We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience of a bygone era.”

Le Cafe du Commerce
Ranked #617 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situe dans une des rues les plus animees et typiques du XVe arrondissement, tout pres de la Tour Eiffel, Le Cafe du Commerce c'est la cuisine de tradition par excellence, une selection de recettes authentiques a redecouvrir : du poireau vinaigrette a l'oeuf mayonnaise en passant par l'exceptionnelle viande limousine..Unique a Paris, le Cafe du Commerce vous accueille le long de ses 3 etages ornes de plantes et ouverts sur le ciel de Paris. A deux ou en groupe, partagez l'intimite ou la convivialite d'une bonne table ou le service porte haut les couleurs de Paris.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Ambience of a bygone era.”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Service excellent and lovely setting and the food was good average. The turbot was fresh and beautifully cooked but I had to ask for fresh lemon to add zing. The beef kidneys were very good as was the platter for 2 of fois gras and rabbit terrine. Prices are reasonable. Pleasant experience in a lovely setting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueDen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    477
    155
    58
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Way downhill”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We had had been to Cafe du Commerce on 3 previous Paris trips and liked it enough to go back. Big mistake. The place was undergoing renovation, but where we were seated seemed OK. What was not OK was the serious decline in service and food quality. Our waitress was very disinterested, a sharp contrast from previous visits. We both order onglets (skirt steaks). Mine was mediocre at best, but my wife's was raw in the middle with a thick blood-filled vein running through it. With some difficulty we sent it back, and all they did was cook it to a leather like color. It should have been replaced as she could barely stomach a couple of more bites. We cut our losses and left without dessert or coffee. Never again at this place. Too bad.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AltGol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Md
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We were very excited to return to Cafe du Commerce after being there many times on two previous trips. We had rented an apartment for a month in 2008 and for two weeks in 2011, and this became our regular place for both trips. We loved the warm atmosphere, the great service, and the great meals at great prices. When we returned in April, we found that none of the things we loved were present. We made reservations for four and were seated at a table overlooking a huge piece of plywood where renovations were being done. We would have understood that it takes time to complete these changes, but there were plenty of tables elsewhere that did not require looking at this wood. The waiter was polite, but not terribly interested in serving. The prices had gone up considerably even when allowing for inflation. The wonderful food that we remembered was average at best. Our wonderful neighborhood restaurant really let us down, and we did not return, nor will we again in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“USA wrong Restaurant Right”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Yes we also went there for the great rate of 20 euros for dinner. Only slight more than that for an starter and entree. But the meal was GREAT. Service was Great And it is oh so French. We tried to get back for a second meal and sadly never got back. Le Cafe had under gone a recent renovation and price's may have increased. Still a bargain AND WE CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nino98102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad service, mediocre food, way too expensive”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Very bad service, mediocre food, way too expensive. 1. When we walked into this hidden restaurant it looked like this place has only old people from the neighborhood; everything was out of date with an old damp smell. 2. Terrible service over all. The server asked if we wanted an extra plate to share the food and without listening to our response... He just left! 3. None of the dishes had any taste at all! 4. Crazy price! Unbelievable!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Tzu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe du Commerce also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Cafe du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing