We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like Hemingway”

Le Select Montparnasse
Ranked #1,838 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt like Hemingway”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wonderful service, wonderful food, marvelous wine,,, across from La Capole and always filled with interesting characters to watch. Hemingway often went here and so did we... several times!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    143
    46
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“One particularly good dish”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I particularly recommend the Boudin Basque here which is a boudin noir but quite a bit lighter than what I have had elsewhere. Other food I have had here is also quite good, with prices that are entirely in line with the neightborhood (ie not cheap). Service is not quick but generally is helpful and they tolerate tourist pecadillos better than some places.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank neur14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nous Aimons Le Select!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I fell in love with this lovely cafe/brasserie in Montparnasse during our recent vacation in Paris. We had dinner our first night there and it quickly became one of our favorite spots to share a relaxing meal and glass of wine. The staff were all extremely polite and warm and recognized us each time we returned - making us feel like special guests. The food was delicious, the wine selection very good and the ambience superb. The history of Le Select is fascinating and we enjoyed imagining what it must have been like to dine there during the days of Hemingway, Picasso, Henry Miller, Ginsberg and Ferlinghetti. On our last night in Paris, we shared our last lovely dinner at Le Select and savored the food and the moment...until next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ktizme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excelent choice.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant very much. The waiter could not have been more friendly or more helpful. The food was very good

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAROLANNIRISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Birthday Drinks”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Five of us continued the birthday celebrations following lunch at La Coupole opposite. The staff were very friendly and attentive and
looked after us very well for the few hours that we all sat chatting. A great venue with avert friendly team.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Princesscaroliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Select Montparnasse also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Select Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing