improve.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Your St Christopher’s Team Paris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked a ten bed dorm for a friends trip to Paris. When we arrived we were told that we weren't all in the same room and that we should have booked through the room booking email (we had emailed them when we went to book and were told to book online which we did). The staff were unsympathetic about splitting us up and made no effort to rectify the situation. We asked for locks for our locker in the room because we hadn't brought any with us as we thought we would be the only ones in the room and were told we would have to buy them for 10 euro.

This hostel came with breakfast. Which would have been good except that they clearly were not prepared and ran out of bowls, plates, knives, spoons and glasses. We had to queue for over half an hour for cereal... The staff got annoyed when any one asked for equipment.

Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayou A, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hi,

Thanks a lot for your feedback. We always do our best to make everybody's stay as fun and comfortable as possible and we can learn a lot from your experience with us. That's why we appreciate that you took the time to reply. We're sorry to to hear that your stay wasn't as expected.
We are deeply sorry about the fact we couldn't allocated you altogether in the same since the dorm type you've chosen was for most of it already allocated by the time you've checked in.
As for the breakfast queue that is a situation which is mostly happening when we are fully booked or having a big group staying which was the case during your stay,the result of this is that it will take a little bit more time than usual to make available clean bowls,plates and knives.

We really want to be the best hostel we can be and are always looking to improve.

Kind Regards,
Your St Christopher’s Team Paris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was a great hostel, due to the fact that it was a 5 minute walk to the closest Metro stops, there was a whole host of things to do at the hostel in the evenings, and the customer service was great. I went with one other friend, and we both stayed in a private room, which was clean, safe and had a pretty view. (Could be a little bit noisy at times though...)

My only criticism would have to be that we were mislead when it came to directions/things to do in Paris, for example when asking about tickets to the Louvre, they failed to mention that it is closed on a Tuesday, the day we were intending to go...

One more thing - don't beat the staff at beerpong like we did, because they will get mega annoyed :p.

Overall, loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayou A, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our venue - it really helps us to improve on what we do. We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed the friendly and efficient service of our staff and that you appreciated our affordable prices and great value in a very expensive Paris market.
We are deeply sorry about the misleading direction to the Louvres.
Do not worry about beating our staff to the beer pong as long as you have enjoyed it,that's the only really important thing for us. Sometime you are winning and other time losing!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Your St Christopher’s Team Paris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#7 of 193 in Paris
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $30 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing