We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant, friendly atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #5 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This hostel certainly lives up to its claim as a purpose-built hostel.
Unique features: each bunk had a curtain which afforded privacy, as well as a huge metal bin for luggage which stows away under the lower bunk. Bring your own lock.
Toilets and showers were located outside the rooms, and were more than adequate and spick and span.
My rooms (at both ends of the 1st floor) were slighty musty though.
Hostel is not located along the main road, but within walking distance of metro stations. Directions at website and google streetview should be of help.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed for two nights in the St Christophers hostel in October 2011 and found it a perfectly acceptable budget stay in Paris. Whilst not very central, the hostel was close to a couple of metro stations and was located in a quiet corner of the city. The hostel is quite popular with backpackers and so brings a lot of that type of fun atmosphere with it. Our room was simple but clean and comfortable and was fine for a short stay in the city. We would happily stay in this hostel again and is fine for a base to explore the city.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stayed here for a few days, and overall really enjoyed the experience. Although the location isn't perfect, it is close (10 minutes walk) to a metro stop and Gare du Nord and the hostel itself feels safe and friendly. Only criticism is that it can get quite noisy at night as most of the guests are student-age and tend to stay up late in the bar, and the surrounding streets are always busy but if you want somewhere that won't break the bank and have a comfortable base in Paris, this is for you. Didn't try dorms but the twin room was a good size with a bathroom right next door.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJ21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Let's get the cons out of the way first -

Location - Not ideal in itself, as there's nothing to particularly do in the 19th arrondisement (and if there was it's not advertised very well). But the hostel is a maximum of 5-10 minutes walk from two metro stops, with one of them "Crimee" being pretty much along the street from the hostel, making it very easy to find the hostel when you get onto street level. There's a closer metro stop that's a bit more difficult to find, but the stations are only 1 to 2 stops away from a change that takes you the Gare du Nord, which makes leaving incredibly early in the morning very easy, and would make arriving nice as well, as long as you're coming from Europe. It's also possible to get into Paris centre very easily on the metro, but like I said, the hostel itself is pretty far away from anything interesting

The Breakfast - It's free! But it's a stale baguette or cereal with lukewarm milk. Not as bad as some places, but not as good as others. Pop in at a patisserie, you'll enjoy it more.

Little niggles - It's very noisy, which makes getting to sleep hard on occasion, and my particular bed creaked a lot - more than any of the others, but it wasn't great. The locker system in the room also needs a padlock (which can be bought from downstairs) but it's set up in a pretty good fashion, apart from being incredibly loud to open. Be ready to apologise to your room mates if you're pulling the locker out from under the bed late at night or early in the morning!

The pros:

Rooms - Apart from the sometimes loudness of the surrounding area, the rooms are well laid out (lockers under the beds are a revelation for me) and clean. You get a key-card that takes you up in the left or gets you onto your floor and into your room, and the beds are comfy. The showers and toilets are separate from the rooms and are alright as well. Good water pressure and heat, but you need to press down the button to keep the shower going, which could get annoying.

Staff - Very helpful staff at the desk and in the bar/restaurant, I didn't talk to them much apart from checking in, but they all seemed to have a good grasp of French and English.

Overall - I really enjoyed my time at this hostel, especially since I'd just come from another hostel that was much more centrally located, but just wasn't as nice in my eyes. St Christophers is slightly lacking in location terms and the breakfast isn't great, but I really enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_is_Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Not exactly the hosteling type, I was surprised how much I enjoyed staying at St Christopher's. The staff was extremely helpful and all spoke English (which can be refreshing in Paris)-- they had metro instructions for all the main attractions and were very helpful with every question I asked. Breakfast was basic and extremely sugary but still alright (cocoa puffs and corn flakes, baguettes, jam, hazlenut spread, etc.) The hostel itself is really nice: all the beds have curtains (quite a nice touch!), plugs, a night light, warm blankets and adequate pillows. Everything is clean. Perhaps most important of all, there are lockers under the beds, and locks can be purchased at the front desk. (There are also lockers downstairs available for a small fee if you've checked out in the morning and are still sightseeing during the day). The showers weren't luxurious but they had great water pressure and were quite warm. The hostel isn't very centrally located, but it's very near a metro stop, so it's easy to get to all the attractions. All in all, if you're going to stay in a hostel in Paris, this is by far the best choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Artist331z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights. The hostel is easy to find--walking distance from the metro stop coming from CDG. The outside of the hostel is very attractive--modern and inviting. The lobby is also very nice and the staff are friendly. The room I stayed in was a 6-bed female dorm. It was OK--very basic. I liked that there was a curtain and that each bed had 2 very accessible power sockets. It was way TOO expensive though for a shared dorm but I guess that's just Paris for you. The shared bathroom was what you would expect from a shared bathroom--it was icky and had a pervasive smell of excrement throughout but they tried to keep it as clean as possible considering the circumstances. The free breakfast was sad--it was really, very sad. Baguettes, milk, 2 types of cereals, butter, jam, and chocolate spread--that's it.They do have pretty cheap meals though--I tried the lunch menu and it was rather good for a hostel meal. The hostel is pretty far from the city center of Paris but it is close to a metro stop so that saves it a bit..I'd walk alone at night on the streets and I didn't really feel unsafe because there were lots of people around. But I do get why some people would say that it's a shady area.

All in all, It was an OK stay. not great, not bad..just OK. I'd probably recommend travelers to try and look for something closer to the center and cheaper. It's an expensive city but I sort of have the feeling that you can find something better that's cheaper than this place if you just keep looking.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singmearainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I backpacked around Europe for 4 months staying in all sorts of hostels and this is definitely the worst of the lot! Location: bad! So far away from any where, didn't have any Parisian feel to the location at all! Cost: ridiculous to pay EUR38 for a 6 bed dorm room with out even a ensuite bathroom! Check in: disastrous! 2 Busabout coaches arrived around the same time and I stood in the line for 55 minutes to check in and this is no exaggeration, there were still about 20 people behind me! (I'd been travelling with Busabout for 2 months and no where else had this problem of taking forever to check in a bus full of tired backpackers at 10pm!). Cleanliness: definitely below average! floors in the room were sticky, rooms were smelly, toilets were blocked and there didn't seem to be any cleaning staff around. Needless to say I was glad to leave and definitely won't be back at this place!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank RachSydney2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
Ibis Budget Paris La Villette
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#4 of 180 in Paris
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $22 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing