We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to go again!”
Review of Cafe Varenne

Cafe Varenne
Ranked #291 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
hong kong
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Have to go again!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We first ate on this very busy little restaurant in August 2012. The food was excellent then and was still good this visit. Steak tartare, French fries and the green bean salad have been delicious. Also good for an evening beer and snack. Such friendly and efficient staff. Amazing how many people they pack in at lunch time. Obviously very popular with the business people in this area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fundi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    136
    23
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A neighborhood brasserie”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's still a lovely quiet and civil place for a very good beer, coffee, plate and dessert.

However, i found the dessert to be flatter than I'd liked and it was chocolate (pot au creme).

The waiter is funny, helpful and friendly. He was perfectly willing to speak in English after I spoke my poor French.

He made the late evening stop worthwhile.

I suggest you stop for a break here.

I've been going for twenty years and it's still a pleasure to see the actual stone blocks that hold the building up as part of the decoration.

The beer is really good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Upperny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful true Parisian cafe”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We dropped in for lunch and although most of the staff did not speak English we managed to secure a table with our poor french! The waiter dug out a menu handwritten in english and recommended I ordered the chicken (so I did of course!). The food was good and the head waiter was hilarious sliding around the room and obviously charming the pants off of the clientele who all appeared to all be local. The lady sitting next to me, who noticed my enquiring look at her dessert explained in halting english that it was a french favourite of whipped cheese (?Cream) served with a pot of jam - it looked lovely but we were too full to manage dessert, maybe next time!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent Service”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Cafe Varenne is a quentessential Parisian bistro. The food is excellently prepared, and the service is very friendly. We began ordering our food in French, but when we were obviously having difficulty with the language, our server was happy to swich to English to make sure we were happy. We ended up ordering omelettes, served with a cut-up baguette and simple salads. It sounds simple, but it was so expertly prepared that it was impressive. The eggs were done just right, and the flavors were wonderful. The atmosphere is also pleasant and just what most people think of when they imagine "French bistro."

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BenS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Vin Chaud and Lemon Tart”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great place, very nice. No one speaks english, but that means that you are in a place that french people will go to, not a tourist trap. They had great soup too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Varenne also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing