We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome for backpackers !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #5 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

spacious room with huge window and clean comfortable beds with a curtain for a little privacy kinda cool ! There is padlocked cage for your stuff if you want !
Super friendly helpful staff ! free WiFi worked fine for me ! feel quite safe even for girls !

Towels are not free but just 2 euros.. Far from all the most of the famous attractions ! But its just next the beautiful canal and the area quite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kishAnSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

The inn itself was quite full, lot of people checking in and checking out.
The receptionist is very rude and not accommodating. I bought tickets for warm breakfast, the problem is that I had to go 7am the next morning, and the warm breakfast does not serve until 9am. I tried to have a refund, but again the staff is just not helping at all. Not providing solution, just, 'ask my manager' thing coming up again.

I won't stay here again, and will not recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuyaimut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Sweet hostel, great atmosphere. Really easy to meet other hostel goers. Lochlin and Mel are part of the wicked staff that are super friendly and fun. Wifi kind of blows in the rooms but is good in Belushi's. great deal with the bar for cheap food and drinks. Have to take the metro to get to any sort of tourist attractions but still relatively easy.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqstat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the the Canal St Christopher's for over a week and would highly recommend it! From the reception staff to the bar staff, their customer service was great! Everyone had a smile on their faces. Cadeh (who is on reception) went to all his efforts to make sure my friend who was joining me would be able to stay in my room. He even carried my suitcase up the stairs when they were doing maintenance work on the lift! If there was ever an issue, it would be fixed within the moment! I'd name drop the bar staff too, but no need because each person was great and their service and bar games were super! Wish I could just pack up this hostel and take it with me so I can stay there anytime! ;)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

wow where can i start? Awesome place, huge, clean and brand new.The bed is excellent, Staff are friendly, fun and good looking. They always have cool events at night (the best ones are on the weekends) I was lucky to be there for the Grand opening party with free food and free drinks! it was the best party ever! people were having fun and trully enjoying themselves!
I booked my stay at St. christophre's in Amsterdam already and i cant wait.
I hope they come to the US soon! Trust me once you stay there you will never go to another hostel.Love St. Christophre's!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goplayoutside867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was easy to meet people like at the bar for example. The prices for drinks are pretty expensive..but after all it is Paris and you won't get cheap good drinks anywhere really.
The rooms are nice. The beds have curtains which gives you a bit more privacy.
The location isn't the best. It is close to a canal which is nice around dinner time since there are a lot of french people sitting there right beside the river and it gives you an impression of the french culture. But for other stuff you always have to take the metro. One night we wanted to go out but the metro wasn't running anymore which really sucked since there are no clubs and bars around. If you're looking for Party - stay somewhere else.
Overall it is an average hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you are traveling solo and would like to meet like-minded backpackers from the world over, this is a great place to stay at! It also is a pick up point for one of the best tours in Paris, the Sandeman New Paris Free tour. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
Ibis Budget Paris La Villette
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#4 of 180 in Paris
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $22 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing