We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, functional budget hotel, but a lot of noise.”
Review of Maison du Pre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison du Pre
Ranked #1,276 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, functional budget hotel, but a lot of noise.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is a short walk to the Gare du Nord, which is why I chose it. I arrived after 10pm and left before 7am, so missed breakfast. The check-in was fine, staff friendly and helpful. The wi-fi instructions were on a sticker on the door, but the system worked OK. It is a typical Parisian hotel room for its type. The rooms are clean, smallish, comfortable, but a bit minimalist. The washing facilities cramped. The main problem is noise from adjoining rooms, I could hear someone snoring and noise from outside. Even with the windows closed, it sounded as if there was a street party going on in the neighbourhood and I was on the 5th floor. If you arrive late, or have an early train to catch it is OK for one night, but there are probably better hotels around for about the same kind of money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinrich000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    69
    45
    12
    7
See reviews for
32
54
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We loved absolutely everything about Paris, including this little hotel. It is tucked away just 2mins from Gare du Nord station in a small quiet street with a Spar shop directly across, which was great for picking up wine! It is also in a perfect location for lovely restaurants which are all reasonably priced (for Paris). The rooms are quite small but have everything you need and are very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast basic but lovely. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is as mentioned, on a convenient location. Walking distance from Gare du Nord, supermarket across the street, some simple but cheap restaurants in the area (that can be a relieve in an expensive city like Paris) and within a walking distance of the Sacre Coeur (but you don't need to mind walking up a lot of stairs)!

If you wish to see the tourist attractions by metro, I would recommend you go to station Anvers instead of Gare du Nord and travel in the direction of "Charles de Gaulle Etoile".

The rooms are small and the bathroom is not larger than a regular size shower cabin. Also the bed was quite small for two persons, but since I shared it with my girlfriend, that was not such a big problem.

The breakfast was quite simple, they bring a basket to your table with in it a croissant and half a baguette per person + a cup of coffee or tea. But It's enough to start your day.

The hotel looked old, but not in a bad way, very cozy and you can really feel that you're in Paris!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel was okay, the room was okay and clean, but all standard. You can not open the windows in you room without someone on the other side looking in. The distance of the rooms are too close.
During our 2 days stay (June 1st-2nd, 2013), we had 3 difference men at the reception. Only one of them was friendly, the one when we checked in. The other two were totally unfriendly. Smile is just not on their book I guess. Or they're just French!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank carladl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

As most European inner city hotels, rooms are small compared to American hotels. But we did not come to spend our time in the room. Our room was very clean, toilette was separate from the bathroom, good if you are don't travel alone. We stayed one week and looked forward to an outstanding breakfast every morning. Thumbs up from us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1kearsarge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eger, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

To summarize the experience:
-convenient location ( Just next to Gare du Norde, direct connection to the airport with the RER)
-small room as usual in Paris hotels
-friendly staff, (Bill at the reception is a good guy)
-basic breakfast (crosissant and a hot drink)
-very-very small bathroom (2x1 m)
-good price

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank komuvesphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel with my family. It wasn't bad for one night but would have some drawbacks for longer stay. Our room was very small and has no window (besides the one opening to dark center hall). You wouldn't want to be in it except sleep time. May be other rooms could be better. It had an LCD TV with main intl. channels. The room and beds were clean. The bathroom was very small too. There wasn't a bathtub, but a narrow shower cabin. It was clean and had enough towels and other stuff. Staff was OK but they didn't want to give me any suggestion about car parking. Perhaps didn't want to take responsibility. Yes, there's a parking problem if you have a car. But it's usual for Paris, not specific to this area. It's close to Gare du Nord and metro station. So it's so easy to get there and go around. Area is quiet and seemed safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a street-side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oktay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Relais du Pre Hotel
#1,028 of 1,801 in Paris
196 reviews
Residence du Pre
#566 of 1,801 in Paris
222 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Maubeuge Gare Du Nord
Hotel Maubeuge Gare Du Nord
#1,618 of 1,801 in Paris
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel du Pre
#944 of 1,801 in Paris
157 reviews
Hotel Rocroy
#681 of 1,801 in Paris
446 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
#1,242 of 1,801 in Paris
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Pre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Pre

Property: Maison du Pre
Address: 88 rue de Maubeuge, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,276 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maison du Pre 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison du Pre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Pre Hotel Paris
Maison Du Pre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing