We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun spot!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Christopher's Canal Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #7 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fun spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

This place was a riot. The rooms were quiet and well insulated from noise-which was wonderful as we were right alongside a busy street and you couldn't hear it). The individual beds had a curtain to pull across to keep some privacy, and e bar downstairs had good food and a nice social ambience. Would def stay again.

Room Tip: Away from the center but accessible and fun way to meet travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acrossthenight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    482
    179
    54
    42
See reviews for
21
118
488
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a great hostel for Paris. It is worth paying a little extra for the security and convenience that St. Christopher's provides. There are always lots of people around, free breakfast, good location, and friendly staff. The hostel rooms are huge, with massive lockers (although noisy... not great when people are reaching for their stuff in the middle of the night), and beds are clean. My only disappointment was with a few of the other people in the dorm, who were incredibly horrible and selfish young women who proved the tag given to travellers from a certain country. But people are people everywhere, even in the most beautiful city in the world!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed in a double room with ensuite, so we did not experience the full "hostel-vibe". The breakfast is basic but good, the lockers are big and easy to rent.

The hostel itself is located in the 19th district, which is very much up and coming with bars, restaurants and other hang-outspots for youth. The center of Paris is not very near, but there is a metro station nearby. The Louvre is about 20-30 minutes away, depending on how busy the time of day is.

The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and there are A LOT of lockers (small, medium and big). All in all, a great experience, great value for money.

Room Tip: Double rooms have a very big balcony with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Good, clean and nice facilities. Large lockers, big rooms, clean bathrooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Location is the only thing not good in this hostel. It is close to metro stations but far from everything in walking distance (taxi is the only option if you come back late at night)..and the neighborhood is not exactly the best to be walkng at nit.

The bar closes very early and during our stay, not a lot of people hang out there.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank eszechet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed in St. Christopher's Paris Hostel between March 13 and 15. The environment is cool, is has a bar downstairs where you can eat, make friends and it also has a internet spot available for all bedrooms. For me this was surely one of their pros.

I stayed in a double bedroom. It has a little skin in it, so it was helpful to brush you teeth or wash your face when waking up. Is has also a little table with an eletric kettle and some power coffee and tea and a couple crackers. The bedroom was neat and cleaned every day. For me is was a little bit unconfortable to know that a stranger to you entered your bedroom to clean with your stuff in it.

The breakfast is not that rich. It had only some bread, nutella, jelly, juice and coffee available. Sometimes it was so crowded that the silverware ran out and it took a long time to provide clean ones.

The hostel is a little bit far from the main attractions, but as the subway system is very well connected, it is easy and relatively fast to get to the places. One thing that was very good is that the hostel is in a plain site. I noticed that my other options were located in Montmartre and there was up in a hill, so after walking about 10 hours one day I couldn't even think about going up somewhere. It was a relief to return to St. Christopher's.

The bathroom in my floor was kinda far from the bedroom. Women's bathroom were in the end of a long hall, the door squeaked out loud. I also was not fond of the bath system. After you pressed the button to start the shower it took about 25 seconds to shut down the water, then you had to press it again. Washing my hair was a little bit annoying, but nothing that would make me rate the hostel negatively. I had a blast in it and I recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Nice and clean hostel (even according to Scandinavian standards). Crimee Metro station is really close by and the line 7 takes you directly to the city centre from there. Small markets, cafes and places to eat all around the place. The hostel has a nice bar with good food and ok prices. I walked to the city centre the first day and it is not too far away and the big streets feel safe.

The downsides are that, first, there is no kitchen in the hostel and not even a possibility to make your own tea/coffee. Second, no bigger/better maps of the city available so you might want to take one from the airport. Third, I would've hoped for more showers (not a real problem though). And the last thing, this is not one of those cozy little hostels where the staff becomes your family. This is more hotel-like.

Overall St Christopher's is deffinately a good place to stay. It's not cheap but worth the investment I think. It's safe and clean and welcoming!

Remember to take slippers since the shower might be a bit further away from your room. And if you want to use the lockers under the beds, take a bit bigger padlock...I was unable to use mine which is only of normal seize.

Oh, and free wifi is a big plus! And the fact that all the beds have curtains to provide privacy and a possibility to sleep when you want.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnishFemale123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed at St Christopher's last month with my friend, K. We stayed at a 6 bed all Female dorm, and it was the coolest, cutest and cleanest little place one could ever hope for. The staff are all so friendly and helpful, the hallways are really groovy and the bathrooms are clean. It's walking distance from the trains, and it's located in a pretty good area.
For one of the most expensive cities in the world, this hostel is SO affordable. And you really get more than what you pay for.
K and I had such a great time here, met really cool people, and I would totally recommend this place to anyone planning a trip to Paris. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank earthanatomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel
Generator Hostel
#4 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vintage Hostel
#9 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Property: St Christopher's Canal Paris
Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing