We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, but pretty ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"
Ranked #728 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

"In a typical and quiet little street, looking out on the Seine and facing Notre-Dame Cathedral..."

So says the blurb. I am pretty sure that you can't actually see Notre Dame from this hotel, although it's genuinely not far away; yes, it probably does "face" Notre Dame, in the same sense that Notre Dame "faces" Jerusalem. Do take a note of the address of the hotel, because it's down a back-street (a perfectly safe one, apart from the narrow pavements, combined with Parisian drivers), which no taxi-driver knows. It actually has a very convenient Metro station on the nearby rue de Saint Germain, which is also a useful artery for walking into the South Bank areas (this isn't the fabulously expensive, boutique-packed stretch of the rue de Saint Germain, but it is the same street). Alternatively, you can go up to the Seine. It was absolutely tipping down, most of the time I was in Paris. I went everywhere on foot (and got soaked), getting as far as la Madeleine. The Louvre is a pretty easy walk, but the Eiffel Tower would probably justify a Metro ride, not something I undertake lightly.

As for the hotel, it isn't all that pretty. I don't think that they have re-decorated since de Gaulle was still alive, although they have bought a router in the meantime. Amenities in the room were non-existent, otherwise. I was on the top floor, which is right under the roof. The shape and temperature of the bathroom (it was colder in there than at street-level outside) proved that.

Most of the staff were friendly, but one receptionist was a schoolmistress manquee; some Parisians do have a problem with the concept of a "guest" (not something I'd say about the French in general). I wasn't tempted to use the hotel's breakfast facilities. The lift is ridiculous: two people and modest suitcases maximum. The hotel did kindly allow me to leave my luggage in the hotel for a couple of hours, after I checked out.

There are very good places to eat in the vicinity, so I'd recommend this as a convenient base for a tourist visit to Paris. You won't need to spend very much time in your hotel and you won't be tempted to.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else. Seriously, in that part of Paris, you are going to get emergency vehicles on t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owen_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 310 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert" for 5 nights with two other travelers. We all agreed it was an excellent choice. Room are small compared to American size, but it was quiet, very clean, good beds, wonderful rain shower, and the staff speaks English. The staff was very helpful and kind. I would recommend Hotel de Notre Dame to anyone. It was the right hotel for our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is ideally suited to access notre dam and saint germaine, a short walk to some lovely Parisian cafes. The facilities in the hotel are slightly in balanced, in so far there was no bar, but a fitness and sauna room ( which we did not see) the room we stayed in was nice, clean and practical. I would however suggest that the lack of divide between bed and bathroom could be disconcerting (there is a door to the actual toilet) but if like us we needed a nice central hotel for 2 nights away this fitted the bill.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Paulcurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location, the staff is friendly and helpful. We had to change rooms (I traveled with my mom and we needed two beds) and the staff handle it perfectly. Expect narrow halls and small rooms, but cozy and very clean. I had a great time and would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilianitax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great boutique hotel. Location in Paris was perfect with a short walking distance to Maubert market, that has local wine, baker, fish, and cheese vendors. Metro just seconds away. Notre Dame, Pantheon, The Sorbonne, Ile de la Cite, and Ile Ste. Louis just blocks away. Surrounded by some of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in, including a fantastic little pizza place right at the doorstep. Staff at hotel were exceptional starting with Jasmine the concierge and the two maids who alternated cleaning the room, and serving us our morning coffee with le petit dejeuner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vancouverite2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great design for boutique hotel with romantic back lit bath tub. Because of this, I would not recommend this kind of room to non-couples. There are supposedly rooms with shower only. Bed was very comfortable and linens were good.
The friendly receptionists - an old lady during the day and a man at night always welcomed us with a smile.
Awesome location close to Notre Dame Cathedral. There are two subway stops - Maubert for Line 10; Saint Michel at Line 4; There is also Saint Michel-Notre Dame if you are taking the RER to and from the airport. Lots of good food around the neighborhood including Kayser Boulangerie (except at Hotel Notre Dame - not to be confused with this Hotel de Notre Dame which is the better one)
Room is small in expensive Paris so you have to plan your luggage placement accordingly so you don't end up blocking every corner and pathway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

A lovely quiet hotel,while rooms are a little small they have all the equipment you would need. Great spar baths and friendly staff! Free wifi available although a bit unreliable at peak times. Excellent location (you can even hear the bells of notre dame)!

Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#245 of 1,804 in Paris
909 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
#513 of 1,804 in Paris
570 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Degres de Notre Dame
Les Degres de Notre Dame
#1,394 of 1,804 in Paris
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#698 of 1,804 in Paris
221 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#238 of 1,804 in Paris
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"

Address: 19 rue Maitre Albert, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #728 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $172 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert" 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet typical street of the Latin Quarter, overlooking the banks of the Seine. The hotel is located on the left bank, within walking distance of Notre Dame between the bank and the Boulevard Saint-Germain. Walking distance of the Museum of Natural History, the Institute du Monde Arabe, the Sorbonne and the Pantheon. A charming place to live at best your Parisian break. Its wide facade, which once must have been a shop-window, opens with a warm reception, decorated with beautiful antique furniture and a wonderful tapestry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing