We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"
Ranked #758 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 320 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions and thoroughly recommend it. It is very central, close to great shopping (Blvd Saint-Germain), Ile de la Cite (Notre Dame), great restaurants, bars, clubs. Good value for such a central hotel. Small and rather quirky but rooms well appointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Pros:

Loved the staff. There were three different people manning the front desk at any time for us and all three of them were very helpful and accommodating.

Location. About a block from the Seine and Notre Dame- just about 3 blocks from the Metro straight from the airport. There are also restaurants on both corners and right across the street. Try the tortellini there and enjoy the 10% discount thanks to one of the aforementioned hotel workers. But while it's within walking distance of everything, it is also on a smaller street without very much traffic.

Clean. Room was cleaned everyday thoroughly, fresh towels. Did a great job.

Cons:

The rooms were small. This did not bother me too much but we were originally put into the infamous room with the tub three feet from the bed. Size-wise that was one of the more spacious rooms but there is no wall between the main room and the bathroom. The toilet does have an opaque "stall" surrounding it, but you will find more room in a porta-potty. You have to sit sidewise to be able to close the door. I was with my husband but even so sometimes you just want to take a bath (there really wasn't a shower) in peace. For a lone traveler or a couple without modesty the room would be perfect. We were lucky that they were willing to move us to a room with two twin beds we easily pushed together. It was very small, but European hotels are and we were only there to sleep. There was a sliding glass door to separate the bathroom from the bedroom which offered at least a little more privacy. The water from the shower did get everywhere but we considered it an improvement and the overhead shower itself was nice.

I really have no other complaints. Again, for me it comes down to whether I would stay here again. i would definitely ask to avoid the shared bathroom/bedroom but I would seek out this hotel if I were returning to France and I'll recommend it to friends who plan on making the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MegESK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Even for Paris I found the rooms too small. Clean. Not easy to shower flooded the room after being on less than a minute had to switch to a bath in the middle of the room so no privacy but we were a couple Uncomfortable beds and pillows. Very Nice staff. Amazing location which is what matters most.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollyB362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hubby & I stayed here for 10 nights in July 2012. The location is great, just one block from the Seine. There are a couple of boulangerie's close by, plenty of good cafes & 3 laundromats within a few minutes walk. There is also a supermarket just around the corner. The Metro is about 100m away, so the rest of Paris is easy to access.

The room was very stylish & modern, but they had left some of the original beams & stonework exposed, which was lovely. The colour changing spa bath was nice & deep, but drained a bit slow. The bed was comfy & the double glazed windows kept out any noise, not that there was much, as the hotel is on a side street, but so close to everything. While the room was not huge, it had more than enough space for the 2 of us for 10 days. It was cleaned very well, and the toiletries replenished every day. The cleaning staff were nice as well.

The only complaint I had was that there was no iron or ironing board in the hotel at all. So bring your travel iron or you'll have to pay to get things pressed. I was really surprised with this.

The Wifi was fast & free, it did drop out occasionally, but not often enough to be a problem & we had to use it for our business back home. We had a fabulous time here, the staff were very friendly & helpful. The older woman & young girl on the day desk & the gentleman on the night desk were all great. It really makes your time more pleasant if the staff are good.

There are numerous good restaurants within a couple of blocks, we ate fairly local every night. Then could have a wander by the Seine, before coming back to the hotel. This is a gem of a hotel & I would definitely stay here again, even just for the staff & location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CathyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for four nights in August 2012. We travelled by Eurostar from St Pancras to Gare du Nord and then took the Paris Metro to Maubert-Mutualite station which is very close to the hotel. The hotel is located down a quiet side street ideally situated just a short 5 minute walk from Notre Dame. The reception staff were very friendly and the hotel was nice and clean although the room we had was very small. Breakfast at the hotel is 11 euros per person but we preferred to have coffee and croisants at a nearby cafe for about 13 euros in total. Please note that there is a city tax to pay when checking out which is 1 euro per night per person. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes in the vicinity although we found the price of drinks to be expensive (expected in Paris) at £6 for a pint of beer. If you intend to see all the sights I would recommend the purchase of a Paris Pass (can be bought online before your go) which gives you access to the metro, buses (including the open top buses), a 1 hour cruise and free access to 60 tourist sights including several museums. As well as working out cheaper you can also avoid the long queues. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Don't expect a large room; we were on floor 3 which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WaltonReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed three nights. Lovely little hotel a stone's throw from Notre Dame cathedral. Staff very helpful and friendly- even let us keep the room til 7.00pm as they didn't need it
Room small but had everything including the disco lighted spa bath !
Good restaurants cafes and bars nearby

Room Tip: Sorry - no pool at the hotel but couldn't erase the Dots after pressing by mistake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren39johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Courcelles Etoile
Hotel Courcelles Etoile
#1,012 of 1,805 in Paris
265 reviews
Le Marais
Villa Beaumarchais
Villa Beaumarchais
#413 of 1,805 in Paris
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Degres de Notre Dame
Les Degres de Notre Dame
#1,369 of 1,805 in Paris
209 reviews
Quartier Latin
Agora Saint Germain
Agora Saint Germain
#523 of 1,805 in Paris
971 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#221 of 1,805 in Paris
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"

Address: 19 rue Maitre Albert, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #758 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $140 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert" 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet typical street of the Latin Quarter, overlooking the banks of the Seine. The hotel is located on the left bank, within walking distance of Notre Dame between the bank and the Boulevard Saint-Germain. Walking distance of the Museum of Natural History, the Institute du Monde Arabe, the Sorbonne and the Pantheon. A charming place to live at best your Parisian break. Its wide facade, which once must have been a shop-window, opens with a warm reception, decorated with beautiful antique furniture and a wonderful tapestry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing