We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value in a charmingly old fashioned environment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Cafe du Commerce

Le Cafe du Commerce
Reserve with
Le Cafe du Commerce is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #614 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situe dans une des rues les plus animees et typiques du XVe arrondissement, tout pres de la Tour Eiffel, Le Cafe du Commerce c'est la cuisine de tradition par excellence, une selection de recettes authentiques a redecouvrir : du poireau vinaigrette a l'oeuf mayonnaise en passant par l'exceptionnelle viande limousine..Unique a Paris, le Cafe du Commerce vous accueille le long de ses 3 etages ornes de plantes et ouverts sur le ciel de Paris. A deux ou en groupe, partagez l'intimite ou la convivialite d'une bonne table ou le service porte haut les couleurs de Paris.
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Level Contributor
644 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“good value in a charmingly old fashioned environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ate there at lunch time with a group of friends . We all had the "formule" (set price 2 course meal with coffee for 15 euros ) and all made different choices but everyone enjoyed what they had. The decor is great , very old fashioned but charming. This is a large restaurant but the staff are efficient and the service is quick and friendly, Good value wine too

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    462
    145
    57
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Don't miss this. The architecture is great and so is the food. Probably best to go in a reasonable sized group, then you would really enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fitzcaraldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was recommended to us. We went in February 2013 and had a lovely meal. The setting is a classic french brasserie and the food was beautifully cooked. No tourists in there - just the french. Good wine at good prices - go on...try it :-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Classic Brasserie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've been to this restaurant several times and always had a great time, though I go with French-speaking colleagues so I don't know what the experience might be like if you don't speak French. It's a big, bustling place with a classic brasserie menu. You pass displays of shellfish and beef as you enter, but there are also options for vegetarians. The food is good. At Saturday lunch the place is full of families, so the ambiance, for me at least, is much more "local" than "tourist trap." One caveat: we sat on the ground floor near the atrium, and one of my friends was doused with water from a table two floors up. The man sitting next to us said that he had been pelted with bread from the same location. We looked up and saw a few diners pointing in the direction of another table--presumably a child was the culprit--but I didn't notice any restaurant staff addressing the problem, and our own server was nowhere to be found at that moment. Not that anyone could have prevented it (except the parents), but it was an unpleasant moment in an otherwise happy lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank willowsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Typically french”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

After reading mixed reviews on this place i was very surprised at how good and very French it was. many people said it was a pure tourist trap but i wasn't aware of anybody that wasn't French local. I visited with my French colleagues and we were treated to reasonably good wine and amazing steak and chips that were served well cooked and the portions were very very substantial. The location and the building also add to its "bistro" authenticity with the layout over 2/3 floors of an art deco adorned building. Altogether a rousing success of an evening where you can be as loud or as discreet as you like. A good night out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank markhusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe du Commerce also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Cafe du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing