We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maggot in salad is normal?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Verre Luisant

Le Verre Luisant
Ranked #5,128 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Les Halles
Paris, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Maggot in salad is normal?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

The main reason I'm giving one star is the absolutely appalling service provided by waiters and chefs alike. Impressed by the chic menu and after choosing and eating up the ceaser salad, towards my last mouthful I spot a tiny maggot on my fork. After signalling to the waiter we got no explanation or expression of concern, in fact he laughed. We grabbed the waiter and asked what they said in the kitchen, we were told that this was normal, and I'm fact they had tried to kill and remove them all from the lettuce with vinegar and must have missed some, but he of course couldn't give any money off...!! Result: my friend couldn't bear to finish her salad, and after some moaning we just got a free coffee.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaMDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    65
    17
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
“A nice place where to lunch or dinner any time with a lovely welcome and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This place is very nice with a outdoor terrasse sunny at lunch time. The welcome is charming and warm service is quick and efficient. Food is always good and tasty . Looks like home made and always fresh. Menus are graet and various and a special mention to the deserts which are famous like ile flottante, creme caramel, chocolat mi cuit and strawberies pie.... Therfore I recommand greatly this place easy going and with a french and parisian charming touch.
Christophe and Cedric will welcome you very warmly and make you feel happy..

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Chips were super nice, but my chicken came out cold...??
So im guessing it is all cooked before hand and then popped in the microwave or oven quickly when needed. It was dry too, and the sauce that came with it had no flavour, but the chips were super delicious. It was ok here, i would not return though.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank parisliving_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoued eating here. With so many restuarants to choose from we stumbled across this one and were not dissapointed. It was full if french people and the menu was only in french. A good sign. The meals were delicous and affordable, once we worked out what it was we were ordering. A fun night at a typical low key french eatery.

Helpful?
Thank RhysyB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dieppe, France
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Yes it's near the Pompidou Centre, yes it's got character and yes the roast chicken is delicious. But never on a Sunday. Sunday is brunch day and so it's a bit DIY in terms of service. And it's crowded: you might be unlucky like us and end up at a pokey little table near the exit to the toilets and have customers squeezing past every few minutes. (We did book) And the staff might forget about you after the main course. So we left without dessert. Perhaps we should have had the brunch. We won't be going back. Word of warning: it's very difficult finding somewhere decent open on a Sunday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boblecostaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Verre Luisant also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Verre Luisant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing