We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant - went twice in one week!”

Comptoir de la Gastronomie
Ranked #121 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $46
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Les Halles
Description: The shop and the restaurant are closing for renovation works from 30th January to 3rd April 2017 Traditionnal french cuisine specialized in South Ouest products. Discover our " Classics " composed of different kind of foie gras: pan seared, terrine or carpaccio... homemade and our well known Duck breast, Cassoulet or Snails. For fish lovers, you can taste our Scottish smoked salmon or marinated salmon Gravlax. And you can also appreciate our seasonal menu made by our Chef with fresh products. For the " Gourmets" who wish to bring back home some foie gras, our shop is open from 9.00 am to 8.00 pm.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant - went twice in one week!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited the restaurant on our first night in Paris and this place really impressed. We arrived around 8 pm and the restaurant was starting to get busy.
The staff were very friendly,our waitress brought crayons for our daughter and assisted us with the menu. The food was excellent - we had foie gras and escargot for entree and duck breast and beef shank for mains. The wine selection was vast and the prices are reasonable.
We loved this place so much we came back the second time before leaving Paris.
Make sure you stop by their gourmet shop next door.

Two thumbs up for this place and would come back next time we're in Paris.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puriwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    239
    54
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“La vraie de vraie gastronomie”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

There are so many delightful bistros in Paris and this is one of my true favourites. Its location in the back of a store that purveys all manner of epicurean delights, sets the stage... (Try the moutarde violette or a bloc of foie gras). The restaurant is cozy and the service friendly and solicitous. I like to order many things--the hearty but delicate onion soup, the raviolis stuffed with foie gras (with delicate skins that melt in your mouth), the classic cassoulet. Every dish is executed flawlessly and deeply satisfying. This is really a hidden gem that is Parisian gastronomie at its finest. Definitively always major thumbs from me or anyone I go with.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent restaurant!!! No words to describe!!! We find it completely by chance in a moment of despair because we wasn't lucky to find a table to the restaurant that we wanted to go and find the Comptoir as we walking. Next time we will visit again!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kostasz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Where to eat if you spend one day in Paris”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The food was excellent. If you like foie gras you have to come here. There's also a gourmet boutique next door with great products.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guyledouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Simple lunch - done very well”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Popped in for a quick lunch with my wife. The restaurant is tiny and quite cramped which is normal in Paris bistro. We just wanted something quick and simple. We both had the Onion Soup which was really lovely, tasty, hot and warming on cold winters day - just what we wanted.

Service was good - prompt, even though they were busy. Our neighbours were quite close but very good natured. Not a place for a quiet tete-a-tete. Would definitely go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GolfDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comptoir de la Gastronomie also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Comptoir de la Gastronomie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing