We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for first hostel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #6 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad for first hostel experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

St Christophers was our first ever experience staying in a hostel and we were only were there one night so whilst we didn't get to experience it in great depth this is what we thought.

St Christophers is well out of central Paris in the 19th district so it is abit of a trek to get there. The area did appear to be abit sketchy and dirty but we did not really get a chance to explore it as we were only there one night.

The hostel has a large bar which we put to good use. The bar was not for the exclusive use of the guests so there were a few locals in it, as well as a few sketchy looking characters.The bar overlooked a canal which was very dirty which was a shame to see.

We stayed in a 12 bed dorm and didn't have any issues with our room. Each floor had a key card and there was even a females only floor which I'm sure some travellers would appreciate. Each bed also had a large locker underneath it which you needed your own key for.

One of the negatives was the cost. As a general rule, everything in Paris is pretty pricey, but before this we had a hotel room in the Latin Quarter which was only slightly more than the cost for 2 people in a 12 bed dorm. The price itself was pretty standard for a hostel in Paris though so I think it depends on what you are looking for.

The bathrooms were pretty standard and I remember them being pretty clean.

Overall we had a pretty good experience at this hostel. The bar was definitely a highlight. The downside was the location and distance from the centre of Paris. As I previously said, we were only here for a night, so it may not be a clear indication of the hostel. The only reason we stayed here was due to a tour picking us a from this location. Although our experience was pretty good we probably would not stay here again mostly due to the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swarren89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory W, at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on trip advisor. It's a shame you didn't get to stay longer to get an idea of what the hostel is really like.

You should come back another time to get a more in depth view of what we have going on here. And maybe staying a little bit long you'll be able to see how much better things become, discovering the less touristy parts of Paris nearby.

Kind regards,

St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    484
    180
    54
    42
See reviews for
21
119
492
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

St Christopher's Canal was my first hostel experience and it was a great one. The rooms have a great set up, with lockers under the beds, an outlet and reading lamp in each bunk, and a privacy curtain for each bed. The bathrooms were clean, not always properly stocked but that was always fixed promptly.

The staff were awesome. They were friendly and incredibly helpful. They had clear directions to anywhere you needed to go and when I needed to find a doctor they were on the ball with a place to go and asked if I needed help making an appointment.

The location is quite good, close to all amenities. Granted, with a metro system like the one in Paris, any location is a good one.

I would absolutely recommend this hostel to anyone I know going to Paris and I will be returning! Thank you for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmtbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory W, Hostel Ambassador at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Well firstly let me thank you for your kind words about our hostel, it's nice to se that we gave you a great first hostel experience. Maybe this will encourage you to try out some more. Maybe even some more St Christopher's Inns.

Come back anytime.

Cheers,
St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Being the first hostel I'd ever stayed in, I didn't know what to expect. It was certainly an interesting experience...

The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable enough and the privacy curtain a bonus. The bar was lively and had a good atmosphere. Residents are able to get 'buy one get one free' on bottles of a pretty decent local lager, which was nice. Easy to find from Crimee station, but don't make the mistake of trying to walk from Gare du Nord like I did! Wi-fi also worked fine.

However, there were a few negatives. The storage lockers under the bed were incredibly loud when others in room woke up early, and due to being woken up was still in bed when the cleaner came in the room. She was speaking on her phone on hands free, saw I was still in bed and just continued to talk loudly!

There was also only two gent's showers for the whole floor, which meant a bit of a wait in the morning. I was up pretty late both days so I would imagine would be a lot worse at peak times.

On the second night, PSG were playing and the bar filled with locals. While not a problem in itself, there was no room to even stand. I asked if I could take my beer into the common room and was told yes, but then half an hour later was told by someone else I wasn't allowed to do that. Service at the bar could also be pretty poor at times.

Overall, mixed, but atmosphere and bar helped improve on some of the problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anoutsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory W, Hostel Ambassador at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Well firstly let me thank you for the review, I'm sure lots of people will find it a helpful review to read.

The PSG game was obviously a very busy night for us so please excuse us for the confusion with drinking in the common room, there are specific times that you are allowed to do so in the common room. The bar was busy which is good but obviously not ideal if you want some quiet time, the service was probably slower than usual due to the occupancy in the bar at this time.

There are 4 male showers on each floor, however it may have been the case some were under maintenance at the time so we do apologise. Alternatively we do have two more in the corridors on each floor. Let me finish by thanking you again for the review and the minor problems mentioned will be fixed on your return!

Kind regards,

St Christopher's Inn Paris canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Although it is comparitivly more expensive, this is definitely one of the better hostels. It's close to the metro, a laundrette, a supermarket and has free WiFi throughout.

Although it doesn't have a kitchen bar a microwave and the hostel bar is quite expensive - so is a lot of Paris. So the prices are kind of on par. Also, unless you are a tall, leggy blonde, you might have to wait a bit on service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory W, Hostel Ambassador at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hey.

Thank you for your review and comments. It's been really great to see that you enjoyed your time here with us for the most part. We will be trying to improve on these points you've brought up with us, so thank you again for the comments they are very helpful to see where we can improve.

Kind regards,

St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place has potential to be great. The entire first floor is hang-out space. However, 90% of that space is used at a restaurant where you are REQUIRED to buy food in order to sit in their tables, and are FORBIDDEN to bring any outside food or drink into it. Plus the restaurant staff is atrocious, especially the girl with dreads, Emily, who scowls at everyone and has snubbed us (as in not even greeted us or took our order) numerous times during our stay. She clearly resents that there is a hostel attached to her restaurant and only acknowledges outside customers. Not to mention there is no kitchen in the whole entire huge building, only one microwave, and it is crammed into a tiny and hot corner room where non-restaurant patrons have to fight for a seat and table space.

The dorm rooms and bathrooms here are decent, so if you are only interested in sleeping you'll be fine. But the staff all the way around is horrible. The front desk will blatantly ignore you and the cleaning staff will talk loudly in their phone and glare at you while slowly cleaning the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samswed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory W, Hostel Ambassador at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi there,

I'm sorry you had such a torrid time staying with us. it seems as though this was mostly due to the restaurant. You have mentioned that some of the cleaning staff were rude too and for this I apologise. We are trying hard to get good customer service skills for every member of staff and back of house are not exempt from this. However I'm sure if you were to come back now you'd see a difference to what happened last year.

The reason we do not have a kitchen is because we have 360 guests staying at any one time and there would not be a kitchen big enough to accommodate this many people nor would there be enough equipment in general to cope with this many people. We try to counter act this as best we can. If you have any other comments don't hesitate to let us know.

Kind regards,

St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was a great hostel to meet people and to enjoy a beer or twelve of them. The dorm rooms are big with plenty of space to put your things. No kitchen at all minus a microwave but there is cheap food around the hostel to eat. There is a bar right inside and they are jerks about you trying to drink your own booze in the bat even if you are staying at the hostel. The staff at the front desk wasn't too friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory W, Hostel Ambassador at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi there,

Firstly let me thank you for leaving a review with us, it's a shame we didn't match your expectations on this occasion we are forever trying to improve and your comments will definitely help in doing so. Drinking alcohol not bought on the premises is generally not allowed in most bars due to licensing laws, however we do have other communal areas where you could drink your beverage on the hostel side.

Thank you again for your review, we'll be doing all we can to improve.

Kind regards,

St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed in small and bigger hostels around the world last year, and St. Christopher's is definitely one of the party-hostel kind. It is a very big place with countless dorm rooms on several floors. I stayed in an 8-bed female dorm, never had to wait for a bathroom. The lockers under the beds are big but a bit noisy.
The bar area is very nice in the mornings, you can enjoy your breakfast looking out onto the water, or have a glass of wine in the evening and get to know locals who frequent the bar as well. There's a different activity each night, such as pool tournaments, open mic nights, etc..which are very popular with hostellers, but if you're on a tight schedule you get a good nights sleep upstairs, where you can't hear any of the party-noise from below.
The location is ok, a little on the north-eastern end of paris, but close to the metro and therefore an OK starting point for trips around the city.
Personally, I would appreciate a luggage storage free of charge, as is usual in many hostels, Paris is an expensive city, and paying 4,5 Euro for a "big" locker (which was necessary to store a small carry-on trolley) is pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nalujulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory W, Hostel Ambassador at St Christopher's Canal Paris, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hey,

It's nice to see you had such a lovely time with us here, hopefully you can come back to stay sometime. Thank you for leaving this review for us it's been very helpful to see the areas we are doing well in and as for the non-free storage, I'm afraid this is necessary to keep personal belongings safe for insurance reasons on our part and even yours. However perhaps we could think of a restructuring of prices.

I'm glad you enjoyed most aspects of our hostel especially the entertainment we have and the staff will appreciate the kind comments too.

Come back soon.

St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Plug-Inn Hostel
Plug-Inn Hostel
#894 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Property: St Christopher's Canal Paris
Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing