We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay quality but terrible service”
Review of Gaudeamus

Gaudeamus
Ranked #6,071 of 17,152 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Quartier Latin
South Pole
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Okay quality but terrible service”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We are expats living in Paris and thought we'd try this cute-looking cafe in a beautiful area of Paris. The service was absolutely terrible and we just got the feeling the waiters were treating us like dumb tourists (which I swear we aren't:P). We asked for more bread and were told, at midday, that "they were out of bread". Um, okay. The charcuterie and cheese platters were laughable, with tourist-quality cheese and supermarket-quality 'charcuterie'. The kirs were poorly made and wine was so overpriced it was ridiculous. Highly NOT recommended - go elsewhere!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank voyageuse_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    38
    14
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant For a Quiet Dinner With Your Partner”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We liked the look of the place as were strolling past so went it, its attraction is that it looks like a typical Parisian café restaurant, we were not disappointed.

The general ambiance is clean and tidy with an accentuation of the very old building it is, the food and service was excellent. We were a group of 4 and each had steak and chips with various sweets to follow and each dish was cooked well and was tasty.

We also had the House table wine (red and white), which was surprisingly good.

I am struggling to see whay this restaurant has not got a 5, having though about it, it was too quiet for the party I was with, if you are planning a quiet meal with a partner then this is a place to consider.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paris feel”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

First time we passed the place we thought "What a parisian cafe." It was about to close at 23pm so we couldnt really go in and order. We returned the next evening to enjoy some dessert and wine.
The desserts were nice, wine was tasty. Coffee au lait was the best I had in Paris. The feel was very chic. The staff was cheerful and at least the gentleman who took care of us spoke very good English.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Matti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Service was fantastic and the food was amazing. We had two set meat meals. The soup was unusal but very tasty, I really enjoyed the beef dumplings. Also try the cheese nad honey desert. My husband had the lamb currey, very mild if you dont like hot food.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Paris cafe - with singing!”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I'd liked the look of this cafe from the outside having walked past earlier, so we ate there on Sunday evening. Both the food and house wine were decent and there were a group of Armenian ladies there who burst into song a couple of times (they were very good!) - so we got free entertainment too!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaudeamus also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Gaudeamus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing