We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a nice area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #5 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

~Sept 2010

A clean new hostel. A little far from sites, 15-20 minutes by train. Train stop a few minutes walk. Great to meet fellow travelers.

Many small local shops and food places from different ethnicities are within walking distance.

The hostel bar Belushi's is convenient, and doubles as a common space but prices may be a little rich for those trying to stay on a budget. There are local markets close by but with no cooking facilities you are subject to cold prep food ie. sandwich, finger food.

The accomodations otherwise are fantastic. New, clean, modern, and plentiful. Wi-fi, computers, lifts, card keys, tours. A small after hours bar downstairs off the small common room opens up for the night goers without disturbance to the rooms up above. The prices are well within reason (almost cheap) considering the relative cost of Paris.

The sleeping quarters are the best I've seen for a hostel and the staff is informative, helpful, and pleasant.

My only dislike would be location, but after learning the underground this is easily overcome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory W, Hostel Ambassador at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Well this is an old review, thank you for taking your time to leave your thoughts on your stay.

I'm pleased to see that your stay was so memorable. We have had a few changes but it's obviously only for the better, you'll have to come back sometime to try the updates. It's nice that you felt the sleeping facilities were the best, I'm sure you'll find them equally as good, if not better. We really strive for a good nights sleep.

Kind regards,

St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hostel is located in the northeast area in Paris.It’s near the central of the city but we don’t need to care about it.We can go everywhere by metro.Paris isn’t so big city,so access doesn’t matter.This hostel’s rooms are very clean and comfortable,but sometimes I felt it would have been better if there had been more bathrooms.The system of coinlockers are very complicated to use,and wouldn’t have our baggage in the reception.They are supposed to be left in the coinlocker if we arrive at the hostel before check-in time.It cost 3-5euro to leave the baggage. If it exceeds 12hours,you have to pay extra charge.That’s too bad.Reception was always very busy,we had to wait for a long time to ask few questions. But the cost is very cheap! I can strongly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nt20130314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory W, Hostel Ambassador at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving your thoughts for us and all to see.

It's nice to see that you enjoyed the way everything is put together. We have the option of private bathrooms available. We had 4 separate bathrooms on each floor, however I understand for some this can feel over crowded especially at busy moments. We also have very good reasons for our locker system, mainly due to safety reasons. The lockers are safe and allow for insurance of your belongings. We are working to reduce queuing times at reception during such busy times, I'm sure the next visit will have faster queues!

Kind regards,

St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Paris is quite expensive so the price for this hostel is on par with economy of Paris- pricey compared to other cities. However, the beds were comfy, clean and the pods were good allowing privacy. Rooms were quite spacious. Lockers under the beds were quite noisy and disturb sleeping people. We had the backpackers special shepards pie for 7 euros and it was quite small and not worth it. We ended up going to the supermarket anyway and spending more money. Good to have a microwave and separate room to the bar however if you won't let people drink in that room, they will drink in the dorms so goodluck sleeping if your roomies want to party.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jw097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory W, Hostel Ambassador at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your thoughts on our hostel.

It's good to see that the hostel in all was a good stay for you, I understand the thoughts regarding the prices, Paris is just so! However we are working on this to make things more affordable for the back packers, new happy hours will be implemented soon, as well as other great deals. The menu is having a complete change with lower prices, which is even better with the 25% discount you get as a customer.

Unfortunately we have to prevent excessive drinking in the common room due to legal reasons regarding licensing on the property, with the bar in place. I mentioned the discounts arriving soon, so this should really help with backpackers.

I hope you'll be back to experience the newer menus etc.

Kind regards,

St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had the greatest time staying at this hostel. The reception staff were friendly, happy and so helpful with all the random questions I asked. The bar staff were brilliant as well, especially when it came to sorting out a hot vegetarian meal for breakfast. The cleaners always had a smile on their face when I passed them in the hall which was nice compared to other hostels. I had a lot of fun chilling out at Belushi's, food was great and the daily events were a bunch of fun. I would of stayed no one else in Paris and I hope to run into a St Christophers Inn on my future travels. Well worth a bit of extra money to stay here on peak nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah_ellenSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory W, Hostel Ambassador at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hello,

We are very appreciative of your comments regarding our wonderfulness! This really makes us happy, that you have had a nearly perfect stay with us, we aim for this and more with every stay!

It's great to see that the stay was a memorable one and the staff made it even better by going above and beyond for you!

Kind regards,
St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Ok, so St Christopher's really does tick all the right hostel boxes- it's kept clean, facilities are good, staff is friendly and it's not costly.
The bedrooms are really well-equpiied too: reading lights, privacy curtains and a huge luggage storage right under your bed.
However, other than being not ideal in terms of location, this is a huge hostel and since I was travelling alone, before my boyfriend joined me, I found it hard to make friends despite the bar and all. Again, can't fault the hostel, and if you're travelling in groups, stay there, but maybe reconsider if you are alone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory W, Hostel Ambassador at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hey there,

It's pleasing to see that you enjoyed our facilities and staff, we really try to do everything we can to make you feel comfortable. We try to provide entertainment for all with our attached bar as well as keeping our dorm rooms nice and quiet for a great sleep! It's a shame you were unable to meet people, usually the bar is filled with people to meet.

Hopefully you'll still come back for another stay!

Kind regards,

St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I first booked here for 3 nights, but of course found the place amazing to meet people (being a solo traveller) that I ended up staying a full week. I was impressed by the rooms: each bunk was built-in so no creaks, except for the secure storage underneath that made noise if you weren't gentle; every bed had two powerpoints/outlets per person and a reading lamp; plenty of space, some with tables & chairs; and of course a sink with a face mirror and a long mirror. I especially loved the curtain that draped across each bed which provided privacy while you slept.
The bar is a huge communal area that is a cheeky pub at night (each night had either karaoke, drink specials, live bands etc) or breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was either cornflakes or coco pops, apple or orange juice and baguettes with conserves including Nutella! You could have as much as you wanted. Thankfully breakfast finished at 10, allowing a reasonable sleep in unlike many other hostels.
There is also another computer room/quieter room that's large, as well as a giant locker room downstairs where you can store you stuff..at a small price for up to 24hrs. Attached is a small 'club' that usually housed mainly men, all for a small cover charge.
Best thing: very, very easy to meet people
Pro: nice facilities compared to the majority of other Paris hostels
Pro: no lock out = you can sleep off any hangover or sleep in if you need extra sleep
Con: it occasionally had massive groups of school kids - slightly overwhelming the place, especially if you booked day by day.
Con: location is just on the out reaches of the city so you must catch the metro (walking is out of the question). But then again, you've gotta catch the metro to get any where in Paris.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory W, Hostel Ambassador at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Firstly let me thank you for leaving a review. We especially appreciate the effort and detail you have gone to.

It makes us happy that you were enticed into staying that much longer with us and that we were able to entertain you for your whole stay. There is a brand new upgrade to the breakfast now, so if you decide to come back for another Paris trip you'll have so many more options! (Fruit salad, ham and cheese, muesli and yoghurt!). So I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay even more!

Your comments regarding the rooms are just what we like to see, there's a lot of bonuses in staying with us and the curtains, plugs and lights are just a few of them! As for the cons regarding the metro, like you said you need it wherever you are in Paris as everything is very dispersed. We have 3 metro lines very near-by so this is Ideal, as well as two international train stations nearby!

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Excellent location - right in the middle of two Metro stations that gives an easy access to different subway lines. Clean, modern interior. Friendly staff. Perfect if you're travelling alone or with friends . I was staying in an 8 bed female dorm and even though it was full, there was no inconvenience + I met some great people to hang around with since I was travelling alone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory W, Hostel Ambassador at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Bonjour,

it's fantastic that you had a great stay with us and that you really found our location a good one, the metro stations definitely bring the sites a lot closer to us than most other places! I'm glad that we were able to meet your expectations on a whole, especially through the staff, who work very hard to make your stay enjoyable. Hopefully you'll be back again soon, thank you very much for leaving us a review here for all to see!

Kind regards,
St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
Ibis Budget Paris La Villette
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#4 of 181 in Paris
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $22 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing