We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated!”

Le Cafe du Commerce
Ranked #1,316 of 19,772 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: 15th Arr. - Vaugirard
Reviewed August 5, 2016

Woncerfull location and very friendly staff ... but the food was so bad. It totally felt like the worst of tourist traps. The soup cold, the legumes cold, the fries soggy and cold, the meat (special cut by their extraordinary butcher Pascal) cold and not tender at all. A total disappointment.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Massim056
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 190 of 1,771 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

I have no idea how this restaurant got the ratings it does...the worst service and meal in my two week stay in France.

We booked for 8:30, didn't get seated till after 9 them waited twenty minutes to see a waiter. To be fair the poor man had at least ten tables all to himself and was run ragged...he was very pleasant when we did see him but it took ages between courses to get any attention. Not his fault; it was clear he was very busy.

The food was fair at the very best. Heavy on the French fries and what place runs out of Bernaisse sauce for your steak. We were offered tartar sauce for our steak instead?! And French onion soup made with what appeared to be chicken stock was very bland. All told for what we got it was very pricey and none too tasty.

That added to the noise level it felt like we were at Honest Ed's in Toronto before the theatre went in, minus the rushed service. Almost three hours from start to finish was about an hour and a half too long for me.

As I said, I just don't get the attraction to this one.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank KristenM209
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic family meal with excellent service and outstanding food. The staff were very friendly and encouraged me with my very rusty French! Great value for money and well worth it.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank AliceK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

It has a long pathway going to the restaurant and best seat to get on level 1. It will surprise you when you get in. Very green and clean and tidy place. The waiter are friendly and many choices of authentic French cuisine. Portion were huge and reasonable price. We Had the grilled Pig's Ears, Bone marrow gratin with toast, a steak and the best you among all. The dishes: Light spiced Guinea fa "Pastilla" with honey, dried food and grilled almonds. Prefer don't order the steak is just so so. A must try "Pastilla" kind like a pastry wrap with pulled meat. That is yummy and of course you can try the pig's ears is you haven't try them before. Taste somehow crunchy and easy to eat.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 203dannyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

I have been back to this restaurant since
Longtime and it's just as good as always.
Great place , great food, great service, great company and cool temperature when outside is super hot
Give it a try, you will not regret it

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank bsanzredrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe du Commerce also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Cafe du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.