We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, impressive collection + Exhibits”

Pinacotheque de Paris
Ranked #343 of 1,098 things to do in Paris
Attraction details
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small, impressive collection + Exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just spent a few days in Paris, and was lucky enough to see the Van Gogh Exhibition, which was breathtaking. But go downstairs after you are done with whatever exhibit you came to see and see the permanent collection with paintings by all sorts of wonderful artists and jumbled together as if it were a private collection: Modigliani, Rembrandt, Bonnard, Picasso ... fascinating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank flenart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    96
    46
    30
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Van Gogh & Hiroshige”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had the good fortune of being in Paris 2 years ago when the Terra Cotta Warriors from China were on exhibit, and this time there was an exhibition of about 30 Van Gogh paintings showing how much he was influenced by Japanese Prints, combined with an exhibit of nearly 200 prints by Hiroshige. An absolute stroke of luck to be able to see these exhibits. This is a small museum, intimate and NOT crowded. Entry is timed, but there is no forced exit once inside. The two exhibits are at two locations across the street from each other. It's a museum, what makes a museum great are the exhibits, so, for us, we've gotten lucky twice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Intimate gallery, don't miss the permanent collection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was in Paris with a spare afternoon and went to see the summer 2012 exhibition of Modigliani, Soutine et al. A friendly little art museum, prone to overcrowding at certain bottlenecks as the visitors seemed more interested in the explanatory placards than in the art at times. The signing is a bit dodgy as well as I nearly missed the second half - but that may just be me! The art in the Netter exhibition included (among others) Modigliani, Soutine, Utrillo and some luminous paintings by Suzanne Valadon. I found them sympathetically hung, and accessible if you could wait for the knots of people to disperse. HOWEVER, my greatest pleasure was in buying a combined ticket and making my way to the permanent collection, which has some of the same artists as well as a couple of Picassos, a nice Basquiat, and some other attractive paintings which are superbly well displayed, some hung thematically - with a crucifixion next to a more modern treatment of hung flesh, for example. Challenging and delightful - and above all, empty. I had the basement gallery to myself for 5 euros extra.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
739 reviews
347 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibit spoiled by cramped facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Pros
Current exhibit of the Netter collection includes important paintings of Valadon Modigliani Soutine and others.
Cons
The space is too small and when reading explanations viewers block the view of the actual paintings.Since it appears that many visitors are more interested by the comments than the actual works,it becomes frustrating quickly.
Cashiers are not in the museum,I asked for an entry ticket after cueing for a while,once inside the museum,I was told that entry was only for the exhibit,not for the permanent collection which doubles the price...
Staff unhelpful and downright hostile.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Jonas Netter Collection now through September 9”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Pinacotheque on Place de la Madeleine was a great experience. The Jonas Netter Collection is currrently on exhibit through September 9. Netter was an early collector of Modigliani, Soutine, Utrillo and others. I think this is the first exhibition of his collection, and well worth seeing.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JackA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinacotheque de Paris also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Pinacotheque de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing