We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Maharajah

Le Maharajah
Reserve with
Save up to 50% when you reserve online *
Le Maharajah is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,655 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $38
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Description: Le Maharajah restaurant in the heart of Paris’ Left Bank proudly claims its place as the first Indian restaurant in the capital, and it’s still delighting clients from all over town. The atmosphere is magical, exotic. With spotlit alcoves for Indian portraits, hand-carved chairs, pink table linens, and everywhere the heightened décor, colours and aromas of the subcontinent, Le Maharajah brings India to France. The menu focuses on North Indian cuisine: the specialty of the house is lamb curry with aubergines which you should have with the cheese naans. Well-chosen wines and careful service make this a local favourite.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

8 of us went to dinner at this restaurant on a weekday night. I had emailed them a week before to request a reservation, but never heard back. When we showed up, all of the staff except one student who was working there were uninterested in serving us. We should have gotten the message and left right away, but made the terrible mistake of staying. Anyway, the service was the worst service ever - extremely rude and incompetent. The restaurant was expecting a big group of Indian tourists and clearly did not care about our order.
The food wasn't bad, but not great either. Needless to say, we will not be returning.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smile_austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    69
    27
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zwalm
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Accidentally found”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

And accidentally found that it is not worth to pass.
The food has nothing to do with indian cuisine.
Even the naan braed is terrible.
Poor and not friendly at all.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

I had only vegetarian food, but it was very good. The naan was a bit overcrispy, but the service and food were up to par and it is a nice change from the other restaurants in the area.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Won't be going back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

I live in Paris and went to the Maharajah last night. Had read other reviews suggesting that Indian food in France tended to be overly mild. To compensate for this I ordered the vindaloo and asked specifically that it should be hot. What they gave me was about the equivalent heat to a korma in the UK ie none. However nice enough and I boosted the heat with spicy chutney. Service extremely slow and inefficient, to the point that I was practially wondering if I had to work the till myself. Interior of restaurant slightly odd - spartan and didn't give the impression of being that clean. Beer expensive. All in all not a complete disaster but very poor and I won't be going back. If you're in Paris go for Vietnamese food - France's imperial connection to this country means that there is more competition and hence higher quality.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

Despite its location near a major tourist site (the Notre Dame), this is an above-average Indian restaurant in Paris, which unfortunately counts a quick a few stinkers in this department. The menu is varied and creative with some unusual dishes (the fare is Indian/Bangladeshi). I've been several times and have rarely been disappointed, except in the spice department (their lamb vindaloo is less spicy than, say, a Bhuna in an average Indian restaurant in England!). However, this may be just a cultural thing in that they have adapted to the French palate. The pakoras (vegetable, rather than the shrimp) are first-rate and come with a nice mint sauce, while the main dishes such as the lamb biryani and chicken tikka are as good as you're likely to find in the French capital. Also, unlike many other restaurants, you don't need to go on a fishing expedition in your sauce for meat.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bertie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Maharajah also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Maharajah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing