We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but for the price you'd expect more”
Review of New Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Hotel Opera
Ranked #1,268 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location but for the price you'd expect more”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We went to Paris for the last weekend in October 2010 and stayed at this hotel for one night. Although it is only a 3 star, for the price we paid I expected this to be on the higher end of the 3 star spectrum. I can't fault the location, nice and clean district, half way between Opera and Montmartre and somehow quiet and peaceful.

The hotel seems to have recently undegone a bit of refurbishment. The outside of the buiding, the reception and breakfast area are quite new, but expect disappointment when you go up to your room. It looks like they have started updating the furniture, the bed was new and quite comfy, but they badly need to replace the carpet update the bathroom and paint the room. I could have lived with that if the room had been clean, but unfortunately the carpet and the walls were filthy and the room was very dusty.

If you are in Paris for a short time and not planning to spend much time in the hotel, you might be fine with this place, but it's pricey for what it is.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    127
    98
    35
    31
See reviews for
62
110
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I stayed at the New Hotel oprea for 3 nights. The hotel is in a good location, the reception staff are very friendly the reception area and breakfast area is newly refurbished. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The only complaint I have is the noise travels through the walls but to be honest after a long day sight-seeing nothing would have woken me. Good value hotel considering what we paid and location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2010

The title is far from an exageration. Shabby hotel with zero staff and dirty shabby rooms. You are greeted in a make shift 'pop-up' reception area and directed through a building site 'lobby' where you are encouraged to take the lift to your room before your brain starts processing the dire situation you have just walked into !!!!
The rooms are basic but fairly spacious for Parisian standards - although vintage 70s decor+furniture+fittings is not my idea of fashionable. Stain covered flooring which you should not consider walking on barefoot. The walls/room partitions must have been made from cornflakes boxes as you can hear everything that is happening in the rooms next to you. Yes, that includes bowel movements! Not recomended to anyone i know or like. If you really hate someone and want to get even, recomend this place to them.
Did we stay here for the duration of our trip = No. We were back in reception 5minutes after seeing the room and issuing a serious grievance which our FRIENDLY reception - night staff - shrugged off with a number of well rehearsed and obviously well used rejections. Apparently guests are able to complain via websites as well as suggestion forms placed in the rooms. Oh really. Not these guests. Our position was clear, either issue an immediate refund or secure a room in another hotel within your group. How audacious of us not to just accept the website+complaint form line! After excuse after excuse which we were not prepared to accept, phonecalls were made, heated discussions were had and our room was secured at the Hotel Le Cardinal the following day. Not a great way to start the trip but there was no way we were prepared to be taken for idiots. Stay well clear of this accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notsugarcoated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The New hotel Opera is perfectly situated for anyone that is wanting to see the sights. It's about two minute walk from subway (Liege station).
We stayed in this hotel two nights in december and we were dissapointed from the heating - it was turned off during the day! The room was small but cozy.
Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zdenka_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

The hotel is undergoing renovation and the workmen woke me up at 8am in the morning. Additionally, the air conditioning in the rooms are being installed and did not work. The room was unbearably hot and opening the windows leads to a lot of noise.
We arrived at the hotel and was told that our room was not available due to overbooking. This was despite the fact that I had pre-paid and called to confirm my room days earlier.

The only positive thing about the hotel is the location . Apart from that the rooms are pretty basic. Shower works. That's about it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

For the location, it is OK; its a couple of minutes from Liege metro station.

But considering that they are undergoing renovations, I would advice travellers to not stay here until they complete the renovations in approx. 2 months time (as what ws advised by the reception).

They have installed a new elevator, but it currently serves till the 5th level, and my room is on the 6th, hence havin to lug my bags up the spiral stairs is no fun at all.

Breakfast was served at the nearby New Hotel Saint Lazare. The dining area is really small, so, if you want to get a seat, wake early for breakfast (there is no way that this small dinning area can cope with the guests from 2 hotels).

My AC did not work, but thankfully it is pretty chilly during the nights for the duration of my stay, hence it was not a big problem.

Bathroom was clean, only issue was the glass partion, it looked like it was going to fall off.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sierra67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I've been in Paris the end of April 2010. I was celebrating my birthday with a friend. We couldn't leave windows open (scaffolding). A receptionist (one young guy) very RUDE with a mock smile....Probably he thought we were gay partners (we are not) - he asked as if we want one king size bad. We've asked him about a bar in the room - if is it free? He said yes! It wasn't true and we had to pay for our drinks but he said it is free. I made a phone call to the manager of this hotel and complained about his service. That was the worst experience in my whole life.
Please choose other hotel and do not destroy your holiday.
Thanks.
Andy S.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aragorn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,106 of 1,801 in Paris
331 reviews
New Hotel Saint Lazare
#1,442 of 1,801 in Paris
369 reviews
Timhotel Opera Madeleine
#1,060 of 1,801 in Paris
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alexandrine Opera
#1,213 of 1,801 in Paris
246 reviews
Hotel Exe Paris Centre
#1,049 of 1,801 in Paris
424 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Hotel
#724 of 1,801 in Paris
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Opera

Property: New Hotel Opera
Address: 4 rue de Liege, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,268 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Neo-Classic Hotel in a 6-story building dating from 1756. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing